9 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I varied on this. I used sole instead of halibut and omitted the cajun seasoning and used flour instead. I then stir fried in a regular nonstick pan with a few tablespoons of olive oil. Another suggestion is to serve with lime and cilantro which I also did. I'm sure that made to the specifications of the recipe it's very good as well. I picked this recipe because I was looking for a Baja Sauce recipe that my husband, who has spent extensive time in Mexico, requested. He said the sauce and the way I made this recipe was the most authentic fish taco he'd had in the United States. Very, very easy recipe to make and really good!

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
That girl Mel June 19, 2003

Fun to try, but we thought the fish was kind of bland, and there was waaaay too much vinegar in the dressing for 3 cups of cabbage. I had to throw the first batch down the sink, then remade it with 1/4 c. sour cream and 1 tablespoon of vinegar. Had high hopes for this with all the rave reviews but we were slightly disappointed. But, like I said, fun to try!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
vrvrvr August 02, 2013

I really liked that the fish is not fried and that it is cooked on the grill. There were a couple of adjustments based on personal preference and ingredients on hand. The cabbage was all green cabbage, used Greek yogurt in place of sour cream and white corn tortillas. The tortillas were wrapped and foil and warmed on the grill while the fish cooked. These were topped off with Simple Avocado-Mango Salsa. Made for When It's Hot/When It's Not in the *Diabetic Forum*

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
PaulaG July 03, 2010

Another way to eat fish! Tasted awesome.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
deathfuntaxes June 29, 2010

I kind of combined this recipe with one I found on another site. I used salmon. Instead of cajun seasoning, I used a smoked chili powder and a pinch of cayenne pepper. I really think 3 tsp would suffice. I cheated and used coleslaw in a bag. I used the cider vinegar, but not the sour cream. I also didn't have any green onions, so I used red onions. The other recipe I saw called for fresh cilantro, so I added that also. I was short on fish, but they still were excellent!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
enestvmel July 03, 2009

Very Good! I'm a huge fan of fish tacos and these were tasty. I did substitute fresh corn tortillas instead of flour because they have so much more flavor and added a cilantro sour cream sauce instead of tartar. Will make these again for sure!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jill4man May 24, 2004

I'd always heard of fish tacos but didn't think I'd like them until I went to a restaurant and tried them. I came here to look for a similar recipe and this one seemed like a great possibility. And believe me, it's even better than the restaurant ones! Something about the combination of fish and "coleslaw" just works!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
nvermd May 23, 2004

I had fish tacos when I was in California but the fish was battered. I liked these even better with the spicy cajun seasoning. Very delicious cabbage and sauce. I used halibut, too. Way easy to make and the flavor from charcoal grilling is excellent. Thank-you for the recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lark woods September 20, 2003

We used the halibut that the recipe called for and thought they were great. Next time we will try the suggestion of omitting the cajun seasoning and usind flour instead. The sour cream and cidar vinegar dressing on the cabbage was fantastic!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Big E Anderson September 07, 2003
Stir-Grilled Fish Tacos