Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Sticky Coconut Chicken With Chili Glaze and Coconut Rice Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Sticky Coconut Chicken With Chili Glaze and Coconut Rice

    Average Rating:

    34 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 34

    Sort by:

    • on February 21, 2011

      A Firehouse Favorite!.. Extra glaze is always appreciated. I double or sometimes triple this recipe. Dont forget the green onions.. Makes the presentation and flavor that much better. I use light coconut milk and dont use as much for lower fat meal. I also like to use the combo breast/thigh pack if the store has it. Make sure to spray the grill and use a very HOT grill too. Dont turn the chicken too early or it sticks(even with pam spray)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 04, 2010

      Excellent flavor. Want to point out that I used chicken breasts, as called for in the ingredients; however, chicken THIGHS are in the directions for grilling. I usually make rice in a rice cooker, so I was pleasantly surprised when it turned out so well on the stove top. The simmer time was a bit shorter, closer to 12 minutes. Will make again. Thank you.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 13, 2010

      Excellent! Admittedly I used about half of the chicken and kept everything else the same, which results in a much better chicken to rice ratio, but other than that I followed the recipe far closer than I usually do and it turned out brilliantly. The one thing that I would say is, if your rice is still slightly undercooked after 20 min, put a little bit of extra coconut milk in (or water) and put the top on for 5 min and it will usually soften right up. It will definitely migrate into my personal cookbook.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 06, 2010

      I thought this was awesome! I was a little skeptical because of the other reviews, so I scaled it down to one serving. I usually fail at cooking rice, but this came out wonderfully fluffy and flavorful. (I definitely wish I made more of it!) The chicken had a mild flavor and the glaze really made it stand out. I omitted the sugar and added a little cornstarch to thicken it. I don't have a grill, so I decided to cook the chicken in a pan over medium-high. I was able to get some nice crusting on the chicken because of this. I plan on making this for my boyfriend and I for Valentine's day I thought it was that special. Thanks!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 15, 2009

      Oh my! I cannot thank you enough for this recipe! I was impressed by all of it, but the glaze is what has me the most excited! I made mine with splenda and apple cider vinegar, and it was so amazing. The best part is that it can be used on so many different things. I am truely impressed and plan on using it on all kinds of dishes! As for the recipe as a whole, it was wonderful. I think next time, to cut back on fat, I will make the rice (always brown rice in my house) will water and garlic, and then add just a bit (maybe 2 TBS) of coconut milk rather than the 3/4 c that is called for. Also, I used chicken breast, but will use thighs next time for sure for a more moist texture. Thanks again for this phenominal recipe!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 01, 2013

      Awesome recipe that I will be definitely making again. Chicken, glaze and rice was fabulous. I made a few changes as I didn't use the green onions and cut back on the crushed red peppers on the glaze. I also used apple cider vinegar with a little water instead of the rice vinegar in the glaze. The rice I used regular dried basil and only used 1 teaspoon. Also as another reader had posted when cooking rice as soon as I added rice to boiling mixture I covered and simmered for 20 minutes on low heat. Spice factor was perfect for my family with less crushed red pepper flakes. Thank you for the recipe. Looking forward to using the glaze on my grilled salmon. Yum!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 14, 2013

      Wow! I mean wow! The complexity of favors in this dish are amazing. Like other reviewers, I changed nothing. The only thing I might recommend is good ventilation during the reduction of the glaze. It is quite the smell... But the taste of the final dish more than makes up for it. Enjoy!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 09, 2012

      This recipe is beyond AMAZING!!! I love serving this dish when entertaining friends and fam.
      I always double the glaze recipe love that stuff put it on everything!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 24, 2012

      DH and I absolutely LOVED this recipe. I had regular basil on hand, so I didn't splurge for Thai basil in the rice-- I also added shredded coconut to the rice (we looooove coconut). My husband has requested this 3 times since I first made it a month ago. We're going to the beach next week with a group of families-- we each are taking a night to cook. I am going to make this delicious chicken again. I'm sure it will be gobbled up. Thanks for the wonderful recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 02, 2011

      This was so good and different! I used 2 large breasts and cut them all in half lengthwise but kept recipe the same. I also marinated them for 24 hours and all of the marination stuck to the chicken so I didn't need to baste. I used regular full fat coconut milk and cooked the rice in the microwave per the long grain white rice directions, adding the garlic, salt, milk, and water, then added the basil and pineapple after cooked. This turned out so delicious! Will be making again for sure!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 11, 2010

      Was very delicious, my kids loved it and the only comment I can say is that the rice didn't need the full 20 minutes, and secondly need to be carefull not to overgrill the chicken (I did it in the turbogrill in my oven,hmm I guess I shouldn't have used the turbo feature, that dries things out!) was very good with noodles too.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 14, 2010

      We have made this several times without any issues like other might have had. It was delicious and we make it often. The rice is very versitle and can be used in many other recipes. Thanks for a keeper!! This is such a favorite in our house! :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 11, 2010

      excellent will share with everyone

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 14, 2010

      I substituted whole red snapper on the grill (no marinade just some olive oil) for the chicken. The glaze poured over the fish and rice was very, very good. It was very similar to the sauce served in our local Thai place with the deep fried fish. Also I did not have basmati rice so used regular long grain but had to cover after the initial 20 minutes of cooking and continue to steam out the liquids for another 10 minutes. DH and my 2 boys really enjoyed it. I've never cooked rice without a cover but then again I've never used basmati. Thanks for sharing the recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 06, 2010

      Very good!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 08, 2009

      Good receipe. The chicken was great, but i didn't care for the rice. Also, since it isn't 'grill season here, i pan 'fried' the chicken with 1 T oil. Once the chicken was almost done, i added the 'glaze' to finish cooking it down. Will make again, but with a different coconut rice (sorry). Thanks for posting

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 01, 2009

      Hmmm... The chicken was wonderful! Next time I think I will cut it into strips prior to cooking, just so the flavor cooks better throughout. The glaze was a complete disaster, despite following the directions to a -t- (or so I at least thought). For whatever reason the glaze was rock hard and inedible :( I also have experienced better versions of coconut sticky rice. But I still give it 3 stars because the chicken, glaze, and rice all had a great flavor :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 12, 2009

      Wow this was fabulous! Would be a great dish for guests. I served it with garlic roasted green beans. Delicious!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 11, 2009

      I didn't have any chili flakes, so I only added ~1/8t cayenne pepper in the marinade. I baked chicken breasts and I mistakenly added the scallions to the marinade, instead of adding it after cooking. For the glaze, I used lite (low-sodium) soy sauce. For the rice, I didn't add the extra coconut milk, pineapples, or basil. Everything was fantastic! A perfect pairing. All you need is a good side vegetable dish to complete this fabulous meal. Next time, I'll try following the recipe more exactly (in adding the extras to the rice and using chili flakes, but I'll stick to the low sodium soy sauce - it was just perfect for me).

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 15, 2009

      That was EXCELLENT!!! My whole family enjoyed it (which is not common). I had to make some changes because of what I did and did not have on hand. I used ginger powder, a little chilli powder (my kids won't touch anything spicy) apple cider vinegar, no basil and long grain rice. Even with all those changes, it was superb!! Also, for the rice, I brought the liquids to a boil, added the rice, then covered and simmered for 20-25ish min. Thank you SO much for sharing and God Bless!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Sticky Coconut Chicken With Chili Glaze and Coconut Rice

    Serving Size: 1 (283 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 376.4
     
    Calories from Fat 54
    14%
    Total Fat 6.0 g
    9%
    Saturated Fat 2.7 g
    13%
    Cholesterol 75.5 mg
    25%
    Sodium 844.2 mg
    35%
    Total Carbohydrate 50.9 g
    16%
    Dietary Fiber 1.8 g
    7%
    Sugars 25.0 g
    100%
    Protein 29.0 g
    58%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    hot chili flakes

    light coconut milk

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites