118 Reviews

just like most of the others, I changed gr beef to gr turkey & added some onions, carrots ~ chopped small, chili beans, can of green chilis & roasted tomatos instead of tomato sauce. OMG it was great & easy. A fast meal to create after working all day! Thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
marilyn6od September 05, 2012

Good recipe! I tossed in some chili powder, cumin, onion powder, garlic & seasoning salt instead of the taco seasoning, used black beans and added some corn to the beef mixture at someone else's suggestion. Everyone liked it & I appreciated how fast this came together!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Clarely August 30, 2012

Yum! I used picante saue instead of tomato sauce, pinto instead of kidney beans and it turned out great! I loved the spicy/sweet combo. The meal came together in minutes. I served it with Mexican slaw. I'll be making this again. Thanks for posting.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lucky in Bayview July 25, 2011

Thanks, Fluffy! This delicious dish is soooo good and easy to make. I like to use spicy taco seasoning, as it is a delicious contrast to the sweet corn bread. Also, I like to put extra green onions on top. Mmmmmm.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Laurel :) April 04, 2011

Very good!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mmsbin December 19, 2010

What can I say? If I could give this more than 5 stars I would. My husband and I are certainly putting this in our list of favorites. Very easy to make. I was a bit skeptical about cooking it on top of the stove but it is definitely better than baking it. The moist heat kept the cornbread and cheese soft and delicious. Thanks for a great recipe!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mewmew August 09, 2010

Very good....both my husband and our friends loved it. I added green chilies and cheese to the cornbread mix while I was mixing it up. Next time, I will try adding some jalapenos. One thing I will change is to add more tomato sauce next time. This was very dry , although we did put queso on top of the servings and it was divine. The possibilities with this dish are endless.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
JenHardy May 11, 2010

I honestly didn't expect to like this, but I did and so did the rest of my family. I added a can of corn as recommended in previous reviews and it was excellent! I will be making this again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
donnavef March 26, 2010

Budget friendly & delicious!! I added a small can of green chiles to the corn muffin mix for some extra flavor. Topped it off with sour cream & black olives :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Brenda Mariko March 04, 2010

Thanks for an effortless, everyday meal that tastes and looks good. Easy kitchen clean-up too. Followed Fluffy's directions to the T, and it turned out just like the pretty photos!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ladyfingers February 21, 2010
Stove Top Tamale Pie