118 Reviews

Delicious! I added a drained can of whole kernel corn and it turned out great. Next time, I believe I'll add onions and peppers like one of the reviewers did. We topped it with sour cream and my picky eater asked for seconds. So easy to make!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
bzmom1964 January 08, 2015

I just made this the other night. YUMMY! The only complaint my boys had was not enough cornbread, so I'm going to try it with two boxes next time. Otherwise it was definitely a

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ARenea October 19, 2014

My family liked this recipe. I followed others suggestions to use a 15 oz can of tomato sauce instead of the 8 oz it called for. The next time I make this I'm going to do what another review did and use enchilada sauce instead of the plain tomato sauce.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CarRod April 08, 2014

Pretty dang good. As others said recipe as written is a bit dry and lacking punch. I added a can of rotel and a tsp of Mexene chili powder. Also added some onions with the the beef as well a few hearty shakes of adobo. Besides that it's perfect. Also I wouldn't say a large skillet, a good 10 inch x 3 qt with a tight fitting lid works perfect for this one. Very versatile. Could probably put just about anything in your mix for this one as long as the liquid is close Think a nice loose chili before you top it...

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
GOODCOOK1976 February 13, 2014

Fluffy, this was really good and super easy. I made this as directed the first time and everyone loved it. The second time, I added a can of mexicorn (corn and green chilis). That was really good too. This recipe is definitely a keeper. Thanks much for sharing.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Hunkle January 31, 2014

This is so easy and delicious. My SO loves it and so do I. So simple.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Ashley R. November 25, 2013

This was really GOOD! I cook hamburger ahead of time so this came together really quick. We will have this often, thank you!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
drinkmore November 14, 2013

This is such an easy, tasty weeknight dish. When I made it, I doctored it up a bit...I added garlic, onion and cilantro and a tin of corn. I also misread the direction...because I was in a rush, and used a 15 oz. tin of tomato sauce. To remedy this, I used two packages of corn muffin mix which gave the pie a heartier crust. <br/>Very tasty and easy to make. Thank you for sharing!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
hedgiehog November 06, 2013

This was delicious, while cooking the meat I added chopped onions, canned green chilies, Garlic and cumin,pepper,red pepper flakes, onion powder, chives, an extra can of tomato sauce and half can corn, with all the other ingredients. I like spicy .without the stuff I added it was kinda bland. Put it in a baking dish then spread the uncooked cornbread on top baked 400 for 15 min.. Yum will def make again! Everyone at my house liked it :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jess21590 October 23, 2013

Great recipe! I just rinsed out the 8oz. Tomato Sauce can with water (increasing the liquid content by half) and it came out perfect - can't wait to do this on the campfire in a Dutch Oven!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
840006 October 19, 2013
Stove Top Tamale Pie