7 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

21 Feb 2007 - I don't have a crockpot and it would be unfair to rate it with stars as it's not a true indication to the recipe. What I did was added sliced chicken thighs and garlic in a heated an oiled pan. Cooked until the thighs were slightly brown, I added can tomatoes pieces with some jalapeno pepper (As I don't have Ro-Tel Tomatoes and read on Zaar Dictionary that this could be a substitute), taco seasoning and chicken stock. I cooked it until most of the liquid had evaporated. Then put together the taco shells with the chicken, lettuce, tomatoes, cheddar cheese (known as tasty in Australia). Topped it with some Verdi sauce. Thank you babyparentingguide the flavour was delicious - UPDATE: I finally purchased a crock pot and made this recipe. We really enjoyed it, the chicken was so tender! I sill substituted the Ro-Tel tomatoes and colby-monterey jack cheese because they both are not available in my region. I used flour tortillas instead of the taco shells - Thank you once again babyparentingguide

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef floWer October 04, 2007

Very good! There is a lot of liquid remaining, so next time, I'll try to drain it a little more, before serving. I also thought a little salt was needed, even though I didn't use reduced-sodium taco seasoning. We did not add cheese to the mixture itself, but topped the tacos with it, as is typical. Will definitely make again! Thanks for sharing!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lleebailey February 26, 2014

We were really not wowed by this - it seemed a little on the greasy side to us and I was the only one who ate the leftovers. It seems most people have really enjoyed it so that must just be personal preference. Made for Spring '12 PAC.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
RSL April 03, 2012

Great! My fiance doesn't care for chicken and bit into his first taco and said 'oh, yeah'. He are them for the next 3 meals. Plan on making this a regular in our house. I did 1lb breasts and 1lb thighs with 1/2 cup 2% cheese. That made about 20 tacos worth at 2 Weight Watchers Points Plus per taco serving! It was about a 1/4a cup of meat too!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
camfan54 January 24, 2012

Thank you for sharing! I made this last night for our NYE taco bar....it was a big hit!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
yumyumum January 01, 2011

Wonderful and so easy! I used 3 pounds of frozen chicken thighs, cooked in the crockpot, and shredded. Lots of liquid, I served with a slotted spoon so we could drain some off before filling tortillas. Flavor was delicious! Froze the leftovers and look forward to chicken enchiladas in my future. Thanks for sharing the recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LonghornMama December 04, 2010

This is such a great recipe for chicken tacos! I've always loved the soft chicken tacos from Taco Cabana and this tastes exactly like the filling that they use. I don't have a crock pot, but I just cook this on the stove top and it works fine. I just combine all the ingredients (except cheese), heat to boiling, reduce heat and cover. Cook for about 1 1/2 hours (stirring occasionally) or until the meat starts falling apart (no need to shred). I've also tried this with pork and it was just as fantastic.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lirpac August 22, 2009
Stewed Chicken Taco Meat