8 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I and the family really liked this one... well done!

6 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MaraJade May 27, 2002

This was wonderful-so simple to make! My daughter, who usually dislikes chinese, devoured this tasty beef.

6 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Connie2 January 22, 2002

Bergy Bergy Bergy, this is the perfect dish...easy fast and delicious! I used rump steak and added the garlic...on the plates in 15 minutes..love it!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Evie* January 07, 2004

Following Bergy's suggestion for using both garlic and sherry, I served this with a small bowl of rice and Geema's ASPARAGUS AND CASHEW STIR FRY (#63469). I shall be doing this recipe often. (I shall be doing BOTH recipes often!)

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Gerry sans Sanddunes June 08, 2003

This didn't work very well for us. I used about 1.5 lb beef and the rest of the ingredients & instructions as written. The beef was swimming in oil and had to be drained and the taste seemed fairly bland. DH did like it.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Ducky January 11, 2004

I make a very similar recipe, omit the extra salt and use sesame oil and garlic. I marinate the beef in the other ingredients for an hour or two and then stir fry. It is also a good way to cook game, masks the wild taste.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MBMommy May 16, 2009

I don't know where the other reviewer's taste buds were, but I made the recipe exactly as written and my reaction is TOO MUCH SALT!!! YUK!!! With the 2.5 tablespoons of soy called for in the cooking sauce, there is no need to add the one teaspoon of salt called for at the beginning of the recipe......

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
goodman February 26, 2006

Very good! I added a few drops of sesame oil to the veg oil in the pan, a few cloves of minced garlic and a half a sliced sweet onion, and some szechuan seasoning toward the end of cooking to spice it up. I didn't have any sherry so used apple juice but would like to try it again soon with sherry. I wasn't sure how much "12 slices" of ginger was, so I eyeballed it. Served over rice; yum! I will definitely be making this fast easy and delicious dish again!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Zewbiedoo August 21, 2005
Stir Fried Beef With Ginger