115 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

This was WONDERFUL!!! & was super easy too!

This is such an versitile recipe & is easily adaptable to whatever ingredients you have on hand. I added diced green chilies & chopped onion to the ground beef as it browned. I substituted a can of Hot Chili beans in place of thre kidney beans & used a pkgt of chili seasoning instead of taco seasoning as I wanted to use it up.
Could also add some whole kernal corn. Topped the cooked cornbread with a half can of sliced black olives then the shredded cheese (use whatever you like....Mexican blend, sharp, etc.)
Oh, I omitted the green onions...OK, I forgot them :-}but my DH LOVED it & this's what counts!!!! He said to put a star by this recipe! How about I just put 5 STARS instead?!!!

This is going to be a regular at our house now & a very pleasant addition to our menus after 41 yrs of marriage. Thanks Fluffy!!!!!



Read more: http://www.food.com/recipe/stove-top-tamale-pie-78897#ixzz1WcY7O2fl

11 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
JKBerney August 31, 2011

First time I made this I used only the 1 can of tomato sauce and it was too dry. The second time I used 2 cans and it was much moister and everyone loved it.

6 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
goodstuff4you February 19, 2012

Wow!!! Yum!! Instead of ground beef, I shredded the chicken off if a grocery rotisserie chicken and as suggested by another review, I used a full 15 oz can of sauce! Definitely a keeper!

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Freydom September 27, 2012

another 5 star recipe to put into regular rotation. since my oven is old and temperamental and completely unreliable i was THRILLED to find a stovetop tamale pie recipe. i took your recipe as a base and made some changes specific to our taste (we like a lot of heat and spice) and to use what i had on hand... so...i sauteed 2 small onions and 3 minced cloves garlic with the ground beef, then added a few dried chili pepper flakes and 4 small jarred jalepeno peppers (diced - seeds and all)). my tomato sauce comes in a 500g carton so i just used the whole thing and compensated by draining the beans (i used pinto) and reducing the water to 1/4 cup. also threw in a (drained) can of corn, about 1 Tbsp of chili powder and 1 tsp of cumin (along with hot & spicy taco seasoning). I used Jiffy Corn Muffins Mix Clone for the corn bread mix (which was easy and excellent) and reduced the cheese to just a sprinkle of gouda (would have been fine without). i didn't have any green onions so went without. I ended up cooking it for about 10 minutes longer than advised (but that was likely because of my substitutions). I served it with sour cream. the result? WOW. the heat and spice and flavor of the meat mixture was perfectly balanced by the sweetness of the cornbread and the texture was bang on - not at all too dry and not soupy at all. we both ate 2 helpings and then sat and complained how stuffed we were. and then cut ourselves each another tiny sliver. and then complained how REALLY stuffed we were. and then cut ourselves ANOTHER tiny sliver. (and then fished out all the random beef and corn tidbits that remained on the 'empty' side of the dish). it was just too good to stop. now im sad that we overindulged and there wont be enough for dinner again tomorrow. super easy. super fast. super inexpensive. super delicious. super quick clean up. thank you so much.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kaysma February 03, 2010

This was good, easy to make. I realized at the last minute I was out of tomato sauce so I used ketchup. DS loved it. I also let everyone add their own green onions and cheese to their liking, DH isn't wild about green onions and neither is DD. Probably will make again if we need a change. Thanks for sharing.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MsTasha September 14, 2010

Delicious! I added a drained can of whole kernel corn and it turned out great. Next time, I believe I'll add onions and peppers like one of the reviewers did. We topped it with sour cream and my picky eater asked for seconds. So easy to make!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
bzmom1964 January 09, 2015

I just made this the other night. YUMMY! The only complaint my boys had was not enough cornbread, so I'm going to try it with two boxes next time. Otherwise it was definitely a

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ARenea October 19, 2014

This recipe is really high in sodium for a small piece, 2024 mg in this recipe. 2300mg is the daily intake for most people. If one is over 51 or has hypertension it is about 1500 mg per day. I suspect the extra sodium and sugar is in the taco seasoning, packaged corn mix (sugar), canned beans and tomato sauce. Low sodium types are available then you can add your own. If one makes their own spice mix this would cut down the sodium and sugar a lot. It is very simple, lots of mild chile powder, cumin, oregano and a bit of garlic if you like. A few tablespoons of chile powder and light on the other spices is what I do.<br/>Although I would use lean ground beef, chicken would be great too.<br/>I would add chopped Anaheim chiles too and a pinch of cayenne for heat.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
I_Fortuna October 15, 2014

My family liked this recipe. I followed others suggestions to use a 15 oz can of tomato sauce instead of the 8 oz it called for. The next time I make this I'm going to do what another review did and use enchilada sauce instead of the plain tomato sauce.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CarRod April 08, 2014
Stove Top Tamale Pie