266 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

This bread was fantastic!! Moist and flavorful. I used the brown sugar but did not find it to be too sweet, just perfect!! I brought a loaf to our morning playgroup and there was nothing left! I did have to bake about 15 minutes longer than suggested to prevent the center from being soggy but other than that I followed the recipe to a tee. Thanks so much for posting:)

6 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Brew City Chef July 12, 2011

Delicious! I made a few changes according to my tastes/diet. I used 1/3 c. coconut oil instead of butter and 1/3 c. agave instead of the sugar. I also made muffins instead of bread for convience sake. I freeze them so I can have one a day for breakfast. Just microwave for 1 min. and it's like having fresh baked muffins each morning! Next time I think I'll use whole wheat flour. Thanks for the delish recipe!

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Brighid June 29, 2011

Wonderful!!! It was very dense, but soft and moist, which is exactly what I was looking for. Very pleasant, smooth flavor. I used half whole wheat flour, frozen blueberries, and no nuts (hubby hates nuts in bread/muffins etc). I used both the brown sugar and the white sugar called for, but for the white sugar I used a half sugar/half splenda blend. I sprinkled some of that blend w/ some cinnamon on top. Hubby absolutely loves this! (Me too, but I made it for him!) I made it in a loaf pan, and it took maybe 20 min longer than the recipe says, but totally worth it! Might try it as muffins next time, or even in a cake pan and drizzle a little glaze over it after. Wonderful recipe! Thank you so much!

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Heath*J April 03, 2011

Well, it's great as Peaches & Cream Bread too! I had peaches on hand so gave that a try instead of strawberries or blueberries. I just had my first piece still warm from the oven - SO GOOD! I'm going to tell my friends about this one!

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
matie-k September 01, 2009

This was the BEST bread I have EVER eaten in my life!!! I made the strawberry version & only had light sour cream instead of regular- it still came out amazing!!! I also chose not to use nuts. I loved it so much I am currently making 2 more loaves for friends & family. I almost want to pick more strawberries for the sole reason of making more of this yummy bread! Perfect combination of everything & this is now my new "forever keeper" recipe! When I took it out of the oven, hubby cut into it & it almost looked slightly uncooked & mushy (probably from all strawberry juices) and I wanted to throw it back into the oven. DO NOT! I decided not to & so glad because when it cooled- it was PERFECT. Moist, easy to cut, etc! The best bread you will ever make- I promise! Thank you for this reicpe!

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ejval June 19, 2009

I made this with fresh strawberries from my garden for a girls movie night. The entire loaf was consumed before the movie was half over. Very good.... everyone loved it. I used all the wet mixture in the recipe and it was the perfect consistency. I think the key there might be beating the ingredients really well so that it is very light and fluffy.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
I Can Cook June 29, 2010

This is an okay recipe eaten warm or a couple hours later, but if you wait until the next day, you will be rewarded! I used half vanilla/half almond extract, increased the strawberries to 2c, and used finely chopped (almost ground) almonds. Since I made two batches, I made muffins and an 8x8 pan. I think the muffins are a bit tastier, but maybe it's because they were scooped first and got more strawberries, not sure. This is great plain, with butter, or with more strawberries on top for a decadent strawberry shortcake! I was also making a double batch of banana bread (muffins & an 8x8 pan), so combined what was left of both batters and baked a loaf of strawberry-banana bread!

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
xasperated May 31, 2010

After reading all the great reviews I decided to go ahead and double the recipe.I'm so glad I did because this is really delicious bread.I've tried other strawberry bread recipes but this one is definately my favorite so far.I used a full 16 oz package of fresh strawberries and I used Greek yogurt instead of sour cream. I upped the cinnamon to a full teaspoon and instead of butter I used 1/2 cup of applesauce and 1/2 cup of oil. I'm not wild about nuts in my bread so I decided to leave them out. Since I doubled the recipe I used 1 1/2 cups of sugar and 1/2 cup of brown sugar.I still felt it wasn't quite sweet enough but that's probably because my strawberries were not very sweet.I think it would be good with a brown sugar topping and next time I'll add even more strawberries.I can't wait to make this bread again!

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
officemaintenance April 05, 2010

I really loved this recipe! The night that I made it I talked 4 of my friend in to making it too. Next time I make it I am going to post a picture and make some strawberry whipped cream to go with the bread (idea via the posted pic). This is a great morning bread to go with coffee or tea. Thank you so much for posting - instant staple in our house!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Ana Gilbertson June 17, 2011

Oddly this is the first time I've made bread and it was wonderful. My neighbor gave me a quart of fresh picked local Maine blueberries. This recipe is perfect, as is, if you are trying to showcase the fruit. Easy to make and it tastes delicious. I followed the directions exactly. I actually had to bake it for an additional 10 minutes. Love it! Thank you so much for a great recipe. I'll definitely be using it again and again.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Maggiecme August 22, 2010
Strawberries & Cream Bread (Strawberry or Blueberry)