34 Reviews

This tasted quite nice and was stunning to look at. Like several other reviewers, I added some balsamic vinegar, which added some depth and helped to balance the sweetness of the honey. Next time I'll use more balsamic vinegar and decrease the quantity honey to 1 tbsp. I think a hearty cracking black pepper would be a welcome addition. UPDATE: I've made this again and used the following proportions for the dressing: 2 tbsp balsamic vinegar; juice from half a lemon; 1 tbsp. honey; olive oil to taste. I also added a LOT of black pepper to the salad, and it was perfect! I would rate this as 5 stars with the adjustments, for my personal tastes. Thanks for a great recipe!

15 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lumberjackie May 28, 2010

I think I discovered with this salad that I don't like asparagus cold. There, now that's out of the way, I can review this salad. The dressing with the asparagus and strawberries seperately was great (I did add black pepper and a sprinkle of salt), although I used far less dressing than called for, just personal taste. I am torn because I really liked the strawberries with the dressing, and the asparagus was OK, but something about eating them together in the same bite just didn't work for me. It obviously works for a lot of other people, though. It was beautiful, and really did look like spring in a bowl. Thanks, Lori for posting your recipe.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mommy2two April 13, 2011

This is wonderful and screams spring! Even my very picky four year old approves. This will be on my easter table this year

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
GingerlyJ April 07, 2011

This is a simple and delicious salad, perfect for spring. Really enjoyed. Thanks for sharing!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Starrynews March 27, 2011

I did not like this at all. I made exactly as directed, but it was so bland.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kristen Porter May 17, 2010

WoW! looks awesome. cant wait to try this..

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
vhenus.cam May 10, 2016

I should have read the reviews before making this. It could definitely benefit from some balsamic vinegar and maybe even dijon mustard. In all though, it was a gorgeous salad that was quite tasty. We dumped in a ton of extra honey (about 1/4 c.) and mixed it with oil and added black pepper. Next time I make this, I hope I have fresh basil, mint, or oregano to add instead of the pepper. I think that will make it taste extra special. Thank you for sharing the recipe :). (We microwaved the asparagus and blanched it.)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Funkymunky613 June 02, 2015

I thought this was a strange combination before I made it, but I was pleasantly surprised by how well the tastes blended.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Paula G. May 14, 2015

It amazes me that so many people say they can't cook and revert to eating disgusting frozen meals or pre-packaged meals when there are easy and delicious dishes like this available. It is healthy and too easy to be as elegant as it is.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Linda Leone May 14, 2015

pretty good

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Anonymous May 06, 2015
Strawberry Asparagus Salad