Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Stove Top Macaroni and Tomatoes Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Stove Top Macaroni and Tomatoes

    Average Rating:

    16 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-16 of 16

    Sort by:

    • on August 24, 2010

      I grew up eating this. Forget about chicken soup when I'm under the weather. Just give me some macaroni & tomatoes! I do make mine a little different, but basically, it's the same. After I cook the macaroni, I cut two strips of bacon into small pieces and add them to the pan I cooked the macaroni in. Cook the bacon until it's crisp & browned. Remove bacon from grease. Add about 1/4 cup finely diced onion to the bacon grease & saute until it's translucent. Add canned diced tomatoes and heat thoroughly. Add back the bacon bits and macaroni and season with salt & pepper. Yummy!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 30, 2010

      Grew up on this stuff and still love it!!! Southern comfort at its best!! I crave this and it is sooo simple to make.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 12, 2008

      It's childhood comfort food. It's *supposed* to be bland!!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 29, 2008

      I was expecting more given the high ratings, but we thought this was bland. I fried some onions and garlic to add to this and it still did not add much. Too bad, it looked so simple and cheap to make.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 23, 2008

      Comfort food, pure and simple. We had this a lot growing up as a side dish. Leftovers were MINE for lunch the next day, eaten on the back porch while my mother hung laundry or worked in the flower beds. Great, simple recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 22, 2008

      Like the others I thought my mom invented it! haha It really is so good.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 16, 2008

      Quick, easy, cheap and yummy...just about says it all! I have sometimes added a can of tomato sauce as well. I just sometimes get a craving for this. I have even added seasonings to it as well, but normally just some salt and pepper do the trick. :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 13, 2006

      I had to laugh when I saw this recipe! I thought my Granny invented it!! We ate this stuff all the time! Just macaroni and canned tomatoes with salt and pepper. It's comfort food to me. It reminds me of another recipe my Granny "invented." Macaroni and canned beef stew. Mmmm, good times!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 11, 2006

      I grew up eating this at least 3 times a month. Hubby and I still eat this for lunch every so often and I still love it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 29, 2006

      This brings back lots of memorys! Very economical..memories of those penny pinching days..they were made easier with comfort food like this and a fresh homemade loaf of crusty bread with rich butter.....yum!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 27, 2006

      I also grew up eating this,but we added about 1Tbs.sugar(it cuts acid)and sometimes a pinch or two of chili pwd.We always had home canned tomatoes,which were so good.It tastes best when it is juicy and not dry.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 27, 2006

      This is comfort food at it's finest. Had a friend who claimed this was her favorite post-hangover food. Wouldn't know about that. However, I like to make this with a little onion sauteed in butter, added to everything else and either grated cheddar cheese or about a cup of cubed velveeta.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 27, 2006

    • on January 27, 2006

      We make it like this sometimes. But for some added flavor I also like to stir in a can of tomatoe soup, undiluted. It really adds to the flavor.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 27, 2006

      This is very tasy, we love it I have made it for years, My Mom use to make it. It is very good with a little cheese added to the recipe.Thanks for posting as I am sure others will enjoy this recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 27, 2006

      I have been fixing this for years. It is very tasty and easy to prepare. I sometime have a bowl with a little sugar sprinkled on top.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Stove Top Macaroni and Tomatoes

    Serving Size: 1 (188 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 219.2
     
    Calories from Fat 9
    35%
    Total Fat 1.0 g
    1%
    Saturated Fat 0.2 g
    1%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 9.4 mg
    0%
    Total Carbohydrate 44.5 g
    14%
    Dietary Fiber 3.3 g
    13%
    Sugars 4.5 g
    18%
    Protein 8.0 g
    16%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites