Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Stove Top Tamale Pie Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Stove Top Tamale Pie

    Average Rating:

    112 Total Reviews

    Showing 21-40 of 112

    Sort by:

    • on January 31, 2013

      Very easy.. especially using Jiffy Corn Muffins Mix Clone (Jiffy Corn Muffins Mix Clone).. which make the exact amount needed. It was clean-out-the-fridge-day: added leftover corn, quinoa and cooked onions. Be sure to enough water to make it slopy before dropping the cornmeal on top.. it will make soak up some of the liquid.

      Serve with a salad of avocado, tomatoes, cilantro/coriander, red onion, and lettuce.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 10, 2012

      This was awesome. Hubby said it was definitely one of the top 10 dishes I have ever made. I saut?ed half an onion with the beef which was a perfect addition I used the Jiffy Corn Muffin copycat recipe and a taco seasoning recipe from this site (that way there are no hidden chemicals/MSG). I increased tomato sauce to a 15 oz can, used seasoned chili beans instead of kidneys, and added a can of drained corn kernels. Topped it off with a Mexican blend cheese and the green onions and served it with sour cream Outstanding! I could definitely see adding a jalapeno or topping it with sliced olives if you like heat and/or salt. Really easy (and easy on the wallet!). Thanks for the great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 30, 2012

      It wasn't too much fuss and I was really surprised that the corbread actually cooked all the way through like it was supposed too. I was secretly expecting it to still be gooey in the middle. I'm glad I gave it a try. It is kind of like a one dish chili and cornbread.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 18, 2012

      A nice change of pace. Good as is, but next time I will use a can of tomatoes as other reviewers' suggestions.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 05, 2012

      just like most of the others, I changed gr beef to gr turkey & added some onions, carrots ~ chopped small, chili beans, can of green chilis & roasted tomatos instead of tomato sauce. OMG it was great & easy. A fast meal to create after working all day! Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 30, 2012

      Good recipe! I tossed in some chili powder, cumin, onion powder, garlic & seasoning salt instead of the taco seasoning, used black beans and added some corn to the beef mixture at someone else's suggestion. Everyone liked it & I appreciated how fast this came together!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 25, 2011

      Yum! I used picante saue instead of tomato sauce, pinto instead of kidney beans and it turned out great! I loved the spicy/sweet combo. The meal came together in minutes. I served it with Mexican slaw. I'll be making this again. Thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 04, 2011

      Thanks, Fluffy! This delicious dish is soooo good and easy to make. I like to use spicy taco seasoning, as it is a delicious contrast to the sweet corn bread. Also, I like to put extra green onions on top. Mmmmmm.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 19, 2010

      Very good!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 09, 2010

      What can I say? If I could give this more than 5 stars I would. My husband and I are certainly putting this in our list of favorites. Very easy to make. I was a bit skeptical about cooking it on top of the stove but it is definitely better than baking it. The moist heat kept the cornbread and cheese soft and delicious. Thanks for a great recipe!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 11, 2010

      Very good....both my husband and our friends loved it. I added green chilies and cheese to the cornbread mix while I was mixing it up. Next time, I will try adding some jalapenos. One thing I will change is to add more tomato sauce next time. This was very dry , although we did put queso on top of the servings and it was divine. The possibilities with this dish are endless.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 26, 2010

      I honestly didn't expect to like this, but I did and so did the rest of my family. I added a can of corn as recommended in previous reviews and it was excellent! I will be making this again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 04, 2010

      Budget friendly & delicious!! I added a small can of green chiles to the corn muffin mix for some extra flavor. Topped it off with sour cream & black olives :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 21, 2010

      Thanks for an effortless, everyday meal that tastes and looks good. Easy kitchen clean-up too. Followed Fluffy's directions to the T, and it turned out just like the pretty photos!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 17, 2010

      WoW! This is easy and delicious. I have not had tamale pie in years. I will definately be making this more often. Very affordable for the grocery budget as well.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 31, 2010

      It was easy and quick and my kids really liked it. But the bottom burned a bit. Maybe I had it on the stove too long.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 20, 2010

      5 STARS!!!! Delicious...I didnt use green onions as I didnt have any...I did add a chopped onion to the meat and cooked together....I used homemade taco seasoning and a can of hot chili beans....the cornbread was so good on top and cooked in about 12 minutes...I served with a dollop of sour cream on each serving.....OMG, so good....I will make again and again.... Thanks for posting!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 23, 2009

      5 stars! So good :) The only thing I changed was omitting the green onions. It was perfect. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 26, 2009

      Yummo! I didn't change a thing and I thought this was great! Thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 12, 2009

      I changed it a bit based on other reviews and it turned out perfect. Not dry at all. I used 1 can of rotel instead of the tomato sauce. I also put some shredded cheese on top of the meat mixture, under the cornbread mix, as well as the cheese on top. I also added in one red bell pepper, chopped. The cornbread mix I had worked great, it didn't look like it would work when I plopped it all on top but 30 minutes later it was beautiful and covered the mixture completely. It was very moist and fluffy. DH frowned when I told him what we were having for dinner but he ended up having seconds, and then ate the rest for a midnight snack! Really good and really easy.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Stove Top Tamale Pie

    Serving Size: 1 (399 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 710.8
     
    Calories from Fat 306
    43%
    Total Fat 34.0 g
    52%
    Saturated Fat 14.5 g
    72%
    Cholesterol 107.9 mg
    35%
    Sodium 2024.1 mg
    84%
    Total Carbohydrate 62.7 g
    20%
    Dietary Fiber 11.6 g
    46%
    Sugars 17.7 g
    71%
    Protein 38.1 g
    76%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites