8 Reviews

Easy to make! Taste great and even turn out brilliantly when made gluten free!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
hkulaga July 06, 2009

Oh so yummy!!! I made these for a recipe swap, using gluten free flour mix and they were sooo delicious I had to try and make some low carb so my diabetic husband could try them,,,so I used canderel instead of sugar and omitted the sauce,,, and he agreed they were sweet, moist and so tasty.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
WicklewoodWench August 17, 2011

These muffins were delicious! My bag of dates (8 oz.) were slightly less than the amount called for, but they were enough to make the muffins. I made the sauce, but we found it was a bit too sweet (even for my husband's heavy sweet tooth) and overwhelmed the flavor of the muffins. Next time, and there will definitely be a next time, I'll use the cream cheese like the other reviewer (Nat K). A cream cheese spread would be a delicious touch, too.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Librarybaker January 24, 2010

I made a double batch of these, foolishly thinking that I'd have some left over even after including them on my muffin-&-cupcake tray (as lures) during a park-wide garage sale! Sadly for my other half & I, these were the first to go (we only had 2 each for ourselves!) ~ Great tasting, especially with the sauce, & I would change a thing with this great keeper of a recipe ~ Love those dates! [Tagged, made & reviewed for one of my swapmates in the AUs/NZ Recipe Swap #33]

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sydney Mike October 25, 2009

Yum yum yum. These turned out great and so easy to make. I used about 200g of dates instead of 240g as I got tired of chopping them! I didn't make the toffee sauce but instead made a cream cheese frosting with golden syrup topped with a walnut which I think tasted great. I will definitely be making these again. Thanks for sharing.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Nat K October 04, 2009

These muffins are spectacular. They were made in the morning and taken to share with work mates. Everyone's greedy side came out as they tried to stake their claim to a second muffin. Thanks mumma!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Leggy Peggy May 02, 2008

YUM! Long ago when I asked mumma about this recipe, she said, just remember "Ladies don't beat", so I took that advise and the results were excellent. The directions are easy and simple to follow, the flavour is very yummy. I made this for our guests today and they all enjoyed them. I had some left over so I froze them without the sauce for Little Miss (DD) who is a sweet tooth and really enjoyed muffins. She has already nominated the days she will be eating them. Thank you again Mummamills.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef floWer March 02, 2008

I was hesitant about trying this one mummamills, I love my sticky date pudding and this recipe was different to the usual recipe I use, but hey, gotta give these things a go.....right!! I am SO GLAD I did, they are so much easier to make and the taste ............GREAT FANTASTIC AND DELICIOUS!!!! I made mine in friand pans and followed everything exactly, and they turned out fantastic. And the sauce was soooo yummy also. They didnt last long in this house. This is takes over my recipe for Sticky date pudding. Thanks mummamills, WILL BE making these again!!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Tisme June 10, 2007
Sticky Date Muffins With Toffee Sauce