29 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

This tasted quite nice and was stunning to look at. Like several other reviewers, I added some balsamic vinegar, which added some depth and helped to balance the sweetness of the honey. Next time I'll use more balsamic vinegar and decrease the quantity honey to 1 tbsp. I think a hearty cracking black pepper would be a welcome addition. UPDATE: I've made this again and used the following proportions for the dressing: 2 tbsp balsamic vinegar; juice from half a lemon; 1 tbsp. honey; olive oil to taste. I also added a LOT of black pepper to the salad, and it was perfect! I would rate this as 5 stars with the adjustments, for my personal tastes. Thanks for a great recipe!

14 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lumberjackie May 28, 2010

I think I discovered with this salad that I don't like asparagus cold. There, now that's out of the way, I can review this salad. The dressing with the asparagus and strawberries seperately was great (I did add black pepper and a sprinkle of salt), although I used far less dressing than called for, just personal taste. I am torn because I really liked the strawberries with the dressing, and the asparagus was OK, but something about eating them together in the same bite just didn't work for me. It obviously works for a lot of other people, though. It was beautiful, and really did look like spring in a bowl. Thanks, Lori for posting your recipe.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mommy2two April 13, 2011

This is wonderful and screams spring! Even my very picky four year old approves. This will be on my easter table this year

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
GingerlyJ April 07, 2011

This is a simple and delicious salad, perfect for spring. Really enjoyed. Thanks for sharing!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Starrynews March 27, 2011

I did not like this at all. I made exactly as directed, but it was so bland.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kristen Porter May 17, 2010

Added some balsamic and Dijon mustard to taste. The balsamic really added flavor to the dish. It was a nice simple side and I just happened to have both ingredients on hand. There was a lot of the dressing left which I will use as salad dressing.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Francine88 June 07, 2014

Beautiful presentations and tastes good! Light salad perfect for Summer.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mwilson980 May 21, 2014

Not bad. I'm not really a fan of mixing fruit with vegetables or meat, but this was all right. It was easy to prepare, and the honey wasn't too pronounced. I thought it was a decent recipe as-is, although I did add some roast turkey to my bowl to get a serving or two of meat with my meal. Although the honey was a bit higher in carbs than I might normally eat, this was one of those nice recipes that both my sister, following a vegetarian diet, and I, following a low-carb diet, could enjoy together.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ohevshalomel May 16, 2013

Mixed feelings on this salad. I appreciate the opportunity to use fresh asparagus... rather than blanching, I just micro'd for 1 minute. I might do a little longer next time. I didn't measure the lemon juice because I couldn't find a measure but I used 2 small juicy lemons so I think I had that right... and still the honey was too noticeable. I noticed the other reviews using balsamic vinegar which would be yummy but I dietary restrictions won't allow. So I will have to experiment with less honey next time. I think fresh mint diced into this would be a great addition!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef Tweaker April 20, 2012
Strawberry Asparagus Salad