Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Stewed Tomatoes and Garbanzo Beans Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Stewed Tomatoes and Garbanzo Beans

    Average Rating:

    11 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-11 of 11

    Sort by:

    • on May 24, 2014

      Yum, Easy, tasty recipe for a side dish or a main dish. I served it tonight as a side with meatloaf and a green salad. I did add a couple of dashes of red pepper flakes and sprinkled each serving with Parmesan. Will be great as a vegetarian main dish. A good recipe for making variations. Add a little corn or sliced sausage or fresh spinach and on and on.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 21, 2010

      Great versatile recipe. I love that it's so fast and easy and it only uses a few ingredients that I usually already have in my pantry. My 18 month old daughter loved it too. I served it as a main vegetarian dish with cous cous. I also added some oregano and parsley and sprinkled it with cheese. Next time I think I will saute some sliced zucchini and use a bit of feta cheese for extra flavor. Yummy!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 19, 2010

      Oh I really loved this! Who'd have thought canned tomatoes could taste this good? I halved this recipe and served it as a side to honey-dijon chicken over rice. Just wonderful. Will definitely go in my regular rotation. Love garbanzo's and tomatoes. Add onion and garlic to the mix and I'm in heaven! Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 15, 2010

      Great side dish to our baked marinaded chicken. I will definitely make this again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 21, 2009

      Simple, lovely, easy, perfect. I ate this as a meal... in and of itself, tonight. It is light, fresh tasting, filling and just right when you don't feel like whipping together an elaborate meal.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 27, 2008

      simple and tasty :) didn't change anything but it'd be easy to change up

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 11, 2007

      I made this sort of Indian style by adding some rogan josh flavor curry. I served it over cous cous cooked in chicken broth with rasins and pine nuts. It was pretty good, filling and satsifying.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 07, 2007

      The first time I made this, I halved the recipe and added about 1 tbsp of pimiento. I really enjoyed it by itself, but also ate the next day with rice. I made it again, but I ended up using plain tomato sauce instead of the whole tomatoes. After browning the onions/garlic I put some cooked spinach noodles in there along with the rest of the ingredients, but otherwise didn't change anything. My seven year old thought it was delicious. It smelled funny while I was cooking it, but it didn't taste anything like it smelled, so if you experience a funny smell, don't worry.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 08, 2007

      I added about a Tbsp of each: Oregano, Basil, Parsley & Cilantro and served it over rice. It was wonderful for lunch and we will finish it off tonight for dinner!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 08, 2007

      This dish is amazing. I served it over cous cous and added some grilled chicken to my boyfriends. I will be making this often!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 03, 2007

      It just so happens I made this today. I love garbanzos and eat them for protein instead of meat. I make mine adding chopped olives. I make a big batch and freeze in single servings so I can reheat when I'm hungry. Fabulous!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Stewed Tomatoes and Garbanzo Beans

    Serving Size: 1 (253 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 8

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 182.9
     
    Calories from Fat 28
    15%
    Total Fat 3.2 g
    4%
    Saturated Fat 0.4 g
    2%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 418.1 mg
    17%
    Total Carbohydrate 33.1 g
    11%
    Dietary Fiber 6.7 g
    26%
    Sugars 4.1 g
    16%
    Protein 6.8 g
    13%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites