Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Stove-Top Scalloped Potatoes Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Stove-Top Scalloped Potatoes

    Average Rating:

    63 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 63

    Sort by:

    • on February 25, 2002

      These were excellent! A little salty, though, so I will decrease the salt by half next time. I didn't have shredded cheese thawed, so I put some American cheese slices on it, and it was a hit with my guys! This recipe fed my 4 family members (2 adults and 9 and 13 yr old boys), with no leftovers. If I fix it for company, I will double the recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 29, 2002

      The first time I made this recipe, it boiled over, so the second time I used a larger pot and it was perfect. I added some carrot slices because I like the look. Wonderful recipe. Much easier than the oven baked.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 18, 2002

      WOW, is this ever decadent! Like Anu's, my potatoes were done in 15 minutes. I used all the salt called for, but decided to use Kosher instead of iodized after reading the comments. It wasn't too salty at all. I don't know what got into me . I used 1 cup cream & 1/2 cup nonfat milk, and about twice as much cheese as was called for. A little extra cayenne. Instead of cooking uncovered the last 15 minutes, I popped it under the broiler until the cheese was melted and bubbly. Next time, I'm going to try it without altering the ingredients. I'll bet it will be just as wonderful without all the added fat. And, yes, watch out for that milk boiling over! Mine didn't (thanks to the comments), but I had to turn my burner past the low setting to the extra low. If you have a gas stovetop and don't have an extra low setting, you can roll-up/crumple foil in the shape of a donut, put it on your burner and your pan on top of that (to elevate your pan from the heat, to make your low setting even lower).

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 13, 2001

      Hey Dorothy-another great recipe. The only thing I changed was the cheese. I used smoked Gouda-it's what I had on hand and it was great! Thanks, Di

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 08, 2002

      This is a great way to serve potatoes! Followed recipe to a T and was delighted with the result, be careful and dont let the milk boil over like I did. =)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 29, 2002

      I used Itailian style bread crumbs. I also stirred in about 1/8 cup chopped green onions and 2 cloved of garlic that I minced. Yummy!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 25, 2002

      This was a quick recipe. Thanks for sharing, again the caution just didn't hit me until I had to clean up the milk mess. It was worth it though.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 19, 2002

      These potatoes were very good. I will be making these again when we go camping. I made these on my camp stove in a cast iron skillet and had no problems. Thanks for posting this recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 30, 2002

      This was done much faster than 1 hour! The potatoes were done in 15 minutes, and after stirring in the cheese and breadcrumbs, I cooked only for a couple of minutes. I used black pepper since I didn't have cayenne. This is one easy, tasty potato dish that I'm gonna make often! Update: I agree with cherir that it's a bit too salty. I scaled down to 2 servings and used only 1/2 tsp salt, although the recipe called for 2/3 tsp, and it was still a bit much. Otherwise, it's fantastic!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 25, 2002

    • on April 24, 2011

      I got really nervous when it was supposed to be done and there was tons of milk left. I boiled the pan until it thickened up and everything was good. Tx for the recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 07, 2009

      I just made these for lunch. My hubby and I gobbled them up!! and sat there smacking our lips afterwards , FANTASITC TATORS! I used my griswald #8 iron skillet , which is about a 10" skillet. I cut my potatoes very thin and it only took about 15 minutes for them to be cooked with the cover on them. I removed the cover and let them cook for about 5 minutes to reduce the milk. I then topped them with the cheese and Ritz crackers. I upped the cheese to a little over 1 cup. I put them in the oven with the broiler on to finish them off for about 3 to 4 minutes.THIS WILL BECOME A STAPLE RECIPE IN THIS HOUSE!!!! I love it , its simple and not overpowered with creams and butters. You actually taste the main ingredient , the potato. I did add a couple of cloves of garlic though . I have cajun blood what can I say ..*warm smiles* Easy side dish that can be made to go with just about anything! Quickie for company too. Most everyone have those ingredients on hand. THANKS!! for a great recipe...

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 06, 2004

      These were great made them two weeks in a row. I perfer these over the box mixes. It is very easy also. Great time to use my pampered chef slicer

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 03, 2003

      Very good. I tripled the recipe(big family) and it still was good. Mine also bubbled over but I found that if I skewed the lid just a little bit, it didn't do it. My potatoes also were done in 15-20 min. I guess my chunks were smaller than yours.The only problem I had was with tripling the recipe-I didn't have a pan that was quite big enough. The one I had worked, but I had to stir the cheese and bread crumbs(Italian) in to get it to thicken up. Very good-everyone liked it. This is also the first time I've ever made these from scratch!!I will definately make them again!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 24, 2013

      Now this recipe of Scalloped Potatoes by Derf is also posted on another site.And I thought it would be a good idea to give it another well deserved review here. :) I first made this on 8/14/13, and since it was just my SO and myself the recipe was reduced by half. If you have leftover baked potatoes, this would be a great recipe to use them for. If your using leftover potatoes, make sure you cook the onions in a bit of butter first. " Keep Smiling :) "

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 06, 2003

      Not the prettiest dish but it tastes great and is quick and easy to make. My hubby liked it too.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 16, 2003

      This was WONDERFUL, so easy and quick. My recipe takes much longer....This was just wonderful for a quick and easy dish! Thank you for posting. I followed the recipe as written and it turned out perfect!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 28, 2013

      Great recipe!! I added parsley, red onion, chives, shallots, garlic and dill mixture... It added great flavor... Also Italian bread crumbs!!! Just be careful because the milk can spill over if stove is too hot so watch out and Enjoy!!!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 02, 2012

      This was really easy and cooked up a lot more quickly than oven scalloped potatoes.I sliced my potatoes as I like the look better. A definite keeper for a quick and stress-free scalloped potato recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 07, 2012

      I made these instead of my oven method because I was cooking a ham in the oven at a different temp. I messed these up and cooked them too hot so the milk curdled. I also used one sweet potato which was a mistake because it got really mushy. I think I'll stick to my oven method.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3 4

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Stove-Top Scalloped Potatoes

    Serving Size: 1 (139 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 155.8
     
    Calories from Fat 40
    25%
    Total Fat 4.5 g
    6%
    Saturated Fat 2.8 g
    13%
    Cholesterol 14.7 mg
    4%
    Sodium 490.8 mg
    20%
    Total Carbohydrate 22.7 g
    7%
    Dietary Fiber 2.4 g
    9%
    Sugars 4.5 g
    18%
    Protein 6.6 g
    13%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites