Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Stewed Rhubarb Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Stewed Rhubarb

    Average Rating:

    10 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-10 of 10

    Sort by:

    • on April 07, 2003

      We love rhubarb! This was served over pound cake and it got a lot of ooohs and ahhhs! Very easy to make. Just sweet enough. Next time I will double the recipe and have some ready in the fridge. Seems like we always have a lot of rhubarb go to waste I'm thinking this would freeze nicely too! Thanks Chris, good recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 01, 2003

      My toddler LOVES stewed rhubarb. And this is always a good reliable way of making it. We like it with vanilla icecream.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 08, 2007

      This is the same as my mother used to make and I think she was shown how by her mother.......a real old tried & true recipe. I served mine with Easy Custard. A nice finish to our dinner. Thanks for posting this real 'keeper' :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 16, 2010

      Very nice - but not sure it needed the lemon juice. The kids loved it with some crushed ginger snap cookes on top.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 07, 2014

      Made this last night with rhubarb from the garden. Very easy and totally yummy. Only had 350g rhubarb so put this with 100g sugar and 2 tablespoons water which made 2 generous servings.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 08, 2006

      This is the same recipe that I have of my Great Grandmother's. She used to can it so they had it year round to eat. Tastes wonderful over a bowl of homemade vanilla ice cream. I like mine for breakfast over cottage cheese.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 04, 2006

      Delicious just the right amount of sugar. I also serve this on a bowl of egg custard and it is also delicious on toast. Peggy from Belleville ON Canada

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 02, 2005

      Delicious! Thanks. This came out slightly caramelly as used brown sugar. Lemon flavour came through well. For personal preference, would try again with less sugar/lemon for a stronger, tarter rhubarb flavour - although this might have been because only had 400g rhubarb - which also made mine a bit liquidy. Ate it in one sitting between the two of us.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 11, 2005

      This is lovely. Just the right mix of sweet and tangy flavour. I'm going to serve this over vanilla ice cream for dessert. I only had 450g of rhubarb but I don't think the extra 50g of rhubarb would have made a difference in the sweet and sour balance.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 01, 2004

      Simple is best with rhubarb - I served it with Vanilla Yogurt and it was YUM Thanks Chrissyo

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Stewed Rhubarb

    Serving Size: 1 (70 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 10

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 72.8
     
    Calories from Fat 0
    23%
    Total Fat 0.1 g
    0%
    Saturated Fat 0.0 g
    0%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 2.0 mg
    0%
    Total Carbohydrate 18.4 g
    6%
    Dietary Fiber 0.9 g
    3%
    Sugars 16.5 g
    66%
    Protein 0.4 g
    0%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites