38 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

This was great - I used purple bell peppers and baby bella mushrooms. I omitted the olive oil and just sprayed my pan with cooking spray to save a few calories! My only trouble was that I didn't make enough.... I should have doubled it to feed the three of us; it just wasn't quite enough. I loved the very simple sauce; I used hot sesame oil adding it at the very end as directed and then served over soba noodles. I think it would be great with white rice too! Made for PRMR tag.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Brooke the Cook in WI August 13, 2008

Great taste and colourfu!. I love mushrooms and peppers. I didn't have any rice wine and used white wine instead.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Dreamer in Ontario March 16, 2008

Fast and easy with ingredients I love. Served alongside some grilled sausages. Made for Aus/NZ swap July 2009.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jen T July 24, 2009

Really enjoyed this thank you. It was quick and simple to make and lovely served alongside some bbq'ed prawns.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jewelies July 13, 2009

Loved this simple to do side. I don't usually eat mushrooms but ate all mine up in this. I used Sake in place of rice wine and kecap manis as I was out of soy, mine was probably a little sweeter due to the ingredient substitutions but worked well with this dish served alongside some chicken skewers & rice. Thanks Pneuma!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
**Mandy** May 30, 2009

Very nice, tasty and quick to make. I served it as a main on sticky rice for 2 and there was just a small amount left over. If using as a main , next time I would add a handful of roasted cashew nuts when serving and garnish with a little chopped corriander. Unfortunately I had neither on hand when I made this dish. Made for Aussie / Kiwi Recipe Swap May 09. Thank you Pneuma for posting.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kiwi Kathy May 15, 2009

Easy, quick, appetizing, and delicious! We served this as a bright-colored side to sticky chicken over rice, spooning on the extra liquid to flavor the rice. In this way we served it to seven, but any one of us could have finished it off alone. Made for OZ/NZ swap, April 09.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lavender Lynn April 25, 2009

Fabulous! Love peppers and mushrooms and loved them together in this stir-fry. I used one red, one yellow and one green pepper which meant I had to increase the mushrooms and garlic. NOT a problem! Before I made this, as I didn't have any Chinese rice wine, I read through all the reviews and found that Dreamer in Ontario had successfully used white wine, so that's what I did too! We greatly enjoyed this with a simple rice dish, and it's certainly a recipe which I'll make again - often. Thank you for sharing it Pneuma.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
bluemoon downunder November 16, 2008

Very nice easy recipe to throw together and add to any "Asian" style dish. I put this over rice and had it with Asian Grilled Chicken. I could see this working well with regular onions also. Thanks for the tasty recipe!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Bittersweetened September 12, 2008

Made for Zingo ZWT4 for the chic chefs. I found the soy sauce a bit overpowering. I would try again but cut back on the soy. Thanks for posting the recipe.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
bigbadbrenda July 02, 2008
Stir-Fry Mushrooms and Bell Peppers