118 Reviews

WOW -- Great recipe! Used black beans b/c that's what I had on hand, added some extra tomato sauce after other reviews mentioned doing so and threw in some leftover corn I had. Really just loved this recipe. Can't give it more than 5 stars but I'd like to. Super easy, super delicious. A definite keeper!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mrs.B14 March 31, 2009

Very easy and very yummy. I used ground venison, black beans, and I added a can of corn. My hubby really enjoyed it! For the taco seasoning I used Kittencal's Taco Seasoning Mix #76616.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Hazel's Momma March 20, 2009

I almost did not post a review, but I wanted to warn others away from the mistakes I made. I took the comments to mean that more moisture was called for, and so I added a can of chopped tomatoes to the beef and added drained creamed corn to the batter... and after the alloted cooking time, I ended up with nasty looking soup. We poured the soup into a baking dish and tried to bake it, but it never set. This was the first thing I've ever thrown out. I'm sad.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
juniperwoman March 12, 2009

Very good! After reading several reviews, I used a large can (15 oz.) of tomato sauce to avoid a dry meat layer. I also sauteed chopped onions and some green pepper with the ground beef. Topped with sour cream, we had a nice, quick weeknight meal, plus enough for my lunch tomorrow! Thanks pinot!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
DuChick March 09, 2009

Excellent!! yummy and enjoyed by the whole family. Used 15oz of tomato sauce, added 1 can corn, added onion, added garlic, sprinkled with cumin and fajita seasoning. I had cooked in a 400 degree oven for 40-45 min. our tastebuds and tummies say thank you!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef GreanEyes February 17, 2009

My family loved this! We had no leftovers. I added a can of corn to make it go a little farther. When I make it again I will add a second can of beans because there really wasn't enough for my family of six. I added at least 1/2c extra water because I was afraid it would scorch during the simmering process. I had to cook it considerably longer than suggested for the corn bread to finish cooking. I subbed chives for the green onions and they tasted great. Thanks for this keeper. We'll definitely be eating it again! :)* The next time I made it I added a can of chili beans to the dish and it increased the volume but didn't reduce the chili flavor.*

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
stanzacp January 03, 2009

My family loved this! I used (264541) for my cornbread topping and it turned out wonderfully! My husband ate TWO helpings of this! Thanks for submitting this yummy recipe, it has been added to my recipe box!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Stacy Likes ta Cook January 03, 2009

One word: Delicious! Thank you for a goodie Fluffy. It is easy too.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Doelee December 09, 2008

Great quick recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
michael3443 November 19, 2008
Stove Top Tamale Pie