43 Reviews

Very good. I actually tried it before adding the garlic, with just the lemon juice, olive oil and salt, and I think it might be even better without the garlic. Next time I'll make a better taste test. And, oh, yeah, I disobeyed and used extra virgin olive oil. YUM! But I love the taste of EVOO. Served over shredded cabbage stir-fried in EVOO for a great low carb meal.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Goody2shz June 04, 2010

I wanted a way to prepare chicken liver that didn't involve sauce or breading or flouring or deep frying. This recipe got five stars from my whole family, melt in your mouth soft and great flavor. It's a keeper!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
marielisewrites_11382095 April 05, 2010

These were so good thanks

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef Stiles February 19, 2010

These are EXCELLENT! I don't know how it works with all that garlic, but it does. Somehow the garlic and lemon juice balance each other. I would give this a 10 star rating if I could. Thanks for sharing this "stolen" recipe.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
orca4801 February 09, 2010

Stunningly fab. Tasty, delicate and simple. Wonderful texture. Thanks for sharing it.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Saratoga Cook November 14, 2009

Phenomenal. I just couldn't imagine how these flavors could go together, but this is the best recipe for chicken livers I have ever tried. My husband was suspicious- he prefers his chicken livers fried, and said this couldn't possibly be that good- well, even he admits it is. The addition of raw garlic was inspired. It sounds awful and I almost didn't add it. I only had 3 cloves (I was doubling the recipe) and thought that would be plenty, but I was wishing for a little more before I was done.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ugeauxgirl June 11, 2013

Just OK. Not that much flavor.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
stolisprit August 24, 2012

I love both livers and garlic, but I thought this recipe was just okay. Nothing special. I won't make again.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Purduewriter August 13, 2012

I thoroughly enjoyed making chicken livers inspired by this dry frying recipe and adding garlic at the end. (I also added thyme and other herbs and secret ingredients:) oh yum it was so delicious!!) Good that you admit it was a stolen recipe...but you really should give full credit where it is due and write a letter to these people or phone them, someone in your area must know where they are and put their names on the recipe, it is only reasonable and fair. Retired but wouldn't it be nice if everyone knew who invented the original recipe.

I must say I didn't enjoy cooking as much as I usually do thinking the inspiration was stolen and feeling bad that 2 people who may of lead a simple and hard working life have not had the credit due. They deserve it.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
J12777 April 03, 2012

I never would have made this without all the great reviews so I thought I'd throw my $.02 in also. This is a great simple recipe that really lets the ingredients shine. Like many others I wondered how the raw garlic would be, but my wife and I couldn't get enough. This will certainly become one of my "go-tos" for making liver.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
AndrewMichaelZ March 30, 2011
Stolen Garlic Chicken Livers