118 Reviews

WoW! This is easy and delicious. I have not had tamale pie in years. I will definately be making this more often. Very affordable for the grocery budget as well.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Amber of AZ February 17, 2010

It was easy and quick and my kids really liked it. But the bottom burned a bit. Maybe I had it on the stove too long.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jane49423 January 31, 2010

5 STARS!!!! Delicious...I didnt use green onions as I didnt have any...I did add a chopped onion to the meat and cooked together....I used homemade taco seasoning and a can of hot chili beans....the cornbread was so good on top and cooked in about 12 minutes...I served with a dollop of sour cream on each serving.....OMG, so good....I will make again and again.... Thanks for posting!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
SweetOlive January 20, 2010

5 stars! So good :) The only thing I changed was omitting the green onions. It was perfect. Thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Gavin's Mom December 23, 2009

Yummo! I didn't change a thing and I thought this was great! Thank you!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
basfishinlady November 26, 2009

I changed it a bit based on other reviews and it turned out perfect. Not dry at all. I used 1 can of rotel instead of the tomato sauce. I also put some shredded cheese on top of the meat mixture, under the cornbread mix, as well as the cheese on top. I also added in one red bell pepper, chopped. The cornbread mix I had worked great, it didn't look like it would work when I plopped it all on top but 30 minutes later it was beautiful and covered the mixture completely. It was very moist and fluffy. DH frowned when I told him what we were having for dinner but he ended up having seconds, and then ate the rest for a midnight snack! Really good and really easy.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Melvin'sWifey November 12, 2009

I made this for Dinner last night. My two teenaged daughters and a 4 year old all loved it (my daughters actually went back for seconds). My Hubby liked it also. To me, it was a little dry and needed more spice (but I like my food spicy). The next time I make this I am going to try adding a can of rotel instead of the tomato sauce and maybe some hot sauce. But, still a good recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lora J. October 20, 2009

Excellent aroma, delicious! It was a little dry for us, the cornbread kinda inhaled most of the juices. Next time I'm going to add one cup of frozen corn (thawed), 1/2 cup chopped yellow onion, a bit of diced chilis, and use a 15 oz. can of tomato sauce vs. 8 oz. This is one of those recipes where you can jazz it up or down, depending on your personal likes. Thanks, Fluffy!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
HisMonie July 17, 2009

It may not be gourmet cooking, but it's fast, easy, and darn tasty. Everyone in the family enjoyed it, and my husband said we should put a happy face by this one. I used navy beans, as that's what I had on hand, and I left out the green onions, as I didn't have any. Otherwise I followed the recipe exactly. We'll be making this one again for sure!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
bunkie68 June 01, 2009

This recipe is great! My husband and I really enjoyed it. It's very fast and easy! Thanks.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Brynde April 15, 2009
Stove Top Tamale Pie