80 Reviews

This was a delicious light supper! I left out the onions and the pepper as DH was out of town and he is the onion and pepper guy. I added a few grape tomatoes cut in half for a little color and there you have it!! A beautiful salad fit for a queen! Thank you for a new summertime favorite, Dee!

26 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Bev August 02, 2002

Made this salad with rotini pasta, and green onions instead of vidalia. Fantastic,quick,easy and wonderful to have on a hot day.I served it with an assortment of cold meats, bread, lettuce and tomatoes.

20 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Nat Da Brat September 10, 2002

This is a good dinner for a hot summer day! The only thing I did differently was to add half a tablespoon of Old Bay Seasoning to the mayonnaise to spice it up a little, and I used radiatori pasta for a little extra texture. It was excellent. Thanks for this recipe, dee, it's a keeper! :o)

20 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Terri F. June 21, 2002

Dee I must tell you I usually just make my tuna pasta as I go along..add a little of this and that. But, I thought I would try your recipe since it sounded so good. And I was definitely correct. It was excellent. The only thing I changed was the peppers, I didn't add them because I didn't have any. I just got done having a bowl of this for breakfast :-) Thanks Dee, I will be following your recipe from now on.

16 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Dana-MMH June 30, 2002

This salad is YUMMY, YUMMY!! I made it the night before, and took it to work with me the next day. Had to laugh at my co-workers faces when I opened the container and they caught a whiff!! (You know how tuna is). But, this is really an awesome one dish, light and tasty salad for lunch, and would also be great as a side-dish salad. I loved it! Thanks:) ~Manda

15 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Manda July 14, 2002

This salad is great for a hot summer day and will definitely make it again. I doubled the recipe so we will have leftovers for lunches and I also added leftover taco cheese and sliced tomatoes. We also had jello w/ strawberries for desert for a perfect summer meal.

15 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ellie_ July 09, 2002

Yum! I added 1 cup of frozen peas to the pasta during its last 2 minutes of cooking time, ommitted the peppers, and then I used Miracle Whip instead of Mayo, but it was delicious...Great recipe!!

12 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Diana Shrome November 02, 2002

I gave this 5 stars. I love this recipe! My gram taught me how to make it. The copy I got from her is slightly different. There is no green pepper or celery listed (I have had it with celery in it before). It calls for 1/2 box Ring pasta (P&G or Ronzoni, Salad Supreme (Opt, we always add this to the salad and on top), celery salt (Opt), and green olives (Opt). My gram would sometimes use part salad dressing & a little sugar. The rest of the recipe is the same as posted. To bump up the protein in this salad I've used a 12oz can of tuna and 4 hard-boiled eggs and the flavor was not changed what so ever. Thanks for posting a great recipe! Christine (internetnut)

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
internetnut August 09, 2009

Dee, thanks for some ideas to change my traditional Tuna Salad. Never put hard-boiled egg in it before, nice touch! Thanks for sharing. Tweeky, a.k.a. Judi

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Judith N. June 03, 2003

This is definitely a modern version of tuna salad. The crunchy vegetables are key. Served on a leaf of Boston or bibb lettuce, this is a perfect too-hot-to-cook dinner. A couple of changes I made, as did some other reviewers: omitted the onions (personal preference), added peas and corn instead of carrots (didn't have any), 1 tbsp fresh dill, 3/4 cup of mayonnaise and 2 tsp of Old Bay seasoning, although I suspect seasoned salt could have been used. Will definitely make again. Thanks for posting!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
SGpratt July 24, 2011
Still Another Tuna/Pasta Salad.......(Mom's Tuna Salad)