116 Reviews

Loved this recipe! I never made anything like this but we will be having this again for sure!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
JPBallin September 13, 2013

Delicious! My kids don't like to eat kidney beans so I puréed them along with a can of stewed tomatoes (the kind with onions, celery, and green peppers) instead of using tomato sauce. I didn't need to add water because I had the juice from the stewed tomatoes. <br/>For the corn bread mix on top I used a Trader Joe Corn Muffin Mix with an extra egg that my husband threw in:). After it was cooked I added shredded Mexican cheese and chopped scallions from the garden. Yummmm!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
droloson July 28, 2013

I was very pleasantly surprised by this. I was just looking for something quick and easy that wouldn't require a trip to the store and decided to give this a try based on the number of positive review. But truthfully, I had fairly low expectations. However, I really enjoyed this and will probably make it again often. Of course, that's depending on how the left overs are since this really isn't something my kids would be into so it's just two of us eating it. I added a can of corn because I like the crunch and because I decided that if I pretend corn is a vegetable I can make this a one dish meal. I think next time I might add a second can of tomatoe sauce but other than those changes I would keep it the same.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Keolani June 15, 2013

DH and DD loved this recipe. I was gone so didn't get to try but they thought it was really good. I served this with some lime cilantro rice and they were both gone. Thank you for sharing with us.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mommyoffour May 06, 2013

Very easy.. especially using Jiffy Corn Muffins Mix Clone (Jiffy Corn Muffins Mix Clone).. which make the exact amount needed. It was clean-out-the-fridge-day: added leftover corn, quinoa and cooked onions. Be sure to enough water to make it slopy before dropping the cornmeal on top.. it will make soak up some of the liquid.

Serve with a salad of avocado, tomatoes, cilantro/coriander, red onion, and lettuce.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lee_tah January 31, 2013

This was awesome. Hubby said it was definitely one of the top 10 dishes I have ever made. I saut?ed half an onion with the beef which was a perfect addition I used the Jiffy Corn Muffin copycat recipe and a taco seasoning recipe from this site (that way there are no hidden chemicals/MSG). I increased tomato sauce to a 15 oz can, used seasoned chili beans instead of kidneys, and added a can of drained corn kernels. Topped it off with a Mexican blend cheese and the green onions and served it with sour cream Outstanding! I could definitely see adding a jalapeno or topping it with sliced olives if you like heat and/or salt. Really easy (and easy on the wallet!). Thanks for the great recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kim Rossi November 10, 2012

It wasn't too much fuss and I was really surprised that the corbread actually cooked all the way through like it was supposed too. I was secretly expecting it to still be gooey in the middle. I'm glad I gave it a try. It is kind of like a one dish chili and cornbread.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Plumshadow September 30, 2012

A nice change of pace. Good as is, but next time I will use a can of tomatoes as other reviewers' suggestions.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
NDjojo September 18, 2012

just like most of the others, I changed gr beef to gr turkey & added some onions, carrots ~ chopped small, chili beans, can of green chilis & roasted tomatos instead of tomato sauce. OMG it was great & easy. A fast meal to create after working all day! Thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
marilyn6od September 05, 2012

Good recipe! I tossed in some chili powder, cumin, onion powder, garlic & seasoning salt instead of the taco seasoning, used black beans and added some corn to the beef mixture at someone else's suggestion. Everyone liked it & I appreciated how fast this came together!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Clarely August 30, 2012
Stove Top Tamale Pie