Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Strawberries with Balsamic Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Strawberries with Balsamic

    Average Rating:

    28 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 28

    Sort by:

    • on June 20, 2002

      I just picked some fresh strawberries and had myself an afternoon treat - simple & tasty. I used Splenda instead of sugar. Love the flavor of the balsamic with the sweetened berries Thanks

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 28, 2002

      Really delicious. I actually served these alone and then over vanilla ice cream. Great either way.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 12, 2003

      Amazing recipe! This is so simple but tastes exceptional. I had been given a bag of huge gorgeous strawberries by my boyfriend's mother and they were chilling in the frige. Popped onto Zaar and found this. I happened to have a great bottle of balsamic. I served them chilled. I don't think I'll be eating strawberries any other way now!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 19, 2003

      This is just perfect - the only way I serve strawberries now. I use slightly less sugar than called for above. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 09, 2003

      This gets a big thumbs up from me and my husband. We love balsamic vinegar and are always looking for different ways to use it. Our strawberry bed is starting to produce so we got to use home-grown strawberries. Love the tart mixed with the sweet flavor of the berries. Very yummy and something different. Thanks MG.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 16, 2003

      Followed recipe exactly. Took them to a BDay party today. They were good and I enjoyed them. Got mixed reviews from people. Told them they were marinated - didn't tell them with what. Some people thought they were too sour. Others liked them, but didn't rave about them. The kids opted to eat the fresh uncut strawberries (what can I say, they're kids). Overall, they were good. I will make them again when I want a change from the same ole same ole.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 16, 2003

      This is a wonderful way to serve a healthy, low-fat elegant dessert. It really makes the taste buds explode. Try grinding fresh black pepper over the balsamic-flavoured strawberries - you will truly be surprised.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 22, 2003

      was pretty good, I didn't think it would be but it was. I used black pepper over it. I ate 2 servings of it.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 24, 2011

      The store was out of my usual strawberry balsamic vinegar so I decided to try this recipe out. A little sweeter than I'm used to but loved the way it turned out. The strawberries were delicious over vanilla ice cream.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 23, 2009

      Wasn't sure what to expect. Wow! So different - noone can put their finger on the secret ingredient! Will become a mainstay. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 22, 2009

      Completely delicious! I made them to go with lemon scones and had a little leftover fresh squeezed lemon juice so threw that in as well... maybe a teaspoon of it. Also, I mixed the balsamic and sugar together, added about a teaspoon of lemon juice and this made a wonderful marinade for the strawberries. I served them spooned over the lemon scones and then drizzled some of the "marinade" over the top. It would have been even better with a dollop of whipped cream, mascarpone or creme fresh I bet! I'll try that next time. For me, this is now THE ONLY WAY to make strawberry shortcake!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 15, 2008

      These were delish! I know my balsamic is nowhere near an "aged" variety, but these were very good. Good enough that DH says we must get a good bottle (spell that $$$) of balsamic. I served in wine glasses layered with the extra creamy cool whip. Thanks for the posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 25, 2007

      Yum! I've had this many times before, and can't get enough. Delicious!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 15, 2007

      I enjoyed this. It didn't knock my socks off but it was a good variation on strawberries. I'll definitely whip this up again when I have company or what have you.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 16, 2007

      I really liked this. It was so quick to throw together before supper. My husband only said it was okay, but he ate his share nonetheless. We tried sprinkling black pepper on the last few strawberries, as one reviewer suggested, but did not enjoy it at all. Thank you for this recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 01, 2006

      Absolutely SENSATIONAL! I used 2.5TB of sugar, I think 2TB would be ideal. What an explosion of complementary flavours this recipe is! Thank you!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 27, 2006

      I was able to cut the sugar back to 2tsp and still thoroughly enjoy these strawberries.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 17, 2006

      Excellent!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 04, 2005

      These were really yummy! I used strawberry balsamic instead of regular...it was great! Will make again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 09, 2005

      I would never have put this combination together and thought it would taste so so so good. Have now been eating my strawberries this way ever since I tried this recipe 2 weeks ago, sorry for the late review, but this is fantastic, a definite weekly treat at our house. Thank you.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Strawberries with Balsamic

    Serving Size: 1 (161 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 89.6
     
    Calories from Fat 3
    31%
    Total Fat 0.4 g
    0%
    Saturated Fat 0.0 g
    0%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 3.3 mg
    0%
    Total Carbohydrate 21.8 g
    7%
    Dietary Fiber 2.8 g
    11%
    Sugars 17.6 g
    70%
    Protein 1.0 g
    2%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes