Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Stove Top Tamale Pie Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Stove Top Tamale Pie

    Average Rating:

    112 Total Reviews

    Showing 61-80 of 112

    Sort by:

    • on June 10, 2008

      This was incredible! I made some modifications. I used ground turkey meat, and I did not have any beans so I added corn. I also did not have green onion so I used yellow instead. I put that in with the meat. I did not use cheese just because we are trying to cut back on calories. This was so incredibley simple that my 9 yr. old daughter basically cooked this by herself. She did everything but cook the meat. Everyone in my family loved this! It is very easy and inexpensive meal so we will be eating this often! Thanks so much for this awesome recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 09, 2008

      Oh. My. GOSH this was good!!! I halved the recipe because it was just for me (DH won't touch beans or taco seasoning), and made a few alterations: I sauteed a small bit of onion with my ground beef, I used 3oz canned tomato sauce, and 3 oz taco sauce. I added a small can of diced green chilies to the mix, as well, and then a canful of water to keep things moist (next time I'd probably do less). I also used half a can of black beans, and an entire prepared Jiffy corn muffin batter (I can't get enough carbs). I popped it in the oven at 380 for about 20-30 minutes, and added some cheese to melt on top during the final minutes. It came out better than I could have imagined, and really satisfied my pregnancy cravings for Mexican food. Plus, I've got a ton left; I'm not even done with dinner, and already I'm looking forward to lunch, tomorrow!! Thanks, Fluffy, for a WONDERFUL recipe!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 15, 2008

      I love this recipe. It easily feeds my family of three, and there are always leftovers. Here are some alterations I made to enhance the flavor and keep it moist inside. I use a can of Santa Fe Recipe beans that have pinto and small red beans, corn, diced onion and a flavorful sauce (instead of kidney beans). I also use a 20 oz can of enchilada sauce as opposed to tomatoe sauce and water. I either add a can of diced chiles, or better yet, buy some pablano chiles, blister the skin over an open flame ( I do it on the stove top, turning frequently) until charred all over, peel chop, and add to the mix. I also soak the green onion in lime juice before topping the pie with them. I found a jalapeno corn bread mix that works great to kick it up. Lastly, I think the recipe is just as simple and the crust gets a little more crisp if you pour it all in to a 9x13 baking dish, top it with the bread mix (which is easiest to apply using a large ladel) and bake it according to the corn bread instructions ( I think at 425 for about 20 min uncovered). Then top it with the cheese and onion, turn off the oven, pop it back in for five minutes for the cheese to melt and your good to go. I also suggest serving with a bit of sour cream. I know that sounds like a lot of extra flavor with more steps involved, but it really makes the dish a smash, and your only left with one extra dirty pan. Have fun! Thanks for the recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 30, 2008

      Wow...what an easy yet tasty dinner! I added chopped onion to the hamburger mixture, and rather than adding water, I just used the larger (14oz) size tomato sauce, then added a can of drained whole kernel corn. This was super easy to make and we really enjoyed it. Thanks Fluffy for a yummy dinner!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 20, 2008

      I try never to alter a recipe when I first make it, as I believe then it is not a true review. But after reading a couple of previous comments I decided to add and change some things too. I used 1 1/2 lbs gr round, 2 cans kidney beans, 2 cans tomato sauce, 1 cup water, 1 can of whole kernel corn, a can of diced green chilies, and 2 pkgs taco seasons, dried onion, then only one box of cornbread mix and 2 cups cheese. I might have changed the taste, not sure it tasted like tamale pie anymore, but whatever it was it was great!!!!!!!!!!! We loved it !! Thanks Fluffy !!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 05, 2008

    • on February 05, 2008

      Very easy for a busy night. My kids loved it. I couldn't find my taco seasoning so I used a package of chili seasoning instead. I would prefer a little more spice and a little more liquid but all in all it was very good! I will certainly be making this again very soon!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 16, 2008

      This was a good concept. But, was a little on the bland side. Could have used more seasonings. Possibly Cumin, jalapenos and/or cayenne pepper. I served with sour cream.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 15, 2008

      This was OK. Definetely could have used more flavor. If I made it again, I'd add more seasonings to it. It needed to be kicked up a notch.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 28, 2007

      made it several times.... it is Wonderful!!!! I rinse the kidney beans then fill up with water to the can line...other than that i follow therecipe exactly..YUM Amy:-)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 17, 2007

    • on November 12, 2007

      Easy to make. Great taste!Definately a winner!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 02, 2007

      This was so good! Thanks for the easy recipe. I did like another member did and mix my green onions and cheddar cheese in the corn muffin mix. Then I added mexican blend cheese to the top. Also, I had to sneak the beans in so my kids would eat it, so I used refried beans. It turned out really well. Not too dry for us! Thanks again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 21, 2007

      My family really enjoyed this quick and easy-to-make recipe! I used a 15-ounce can of small red beans, an 8.5-ounce box of Jiffy corn muffin mix, and Homemade Taco Seasoning Packet Replacement. Next time I think I'll increase the water to 2/3s cup for a moister meat layer. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 19, 2007

      This was very good - DH loved it. Very easy too. I am only giving it 4 stars because I thought it was too dry (too much cronbread for the amount of meat mixture). Next time I will either double the meat/bean mixture of only use half of the cornbread mix. We had to mix in sour cream to moisten it up. I also omitted the green onion as I didn't have any and used the smaller pink beans instead of kidney because that is what I had on hand. Thanks for the great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 19, 2007

      It's been so hot lately and I was looking for a simple supper recipe that didn't require turning on the oven. I couldn't believe how easy and good this was! I followed the recipe as written using small red chili beans and added a small can of chopped green chilies. It turned out pretty as a picture and DH could not stop eating it! I took some to work for lunch the next day and a co-worker said, "You made that?" Another just had to have the recipe which she hunted me down for the next day. The smell is unbelieveable! Thanks so much for the recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 12, 2007

      Nice contrast of sweet from the cornbread and spicy from taco seasoning. I used "Kittencal's Taco Seasoning Mix" #76616, ground turkey and a box of Jiffy corn muffin mix and we were pleased with the results! Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 07, 2007

      This was defnitely easy to make, but I agree with the previous review that it was a little dry. Next time I think I will use less muffin mix and add another can of tomato sauce. Thanks for the recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 20, 2007

      This was just okay for us. Seemed like it was too much bread and not enough sauce. Really dry. The meat with just part of the topping was good but it was just too much topping.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 03, 2007

      I have made this recipe for my famly so many times. Now that the boys have moved out when ever they come home this is one recipe they request me making. For me this is so easy to make in no time. Top with with a nice salad and you have a complete meal. I do not add the kidney beans & I also up the water to 3/4 cup. We all rated this 10 stars!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Stove Top Tamale Pie

    Serving Size: 1 (399 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 710.8
     
    Calories from Fat 306
    43%
    Total Fat 34.0 g
    52%
    Saturated Fat 14.5 g
    72%
    Cholesterol 107.9 mg
    35%
    Sodium 2024.1 mg
    84%
    Total Carbohydrate 62.7 g
    20%
    Dietary Fiber 11.6 g
    46%
    Sugars 17.7 g
    71%
    Protein 38.1 g
    76%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites