14 Reviews

This was probably as good as any potato dish I've eaten. I used six medium/small red potatoes, cutting them into fours, and everything else as listed. Mine didn't crisp up so possibly I had the heat a little too low but they were delicious, regardless. I cooked them for fifteen minutes by which time they were quite tender, then added the basil, shallots & garlic before cooking for another ten to fifteen minutes or so. I tried upping the heat so they'd crisp but they stuck to the pan, so next time I'll start with slightly higher heat and see how that goes. Thanks for a great, easy recipe I look forward to making quite often!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Soobeeoz September 25, 2006

Yum, Yum. Great tasting potatoes. My garlic and shallots got very toasted, still tasted great, but next time I will only saute for a short time

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
J Bowen June 09, 2006

Delish! Subbed green onions for the shallots as another reviewer did and it was perfect!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Shabby Sign Shoppe March 30, 2012

These were great. I messed them up, using yellow potatoes and cutting down for two. But will def. make again. Thank you!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef Pollo May 28, 2011

These were very good.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
RachelB-KY April 19, 2010

These were, without a doubt, the BEST potatoes I have EVER had in my ENTIRE LIFE. I credit splurging on actual shallots which I had never bothered with before. 5 stars weren't enough.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
rahrahmah January 03, 2009

Very nice addition to our dinner along with steak. Great mix of flavors from this blend of ingredients!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ImAGourmetChef September 19, 2008

These were very tasty and easy. I added a few pieces of fresh rosemary because we love potatoes and rosemary. Thanks for posting!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Tamaretta August 09, 2008

These were wonderful. I had no shallots on hand, so I substituted green onion. Worked just fine. I also used dried basil but only about a teaspoon and quartered my potatoes. I stirred them every few minutes to be sure they didn't get too hot or too dark on one side. My DH raved about them. I will be making this simple yet heavenly side dish regularly. Thanks for another fabulous recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mrs.Chance March 27, 2008
Stove Top Baby Red Potatoes With Basil, Shallots and Garlic