Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Stove Top Macaroni 'n Cheese Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Stove Top Macaroni 'n Cheese

    Average Rating:

    52 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 52

    Sort by:

    • on June 29, 2002

      To: Dancer Just to let you know, I made your yummy mac 'n cheese dish this evening. Made a dandy side for burgers (an easy Friday night meal). I love mac 'n cheese on the stove, but mine is pretty bland. I like your seasonings better. I think they "wake" the mac up! Thanks for sharing. Laudee C. Colorado

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 12, 2011

      My Husband and I loved this recipe. It was very easy to put together. The flavor was great. And it heats up nicely. Thank you for the recipe.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 29, 2011

      Insanely awesome. I've been looking for a home made, non-bake, non-flour based recipe. I can stop looking. Perfect as written and at the same time a great base to innovate from. Thank you, thank you, THANK YOU!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 28, 2010

      Good, quick and easy. I had to use up 3/4 lb. of hot pepper cheese, used it with 1/4 lb. American cheese. It was GOOD and flavorful! Thanks, HeatherDiane, for posting.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 27, 2010

      We loved this! I'm a huge fan of Kraft Macaroni & Cheese but my husband likes the homemade kind much better - and I liked the fact that it has zero preservatives. Needless to say I didn't think I'd like this as much as I did because I haven't been a fan of homemade mac in the past, but this was delicious! We are lucky to live in the dairy state where good extra sharp Wisconsin cheddar grows on trees. A Very creamy sauce. Thanks!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 30, 2010

      This was very nice and will likely become my mac & cheese fix. Next time I think I'll cut back a bit on the salt since the cheddar cheese contributes a lot of salty flavor. The only thing I did differently was using half and half instead of evaporated milk. I never have evaporated milk on hand. I was leery about putting that much dried mustard in the recipe since, in my experience, a little goes a long way, but I followed the instructions and I'm very glad I did. Thanks for sharing.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 07, 2010

      YUM!!! I made as written - I mean it's Mac n Cheese - you have to throw the low fat concept out of the window for that dish!! I've tried several recipies, and this one is creamy and has a great cheesy flavor. Thanks for sharing!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 16, 2010

      This was amazingly good! We actually made a few key substitutions to suit our families tastes and needs. We used skim evaporated milk, rice pasta, egg substitute, and cut the cheese back by almost half (mozza and cheddar blend). The whole family loved it including my 2 toddler boys! We will definitely be making this regularly!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 11, 2010

      Fast, easy, delicious...great! Following the suggestions made by Sugarpea to lower the fat content worked well for us. I will continue to make this recipe that way since I can't imagine that the flavour would be better with more fat/calories.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 24, 2009

      My kids and I really liked it, and it was easy enough for my 10 year old niece to handle all alone. Thanks for a great quick and easy weeknight recipe.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 22, 2009

      Yum, yum, yum! I haven't even served this yet (I'm snitching from the pan while waiting for the other items to finish, and I think I've already eaten my whole share). Thanks for the super easy recipe! I will be making this again for sure!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 06, 2009

      I saw the same episode, and I use this recipe when I want mac and cheese without a lot of work! My son loves it with hot dogs added in, too :) Very easy and delicious!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 18, 2009

      We loved this! I used 2% milk, left out the hot sauce, and used mozerella. I got to the part where you add the cheeze and realized, no cheddar! It was great even with the mozerella. Cant wait to try it with cheddar.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 17, 2009

      This was really great. However you will think I'm nuts because I baked it after putting it together. I added sliced sharp cheese to the top, put in a casserole pan, baked it for 15min. at 350, then on broil till cheese was golden brown. Wonderful both ways! Thank You for this recipe.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 18, 2009

      I was attracted to this recipe because I don't like baking mac and cheese. I always think baking ruins the creaminess. Anyway made this as stated and was happy with the end results. Thanks for a yummy and quick mac and cheese.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 30, 2008

      Yum! I halved the recipe and measured everything out precisely with my scale. I thought this was very good to be so easy but a couple thoughts... I didn't have hot sauce, so I subbed in a few pinches in chili power. In general, mine turned out a bit grainy, I'm not really sure why. I also might replace some of the cheddar with a few slices of American cheese next time to mellow it out some.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 23, 2008

      LOVED it. After one bite my four year old said "Mama! I want you to make this for lunch EVERY DAY!" Ha! It was delicious and creamy and cheesy and perfect. We used paprika instead of hot sauce as we didn't have any. Turned out perfectly. Thanks a bunch - have made twice already!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 14, 2008

      As if Alton Brown wasn't my hero already! This is my new favorite mac & cheese recipe. Goes together quickly and easily (much faster than my old white sauce-based recipe). I had quite a bit of leftover ham and some green beans that needed to be used, so I threw them in as well. Delicious!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 01, 2008

      This was good. I never would have thought of using eggs- it gave it a nice consistency and richness.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 16, 2008

      This was fairly good but alas, it didn't fill my search for the perfect mac & cheese. DH did not care much for it and we found it to be a little runny. Thanks for a decent recipe...just not the one I am searching for.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Stove Top Macaroni 'n Cheese

    Serving Size: 1 (106 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 462.7
     
    Calories from Fat 249
    53%
    Total Fat 27.7 g
    42%
    Saturated Fat 16.7 g
    83%
    Cholesterol 140.2 mg
    46%
    Sodium 815.5 mg
    33%
    Total Carbohydrate 32.0 g
    10%
    Dietary Fiber 1.2 g
    5%
    Sugars 1.3 g
    5%
    Protein 20.9 g
    41%

    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites