33 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I'm always looking for a snack that doesn't make me feel so bad after having eaten it! I used frozen, unsweetened strawberries. I let them thaw and also used the juice. My substitutes were as follows: 1 egg and 3/4 c. egg substitute, 1/4 c. oil and 1 c. unsweetened applesauce, 1.5 c. white flour and 1.5 c. whole wheat flour, 1 c. sugar and 1 c. Splenda, added 1 tsp. vanilla extract and 7 tsp. ground flax seed meal. My husband and I just gave it a taste test and it's wonderful-even with the modifications! Moist, yummy and good strawberry flavor. Will definitely make this again!

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
chalogias sorrentino April 12, 2011

I made this exactly as written & it is wonderful!! I made two loaves last night - one as a gift, the other for my hubby & I. It is SO good!! I've got two more in the oven right now, to give as last minute gifts. I made strawberry butter to go with it (below) & it made it just that much better!!

Strawberry Butter:
1 10-ounce package frozen sweetened strawberries, thawed
1 cup (2 sticks) unsweetened butter, room temperature
3/4 cup powdered sugar

Combine all ingredients in mixer. Blend until smooth, scraping bowl occasionally, about 5 minutes (this is VERY important, in order to blend well). Transfer strawberry butter to medium bowl. Cover and chill. (Can be made 5 days ahead. Keep chilled. Bring to room temperature before serving.)

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
queenieladymaam December 24, 2012

This is an awesome strawberry bread! Very very tasty! Thanks for posting! It went very well at my house and everyone said it was really cinnamon-ey and very good!:)

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Charishma_Ramchandani June 17, 2003

This bread is awesome!!!! Turned out JUST like the recipe says AND its so fast and easy to throw together! Can't get any more simple or tasty than this! My husband won't stop eating it! Thanks!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
wer4unc June 27, 2012

This was my first time making strawberry bread and I thought it was pretty good.It does have a nice strawberry flavor and it turned out real moist.I added 1 tsp of vanilla and I used rasberry applesauce in place of half the oil.I used a 16 oz package of frozen strawberries that I just partially thawed and chopped up.I wasn't sure if I would like this bread with nuts so I only put walnuts in one of the loaves.It turns out I do prefer it with nuts so next time I'll know.I made my bread in 3 mini loaf pans and 1 8x4 pan.If I make this again I may add some mashed banana...I bet that would be good!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
officemaintenance February 17, 2010

A bit of poetry for all those cooks that make a ton of changes then try to review your recipe.<br/><br/>I didn?t have potatoes,<br/>so I substituted rice.<br/>Didn?t have paprika,<br/>so I used another spice.<br/>I didn?t have tomato sauce,<br/>so I used tomato paste.<br/>A whole can not a half can -<br/>I don?t believe in waste.<br/>My friend gave me the recipe -<br/>she said you couldn?t beat it.<br/>There must be something wrong with her,<br/>I couldn?t even eat it.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Beverly E. December 06, 2014

I was a little concerned with the consistency of the batter when I was mixing the ingredients, so I added a couple tablespoons of milk to thin it out to fold in fresh berries. I made a few changes to the recipe. I switched out the cinnamon for 2 teaspoons of nutmeg, I used fresh strawberries and blueberries, and thought a little bit of lemon zest would add some nice flavor. I also added 2 teaspoons of vanilla and took out 1/2 cup of the sugar. The bread came out a nice caramel brown color with a thin crunchy crust. The inside is slightly crumbly, but not so much that it falls apart. It's not the consistency I'm use to, but it is very yummy.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
grobb100 July 04, 2014

This strawberry bread recipe is absolutely fantastic! I halved the recipe to make only one loaf. Folded both walnuts and pecans into the mixture before baking. It's freaking delicious! Will definitely make it again! Thank you for posting!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
SharonChen April 02, 2014

My grandmother made a recipe VERY similar to this if not the same. I lost the one she gave me and now she has passed on so I tried to find one as close as I can remember and I think this is it. This is a great recipe! The only thing I changed is the oil. I used 3/4 c melted organic coconut oil and 1/2 c regular vegetable oil. It gives it a nice flavor. Also I did as my grandma did and I add red food coloring to the batter. It makes it not only tasty but also pretty and great for Christmas. (which is when she made it)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
dfwelf December 23, 2013

Awesome very good strawberry flavor

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jennypr85 July 07, 2013
Strawberry Bread