115 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Very good! After reading several reviews, I used a large can (15 oz.) of tomato sauce to avoid a dry meat layer. I also sauteed chopped onions and some green pepper with the ground beef. Topped with sour cream, we had a nice, quick weeknight meal, plus enough for my lunch tomorrow! Thanks pinot!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
DuChick March 09, 2009

Excellent!! yummy and enjoyed by the whole family. Used 15oz of tomato sauce, added 1 can corn, added onion, added garlic, sprinkled with cumin and fajita seasoning. I had cooked in a 400 degree oven for 40-45 min. our tastebuds and tummies say thank you!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef GreanEyes February 17, 2009

My family loved this! We had no leftovers. I added a can of corn to make it go a little farther. When I make it again I will add a second can of beans because there really wasn't enough for my family of six. I added at least 1/2c extra water because I was afraid it would scorch during the simmering process. I had to cook it considerably longer than suggested for the corn bread to finish cooking. I subbed chives for the green onions and they tasted great. Thanks for this keeper. We'll definitely be eating it again! :)* The next time I made it I added a can of chili beans to the dish and it increased the volume but didn't reduce the chili flavor.*

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
stanzacp January 03, 2009

My family loved this! I used (264541) for my cornbread topping and it turned out wonderfully! My husband ate TWO helpings of this! Thanks for submitting this yummy recipe, it has been added to my recipe box!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Stacy Likes ta Cook January 03, 2009

One word: Delicious! Thank you for a goodie Fluffy. It is easy too.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Doelee December 09, 2008

Great quick recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
michael3443 November 19, 2008

YUMM! I used ground turkey and a 16oz bag of corn bread mix (Marie Calendar’s) so I had to cook it a little longer. I think the addition of corn in the meat or corn bread mixture would be a great addition. The green onion on top is a must. I will definitely make this again!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Doc's Mom October 16, 2008

Yum! I barely followed the recipe to be honest based on what I had in the cupboard but still...Yum! I used a can of diced tomatoes, can of corn, and black beans. I made up some "taco" seasonings too. I also added a bit of tomato paste and instead of water I added chicken stock. This will definitely be one of those "Go To" meals! I can't wait to reheat for lunch tomorrow.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kim12469 September 10, 2008

This recipe was two things I LOVE for a busy Thursday night: *very easy *very tasty I made one substitution due to a lack of taco seasoning. Instead I used an onion soup mix package. Then I used Jiffy Corn Muffins Mix Clone Jiffy Corn Muffin Mix Clone for the package of corn muffin mix. It all came out delicious and best of all it didn't heat up my house like an oven casserole. Definitely a keeper! Thank you!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
leapin liz September 05, 2008
Stove Top Tamale Pie