Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Stove Top Rice Oriental Ground Beef Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Stove Top Rice Oriental Ground Beef

    Average Rating:

    38 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 38

    Sort by:

    • on May 19, 2009

      I sauteed the rice before adding everything else. I did add about 1/4 a cup more water & it turned out perfectly. For those of you who don't cook rice, make sure you cover it while cooking. VERY easy and nice work night meal.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 03, 2009

      I didn't know that Rice Oriental had been discontinued until I stumbled upon this recipe. How sad! But I'm happy to report that this will do as a substitute! I had to add about 3 cups of water to give the rice ample time to cook. Still had a few crunchy ones, but I'll adjust accordingly next time. I would suggest covering this while cooking. Oh, and NO mushrooms! Thanks!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 17, 2009

      I was sad when GM discontinued this favorite. I made the recipe a bit differet: 2 lbs ground beef, 2 packets onion soup mix, 3 c. water, 3 tb soy sauce, 1.5 c rice, no mushrooms. Turned out wonderfully!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 05, 2014

      Great recipe. Used to use the HH version. I add a can of Asian veggies and garnish with unsalted cashews and pickled ginger.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 25, 2012

      I thought this was actually better than the original. Prepared exactly as written, although to suit our personal tastes I will add quite a bit more garlic in the future. Thank you so much for sharing this!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 28, 2012

      This was my favorit Hamburger Helper. When I lived back east they stoped selling it and My Mom would mail it to me from Texas. I was so sad when I couldn't find it anymore. As someone else said GM would mail it to you for over $5.00 a box. I made this last night and am very happy. I think it is spot on. Thank you so much. I like to add a little sweet corn to it. Even my husband likes this one.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 12, 2010

      The flavors worked really well! I added black pepper as well. Next time, I would add celery or carrots as someone else suggested, just to add to the texture. Thanks for sharing!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 30, 2009

      Dh and I liked this and wouldn't mind making it again. This is a good quick easy one pan meal.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 24, 2009

      Wow! This turned out so good! I followed the instructions, except I used ground turkey. I also didn't use mushrooms. This was very economical and very easy so I will be making this often! Thanks for the great recipe!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 28, 2008

      Love this and so does my family. I use foodtvfan's recipe for onion soup mix http://www.recipezaar.com/110331 and it comes out great. I tried making this with brown rice, but found it took forever for the brown rice to cook (maybe next time I should make the rice ahead of time). Overall, great copycat of a childhood Hamburger Helper favorite. Thank you for posting!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 12, 2008

      My family liked it! My kids weren't crazy about it though!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 13, 2008

      Very good. I added water chestnuts and bean sprouts. Otherwise followed recipe as written, and thats hard for me to do but rhis came out great and will be making this again

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 13, 2008

      I thought this was great. My kids just so so, or I would have given it five stars. The only thing I changed, was I added dried onions since I was out of the fresh ones.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 21, 2008

      Everyone loved this. I never made the hamburger helper kind so I can't compare the two but with this recipe why would I want to. I left out the mushrooms and used bok choy (one of my favorite veggies) and diced carrots. I added them just b4 the water and let the bok choy wilt a little. I also added a bit of ground ginger. I used brown rice to keep this WW Core friendly. The kids loved this with chow mein noodles. I placed soy sauce, hoisin sauce and chinese mustard on the table and let everyone add what they wanted if they wanted. I'll be making this again. Thanks for posting.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 24, 2008

      We loved the rice oriental "hamburger helper" we tried this recipe except we add water chesnut's and bean sprouts and instead of adding rice to the soup we make it in a rice cooker and serve it over chow mein noodles. WE LOVE IT!! THANX

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 04, 2007

      I love this recipe and I use it all the time. The Hamburger Helper Rice Oriental was discontinued in the stores in my area, but I could still buy it online and Betty Crocker shipped it to me for a whopping $5 per box!! This recipe tastes better and is much less expensive. Thanks for sharing it. I have added sliced water chestnuts and sauteed celery and it was a nice addition. For a homestyle version, I added a can of whole kernel yellow corn. Yum!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 21, 2007

      Thank you so much for sharing -- this was as close as I've ever come to one of my childhood favorites! I used parboiled rice to ensure it would not be sticky (if you're unfamiliar w/it -- you can find it right beside the regular rice) and it turned out perfect!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 04, 2007

      I loved this one~ Betty Crocker has discontinued that hamburger helper so was looking for something similar to make. I saute onions and celery and add sauteed almonds at the end. Super Good~!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 20, 2006

      We thought this was yummy! I used about 1 1/4 lbs of ground beef and that just seemed like way too much meat for us. Next time I will probably use just 3/4 lbs and add some more mushrooms and maybe some broccoli. It was very easy to make and tasted great. Thanks for posting.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 19, 2005

      This was yummy! I used Tish's gound beef OAMC recipe for the meat, made my own dry onion soup mix and Viola! It was done! Will make again! Great recipe!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Stove Top Rice Oriental Ground Beef

    Serving Size: 1 (235 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 420.4
     
    Calories from Fat 105
    25%
    Total Fat 11.7 g
    18%
    Saturated Fat 4.6 g
    23%
    Cholesterol 73.7 mg
    24%
    Sodium 1298.5 mg
    54%
    Total Carbohydrate 47.7 g
    15%
    Dietary Fiber 2.7 g
    10%
    Sugars 2.3 g
    9%
    Protein 28.6 g
    57%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes