Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Sticken Chicken Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Sticken Chicken

    Average Rating:

    130 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 130

    Sort by:

    • on February 02, 2010

      Oh, where have you been my whole life? This chicken is sooo good. It reminds me of the type of chicken you would get at a Chinese restaurant. It has that sticky, sweet, slightly ginger flavor. Yum!! I didn't have time to let it cook for 3 hours, so I set the oven to 400 degrees and cooked uncovered for 25 minutes. Then I turned down the oven to 375, poured the sauce over the chicken, covered with aluminum foil and cooked for another 35-40 minutes. I basted several times with the sauce and it was perfect. Thank you so much for this delicious recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 19, 2007

      Made almost as posted. Only deviations: Cooked 1 hour on 250, 1 hour on 300, last 30 minutes at 350. Wasn't sure when it was cooked. Came out deliciously glazed and moist. Definitely going on roatation! Thanks.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 02, 2009

      We enjoyed this! I wasn't too sure if it would be too sweet or like chicken teriyaki, but it was neither. It had a very nice mild taste - not too sweet at all. The flavors are very good. I used boneless/skinless chicken breasts and prepared for the 3 hrs as suggested. For me, the sauce really reduced itself and I could've actually used more. Thank you for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 28, 2007

      oh my yum. I'll admit, I'm a boneless skinless chicken breast kind of person, so when my husband brought home thighs I searched for a recipe that would not end up greasy, and this is the one I tried. The long, slow cooking time takes away the 'greasiness' of the thighs, and the flavor is awesome. For once I followed the recipe exactly, and was very pleased with the outcome. Yes, it's sweet, similar to sesame chicken in a way, but oh so good. I think you could cut back on the sugar a little if you felt the need, but it's wonderful just the way it is.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 24, 2007

      Delicious. I skipped the paprika because I hadn't realized I'd run out, used drumsticks, and cooked at the higher temp. The only thing we didn't love about the recipe is that although as a glaze, the sauce is wonderful; it doesn't work on it's own -- too sweet. We threw away leftover sauce. Next time I might try halving the sugar and the water, and add a bit of ginger into the sauce. But it was wonderful as is!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 22, 2007

      I've done this a few times now and each time it's awesome! I used orange juice instead of water and it gave it even more sticky-ness and flavor.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 02, 2014

      This is not good at all. Too sweet sauce. For 3 hours of cooking, I want something that taste good.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 02, 2014

      This chicken was so easy to make, everybody loved it. And there were no leftovers!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 31, 2014

      So easy! Tender and delicious. It's the first time in a very long time that my sweet baboo asked for seconds! Definite keeper.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 27, 2014

      I can't get over how amazing this was!!! I invited family over and they kept raving about the recipe. I cooked it for 30 min at 210 and 30 min at 250. I then added the sauce which I doubled. Cooked an additional 30 min at 300 and then 20 min at 325. I basted every 20 minutes or so which gave the chicken an amazing golden brown color. The flavor was out of this world and the chicken was super super moist. I used 8 chicken thighs with skin. Definitely drain the fat before adding the sauce to ensure a less greasy sauce. This went wonderfully with jasmine rice and roasted root vegetables. Thanks for the recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 27, 2014

      We made this last night for dinner and it was delicious!! We did think it took awhile to cook, but it was definitely worth the wait. We will be making this again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 09, 2013

      We had this tonight and it was good! I used 6 large chicken legs for this recipe as it was what I had on hand and cut the ginger amount in half to make it more palatable for my DH:) I would suggest covering with foil for about half the cook time to prevent the sauce from evaporating or burning especially if using a large pan as I used.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 10, 2013

      A recipe!! I've made it twice now in one week!!

      the only think I did different was roasted at 325 for 45 min. Then poured the glaze and cooked for an additional 30-40 min. (depending on chicken used)

      As far as the sauce. Its a lot like the sauce I use on my bacon wrapped green bean bundles.. so to cut back on the sweetness, I did the same with my recipe.. I add about 1/4 tbsp. of garlic salt. YUM!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 25, 2012

      This was good! I did a short cut for time, 40 mins at 350. found it a bit sweet, but just put a bit of soy sauce on my rice, and all was good. I think had it been cooked properly, we may have had more of a crisper outside. Ours wasn`t underdone, but it was kinda soft through. Anyway, thanks fro sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 24, 2012

      This was a really tasty way to make chicken thighs. I made the recipe as written except I had a tray of 10 thighs to use up. I didn't need to increase the amounts of the flour mixture or the sauce - there was plenty of both.
      After the first hour at 200, there was nothing to drain out of the pan, so I just added the sauce mixture and put it in for the next 2 hours at 250. I flipped them after the first hour.
      Once they were done, I poured the liquid into a gravy separator to let the fat float out of them. Adding some cornstarch mixed with water and cooking down the sauce made it perfect for pouring over the chicken and rice.
      Thanks for a great recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 27, 2011

      Wow!! Wow!! This chicken is "stickin" in my cookbook! Yummy! Yummy! Now, I read through a lot of the recipes and saw that a lot of people raised the cooking temperature and I honestly don't think that's necessary. I got the feeling people were worried it wasn't cooking thoroughly and trust me it does. I suppose if you don't have the 3 hours time available kicking up the temperature would be fine.

      I followed the recipe to a tee with one small exception...I added a sprinkle of crushed red pepper and it gave it an amazing zing! It was almost like General Tso's Chicken that you get at a Chinese Restaurant. This will be a new staple in our household. Love it!! Love it!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 09, 2011

      Maybe my expectations were too high given the reviews but it was just okay for us. It wasn't stellar by any means. I made just as directed except without skin. On a very positive note - my picky preschooler ate almost three chicken thighs which is completely unheard of. For the prep needed and the 'okay' results it's just not worth it to us. I'm hoping to use these ingredients/ideas and create something more time efficient. Thanks for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 19, 2011

      This is probably the best chicken I have ever made! I usually HATE chicken legs, but these ones were so delicious! My kids gobbled them back too! So much flavour, so moist, and yummy! I doubled the sauce recipe and at the end I took the chicken out, dumped the sauce into a saucepan and boiled with some cornstarch and water to thicken. I made a side of rice and used the sauce on the rice. So good!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 14, 2011

      A new family favorite! Thank you for sharing this recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 29, 2010

      My family loved it, thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3 4 5 6 ... 7

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Sticken Chicken

    Serving Size: 1 (246 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 512.8
     
    Calories from Fat 195
    38%
    Total Fat 21.7 g
    33%
    Saturated Fat 6.0 g
    30%
    Cholesterol 118.4 mg
    39%
    Sodium 1166.6 mg
    48%
    Total Carbohydrate 50.7 g
    16%
    Dietary Fiber 0.8 g
    3%
    Sugars 36.4 g
    145%
    Protein 28.1 g
    56%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes