Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Sticky Rice (Glutinous Rice / Kow Neyo) Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Sticky Rice (Glutinous Rice / Kow Neyo)

    Average Rating:

    17 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-17 of 17

    Sort by:

    • on October 26, 2009

      Interesting method (new to me) - I had to Americanize it quite a bit since my kitchen lacks the proper equipment for true Thai sticky rice. I did the quick soak method (abiding by another viewers suggestion to remove the boiling water from the stove). Afterwards, I placed it on some cheese cloth and then carefully transferred it to a broccoli steamer (you know, the metal ones that fold up or out). The broccoli steamer was put inside a large pan on the stove - and the rest of the directions were followed to the -t-! The end result was Thai Mango with Sticky Rice (Mamuang Kao Nieo). Yum!!!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 25, 2003

      I tried to make this reipe using "Sushi Rice" (I thought that it was a Glutinous Rice, not so) I followed the instructions to a T. The rice was not cooked after 1 1/2 hours of steaming it was still hard & dry. I am adding these comments to caution others to make sure you are using the rigt riceGlutinous Rice which is what the recipe calls for.. Kim in no way am I slamming your recipe I am just pointing out my mistake. I will make this again with the correct rice and will then add stars and change the review

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 04, 2010

      Thanks for the tip of using boiling water to speed up the process... I decided last minute to make a sticky rice dessert using a combination of both black and white glutinous rice (gao nep than & gao nep thuong hang) which gives you a purple rice to serve the mango and strawberries over and moreover gives a great colorful presentation! Thanks, it'd been a while since I'd cooked sticky rice, your directions for this and the dessert (Thai Mango with Sticky Rice (Mamuang Kao Nieo) #15584) were spot on. I used splenda for the sweetener to cut down on the sugars a little. 

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 22, 2008

      I use a bamboo basket over a narrow mouthed pan and turn the rice halfway through. In Asian markets you can find this rice, it is sometimes called Sweet Rice and is very short grained. When my daughter was a toddler she would wander around the house will a ball of sticky rice as a snack.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 18, 2008

      This was very easy and tasty. I followed the advice of chef #189563 and it turned out perfect!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 02, 2008

      This is exactly how my mother makes sticky rice. For a variation, once the rice is cooked, she slowly pours about 1/2 Cup of coconut milk over the rice right in the steamer and gently fluff the rice. I've always wondered how the coconut milk does not drip through into the water, but she insists that it all gets absorbed into the rice.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 01, 2007

    • on February 22, 2007

    • on February 18, 2007

      Terrific recipe! Really easy to make and I'm looking forward to impressing more of my friends and colleagues. Thanks for posting. It's a definite keeper.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 24, 2007

    • on January 28, 2006

      This is an excellent recipe. The first time I did this I used the shortcut and it turned out the wrong texture (too soft). From then on I soaked overnight and the texture is perfect. Tonight I am trying Chef #189563's suggestion for soaking in warm water for 1/2 hour.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 16, 2005

      I bought the wrong kind a rice, and recommend going to an Asian store. I followed the soaking advice from others which was helpful. I got a steam burn and the pan w/ boiling water got seared burnt, because I didn't watch the water well enough. This was my first steam burn, and I have ice on it (over an hour later) ouch! Use a rice cooker or something and be sure not to get a steam burn when checking its doneness. Thanks for this recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 23, 2005

    • on January 22, 2005

      I make it every week, and I live in Thailand. You must presoak this rice... 30 minutes, I say, in warm water. 6-8 hours in cold. (My preferred way) I use a bamboo steamer, rice wrapped in Muslim, maybe 1-2 inches thick. 15 minutes, then turn, and give it 15 more minutes. Remove from steamer and partly unwrap to stop the cooking. If your rice is really sticky, like pieces break off, and it feels 'pastey', it's been overcooked. Properly cooked sticky rice actually has a bit of a dry feel on the outside, while still being rolled oe squeezed in a ball easily. It should also break off into whole chunks easily, not like taffy :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 07, 2004

      Thank you for this recipe. I was aslo confused about the quick step, I boiled it while stiring. It turned out good any ways. I will try soaking is for 15min in water that has come to a boil.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 15, 2004

      Followed the recipe, but I discovered that the shortcut in step one means that you have to bring the water to a boil, remove from heat, then soak the rice. If you boil it for 15 minutes it doesn't come out right. (My first try.)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 12, 2004

      OK, well, I didn't use this recipe b/c I already know how to make sticky rice...If you like rice and like a chewy texture.....TRY this. When I had it the first time, I hadn't a clue HOW they (*a Thai restuarant in NYC) ever got the rice to stick together. I did a major internet search and found glutinous rice. Needless to say, basically any local oriental/ethnic market has it. It is VERY different and VERY good.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Sticky Rice (Glutinous Rice / Kow Neyo)

    Serving Size: 1 (69 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 256.6
     
    Calories from Fat 3
    33%
    Total Fat 0.3 g
    0%
    Saturated Fat 0.0 g
    0%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 4.8 mg
    0%
    Total Carbohydrate 56.6 g
    18%
    Dietary Fiber 1.9 g
    7%
    Sugars 0.0 g
    0%
    Protein 4.7 g
    9%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes