34 Reviews

A Firehouse Favorite!.. Extra glaze is always appreciated. I double or sometimes triple this recipe. Dont forget the green onions.. Makes the presentation and flavor that much better. I use light coconut milk and dont use as much for lower fat meal. I also like to use the combo breast/thigh pack if the store has it. Make sure to spray the grill and use a very HOT grill too. Dont turn the chicken too early or it sticks(even with pam spray)

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MVFDFiremedic February 21, 2011

Excellent flavor. Want to point out that I used chicken breasts, as called for in the ingredients; however, chicken THIGHS are in the directions for grilling. I usually make rice in a rice cooker, so I was pleasantly surprised when it turned out so well on the stove top. The simmer time was a bit shorter, closer to 12 minutes. Will make again. Thank you.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Patrick Bannasch November 04, 2010

Excellent! Admittedly I used about half of the chicken and kept everything else the same, which results in a much better chicken to rice ratio, but other than that I followed the recipe far closer than I usually do and it turned out brilliantly. The one thing that I would say is, if your rice is still slightly undercooked after 20 min, put a little bit of extra coconut milk in (or water) and put the top on for 5 min and it will usually soften right up. It will definitely migrate into my personal cookbook.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Southern~Belle May 13, 2010

I thought this was awesome! I was a little skeptical because of the other reviews, so I scaled it down to one serving. I usually fail at cooking rice, but this came out wonderfully fluffy and flavorful. (I definitely wish I made more of it!) The chicken had a mild flavor and the glaze really made it stand out. I omitted the sugar and added a little cornstarch to thicken it. I don't have a grill, so I decided to cook the chicken in a pan over medium-high. I was able to get some nice crusting on the chicken because of this. I plan on making this for my boyfriend and I for Valentine's day I thought it was that special. Thanks!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Barbell Bunny February 06, 2010

Oh my! I cannot thank you enough for this recipe! I was impressed by all of it, but the glaze is what has me the most excited! I made mine with splenda and apple cider vinegar, and it was so amazing. The best part is that it can be used on so many different things. I am truely impressed and plan on using it on all kinds of dishes! As for the recipe as a whole, it was wonderful. I think next time, to cut back on fat, I will make the rice (always brown rice in my house) will water and garlic, and then add just a bit (maybe 2 TBS) of coconut milk rather than the 3/4 c that is called for. Also, I used chicken breast, but will use thighs next time for sure for a more moist texture. Thanks again for this phenominal recipe!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
HealthNutSarah July 15, 2009

Awesome recipe that I will be definitely making again. Chicken, glaze and rice was fabulous. I made a few changes as I didn't use the green onions and cut back on the crushed red peppers on the glaze. I also used apple cider vinegar with a little water instead of the rice vinegar in the glaze. The rice I used regular dried basil and only used 1 teaspoon. Also as another reader had posted when cooking rice as soon as I added rice to boiling mixture I covered and simmered for 20 minutes on low heat. Spice factor was perfect for my family with less crushed red pepper flakes. Thank you for the recipe. Looking forward to using the glaze on my grilled salmon. Yum!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Cooking Mama 3 February 01, 2013

Wow! I mean wow! The complexity of favors in this dish are amazing. Like other reviewers, I changed nothing. The only thing I might recommend is good ventilation during the reduction of the glaze. It is quite the smell... But the taste of the final dish more than makes up for it. Enjoy!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Melindacogs January 14, 2013

This recipe is beyond AMAZING!!! I love serving this dish when entertaining friends and fam.
I always double the glaze recipe love that stuff put it on everything!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
carrerafam November 09, 2012

DH and I absolutely LOVED this recipe. I had regular basil on hand, so I didn't splurge for Thai basil in the rice-- I also added shredded coconut to the rice (we looooove coconut). My husband has requested this 3 times since I first made it a month ago. We're going to the beach next week with a group of families-- we each are taking a night to cook. I am going to make this delicious chicken again. I'm sure it will be gobbled up. Thanks for the wonderful recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
gpass April 24, 2012

This was so good and different! I used 2 large breasts and cut them all in half lengthwise but kept recipe the same. I also marinated them for 24 hours and all of the marination stuck to the chicken so I didn't need to baste. I used regular full fat coconut milk and cooked the rice in the microwave per the long grain white rice directions, adding the garlic, salt, milk, and water, then added the basil and pineapple after cooked. This turned out so delicious! Will be making again for sure!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
sweetcakes April 02, 2011
Sticky Coconut Chicken With Chili Glaze and Coconut Rice