33 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

AWESOME!! This bread is just awesome. I made 1-8x4 and 2 mini loaves. Didn't change a thing except no nuts :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
tmp68 February 23, 2012

Just as delicious as it smelled! I chose this recipe because it called for simple ingrediants that I always have on hand. I used fresh instead of frozen strawberries, and almonds because I was out of walnuts. I would make it again with almonds - it's perfect! Thank you.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Wildflower5656 February 20, 2012

Made this cake with my 5yr old daughter. Will definately make it again. Thank you

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Msjin September 30, 2010

I wanted to post this recipe for safekeeping and found it was here. I have made this for years and it always turns out great. I use 3 loaf pans 9x5x3. It is especially good when toasted and spread with cream cheese. It also makes a great gift.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Grits (Girl Raised In The South) December 12, 2009

I had a bag of frozen strawberries that I wanted to use up, and found this recipe. I found this easy to make, and the batter was delicious (I had to taste it :) ). I will say that I found the bread to be a bit heavy. It was very tasty, but a bit too dense for my taste. Made a loaf for my house, and 3 mini-loaves to share with my co-workers too. Thanks for sharing!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Loves2Teach November 13, 2008

This was a great way to use up frozen strawberries.I omitted the salt and nuts.I added 1 tsp vanilla and 1/2 tsp strawberry extract.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LuuvBunny September 12, 2008

An easy recipe that halves easily, looks good and tastes great. Thanks, MaeEast.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ladyfingers April 19, 2008

I pureed the strawberries instead and made muffins from this for my toddler. I also cut the sugar by 2/3 cups and used 1/2 appplesauce for some of the oil (used 3/4 c oil). I also omitted the nuts. I can't get her to even try them, but my friends toddlers loved them. My husband and I loved them too. Great recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
katheros September 21, 2007

I followed the directions, but somehow this just didn't turn out for me. By the time the toothpick came out clean, the loaf was very hard and dense. I may try again though since there are a lot of rave reviews.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
greenlove00 January 16, 2007

I made this and took it to work - they devoured it! So moist and not too sweet - just perfect!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
BellyDancer July 17, 2006
Strawberry Bread