38 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

My family liked it! My kids weren't crazy about it though!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
cgreene5 September 12, 2008

Very good. I added water chestnuts and bean sprouts. Otherwise followed recipe as written, and thats hard for me to do but rhis came out great and will be making this again

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
geez70 August 13, 2008

I thought this was great. My kids just so so, or I would have given it five stars. The only thing I changed, was I added dried onions since I was out of the fresh ones.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
choco chip July 13, 2008

Everyone loved this. I never made the hamburger helper kind so I can't compare the two but with this recipe why would I want to. I left out the mushrooms and used bok choy (one of my favorite veggies) and diced carrots. I added them just b4 the water and let the bok choy wilt a little. I also added a bit of ground ginger. I used brown rice to keep this WW Core friendly. The kids loved this with chow mein noodles. I placed soy sauce, hoisin sauce and chinese mustard on the table and let everyone add what they wanted if they wanted. I'll be making this again. Thanks for posting.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Ilysse May 21, 2008

We loved the rice oriental "hamburger helper" we tried this recipe except we add water chesnut's and bean sprouts and instead of adding rice to the soup we make it in a rice cooker and serve it over chow mein noodles. WE LOVE IT!! THANX

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jeremysobercrew January 24, 2008

I love this recipe and I use it all the time. The Hamburger Helper Rice Oriental was discontinued in the stores in my area, but I could still buy it online and Betty Crocker shipped it to me for a whopping $5 per box!! This recipe tastes better and is much less expensive. Thanks for sharing it. I have added sliced water chestnuts and sauteed celery and it was a nice addition. For a homestyle version, I added a can of whole kernel yellow corn. Yum!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Faux Chef Lael October 04, 2007

Thank you so much for sharing -- this was as close as I've ever come to one of my childhood favorites! I used parboiled rice to ensure it would not be sticky (if you're unfamiliar w/it -- you can find it right beside the regular rice) and it turned out perfect!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
leslie8684 August 21, 2007

I loved this one~ Betty Crocker has discontinued that hamburger helper so was looking for something similar to make. I saute onions and celery and add sauteed almonds at the end. Super Good~!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Craftyscrapper2 February 04, 2007

We thought this was yummy! I used about 1 1/4 lbs of ground beef and that just seemed like way too much meat for us. Next time I will probably use just 3/4 lbs and add some more mushrooms and maybe some broccoli. It was very easy to make and tasted great. Thanks for posting.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Go Gators November 20, 2006

This was yummy! I used Tish's gound beef OAMC recipe for the meat, made my own dry onion soup mix and Viola! It was done! Will make again! Great recipe!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Bella Donna September 19, 2005
Stove Top Rice Oriental Ground Beef