Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Stove Top Tamale Pie Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Stove Top Tamale Pie

    Average Rating:

    112 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 112

    Sort by:

    • on August 31, 2011

      This was WONDERFUL!!! & was super easy too!

      This is such an versitile recipe & is easily adaptable to whatever ingredients you have on hand. I added diced green chilies & chopped onion to the ground beef as it browned. I substituted a can of Hot Chili beans in place of thre kidney beans & used a pkgt of chili seasoning instead of taco seasoning as I wanted to use it up.
      Could also add some whole kernal corn. Topped the cooked cornbread with a half can of sliced black olives then the shredded cheese (use whatever you like....Mexican blend, sharp, etc.)
      Oh, I omitted the green onions...OK, I forgot them :-}but my DH LOVED it & this's what counts!!!! He said to put a star by this recipe! How about I just put 5 STARS instead?!!!

      This is going to be a regular at our house now & a very pleasant addition to our menus after 41 yrs of marriage. Thanks Fluffy!!!!!



      Read more: http://www.food.com/recipe/stove-top-tamale-pie-78897#ixzz1WcY7O2fl

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 19, 2012

      First time I made this I used only the 1 can of tomato sauce and it was too dry. The second time I used 2 cans and it was much moister and everyone loved it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 27, 2012

      Wow!!! Yum!! Instead of ground beef, I shredded the chicken off if a grocery rotisserie chicken and as suggested by another review, I used a full 15 oz can of sauce! Definitely a keeper!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 03, 2010

      another 5 star recipe to put into regular rotation. since my oven is old and temperamental and completely unreliable i was THRILLED to find a stovetop tamale pie recipe. i took your recipe as a base and made some changes specific to our taste (we like a lot of heat and spice) and to use what i had on hand... so...i sauteed 2 small onions and 3 minced cloves garlic with the ground beef, then added a few dried chili pepper flakes and 4 small jarred jalepeno peppers (diced - seeds and all)). my tomato sauce comes in a 500g carton so i just used the whole thing and compensated by draining the beans (i used pinto) and reducing the water to 1/4 cup. also threw in a (drained) can of corn, about 1 Tbsp of chili powder and 1 tsp of cumin (along with hot & spicy taco seasoning). I used Jiffy Corn Muffins Mix Clone for the corn bread mix (which was easy and excellent) and reduced the cheese to just a sprinkle of gouda (would have been fine without). i didn't have any green onions so went without. I ended up cooking it for about 10 minutes longer than advised (but that was likely because of my substitutions). I served it with sour cream. the result? WOW. the heat and spice and flavor of the meat mixture was perfectly balanced by the sweetness of the cornbread and the texture was bang on - not at all too dry and not soupy at all. we both ate 2 helpings and then sat and complained how stuffed we were. and then cut ourselves each another tiny sliver. and then complained how REALLY stuffed we were. and then cut ourselves ANOTHER tiny sliver. (and then fished out all the random beef and corn tidbits that remained on the 'empty' side of the dish). it was just too good to stop. now im sad that we overindulged and there wont be enough for dinner again tomorrow. super easy. super fast. super inexpensive. super delicious. super quick clean up. thank you so much.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 11, 2013

      This was very good. I had to put it in my oven for a bit to get the top of the corn bread to get done. I used a bit of onion and pepper mix I have on hand to use it up. I used "Jiffy Corn Muffin Mix Copycat" and "Taco Bell Taco Seasoning Clone/Copycat". I did not have any cheese so we had it without. I will make this again.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 14, 2010

      This was good, easy to make. I realized at the last minute I was out of tomato sauce so I used ketchup. DS loved it. I also let everyone add their own green onions and cheese to their liking, DH isn't wild about green onions and neither is DD. Probably will make again if we need a change. Thanks for sharing.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 08, 2014

      My family liked this recipe. I followed others suggestions to use a 15 oz can of tomato sauce instead of the 8 oz it called for. The next time I make this I'm going to do what another review did and use enchilada sauce instead of the plain tomato sauce.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 13, 2014

      Pretty dang good. As others said recipe as written is a bit dry and lacking punch. I added a can of rotel and a tsp of Mexene chili powder. Also added some onions with the the beef as well a few hearty shakes of adobo. Besides that it's perfect. Also I wouldn't say a large skillet, a good 10 inch x 3 qt with a tight fitting lid works perfect for this one. Very versatile. Could probably put just about anything in your mix for this one as long as the liquid is close Think a nice loose chili before you top it...

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 01, 2014

      Fluffy, this was really good and super easy. I made this as directed the first time and everyone loved it. The second time, I added a can of mexicorn (corn and green chilis). That was really good too. This recipe is definitely a keeper. Thanks much for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 25, 2013

      This is so easy and delicious. My SO loves it and so do I. So simple.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 14, 2013

      This was really GOOD! I cook hamburger ahead of time so this came together really quick. We will have this often, thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 07, 2013

      This is such an easy, tasty weeknight dish. When I made it, I doctored it up a bit...I added garlic, onion and cilantro and a tin of corn. I also misread the direction...because I was in a rush, and used a 15 oz. tin of tomato sauce. To remedy this, I used two packages of corn muffin mix which gave the pie a heartier crust. <br/>Very tasty and easy to make. Thank you for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 23, 2013

      This was delicious, while cooking the meat I added chopped onions, canned green chilies, Garlic and cumin,pepper,red pepper flakes, onion powder, chives, an extra can of tomato sauce and half can corn, with all the other ingredients. I like spicy .without the stuff I added it was kinda bland. Put it in a baking dish then spread the uncooked cornbread on top baked 400 for 15 min.. Yum will def make again! Everyone at my house liked it :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 20, 2013

      Great recipe! I just rinsed out the 8oz. Tomato Sauce can with water (increasing the liquid content by half) and it came out perfect - can't wait to do this on the campfire in a Dutch Oven!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 16, 2013

      I "doctored up" the beef a little by adding onions, garlic, olives and some chipotle sauce and this came out great - not the prettiest of meals but how can you go wrong when it includes corn bread and cheese!! NOTE: easy on the layer of cornbread, you don't want it to thick when it cooks.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 02, 2013

      We really enjoyed this. Only change was it needed more tomato sauce and I felt the meat to cornbread ratio was off so I will increase the amount of ground beef next time. Thanks!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 13, 2013

      Loved this recipe! I never made anything like this but we will be having this again for sure!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 28, 2013

      Delicious! My kids don't like to eat kidney beans so I puréed them along with a can of stewed tomatoes (the kind with onions, celery, and green peppers) instead of using tomato sauce. I didn't need to add water because I had the juice from the stewed tomatoes. <br/>For the corn bread mix on top I used a Trader Joe Corn Muffin Mix with an extra egg that my husband threw in:). After it was cooked I added shredded Mexican cheese and chopped scallions from the garden. Yummmm!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 15, 2013

      I was very pleasantly surprised by this. I was just looking for something quick and easy that wouldn't require a trip to the store and decided to give this a try based on the number of positive review. But truthfully, I had fairly low expectations. However, I really enjoyed this and will probably make it again often. Of course, that's depending on how the left overs are since this really isn't something my kids would be into so it's just two of us eating it. I added a can of corn because I like the crunch and because I decided that if I pretend corn is a vegetable I can make this a one dish meal. I think next time I might add a second can of tomatoe sauce but other than those changes I would keep it the same.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 06, 2013

      DH and DD loved this recipe. I was gone so didn't get to try but they thought it was really good. I served this with some lime cilantro rice and they were both gone. Thank you for sharing with us.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3 4 5 6

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Stove Top Tamale Pie

    Serving Size: 1 (399 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 710.8
     
    Calories from Fat 306
    43%
    Total Fat 34.0 g
    52%
    Saturated Fat 14.5 g
    72%
    Cholesterol 107.9 mg
    35%
    Sodium 2024.1 mg
    84%
    Total Carbohydrate 62.7 g
    20%
    Dietary Fiber 11.6 g
    46%
    Sugars 17.7 g
    71%
    Protein 38.1 g
    76%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites