Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Stewed Chicken And Dumplings Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Stewed Chicken And Dumplings

    Average Rating:

    31 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 31

    Sort by:

    • on May 13, 2002

      My mother made memorable chicken and dumplings. Unfortunately she never wrote the recipe down. I have searched for one that even remotely resembled hers. This recipe surpasses mom's at it's best. For once the chicken had flavour (I just love the addition of the poultry seasoning). The dumplings were fluffy and tender whereas mine in past had all the appeal of boiled wallpaper paste. I had to plead with my son to try this dish just once more...being a veteran of all my other failed attempts he was to say the least reluctant. He just loved them! Thank you Inez

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 16, 2003

      This was so good! Truly comfort food as I had hoped. I added an extra carrot and a can of chicken broth to this recipe. I also made cornbread to go along with the meal. I loved it and felt proud to serve this to my husband. He enjoyed it very much. Thanks, this is a keeper for me!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 19, 2004

      This was made for dinner last night and loved by all. The only thing I did differently was to use Bisquick for the dumplings, but everything else was the same. Loved it. Thanks for brining back memories of my Grandmother with this one!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 26, 2004

      Thank you....tried it and it was great. Jaydensmommy22...Did you just replace the flour with Bisquick..same amount I mean? Thank you!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 07, 2003

      This was Delicious! I added twice the vegetables and a teaspoon of thyme. We all loved it, and I've already been requested to make it again! This was wonderful with egg noodles on the side. Thanks Inez for another great classic. ;)

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 21, 2011

      Very good recipe. The only things I would do differently next time around is to use a little less poultry seasoning (3/4 tsp is great), a little less salt in the dumplings and use boneless chicken of some sort. I ended up cutting up a whole chicken and boiling the pieces for a while, pulling pieces out and picking meat off the bones to throw back in the soup. Way too much messy work. Probably use boneless, skinless breasts when I make it again (EDIT: Tried this, not as good. I'm back to boiling a whole chicken and picking the meat off. If your liquid doesn't cover the chicken, add chicken broth to cover). I also made a second batch of dumplings after the first batch was spoken for (If you do this, make sure the heat is a little lower and you stir it well before each batch of dumplings so the bottom doesn't burn). So good I wish I could eat more!
      TIP: Make BIG dumplings (heaping tbsp fulls) if you want them fluffy inside rather than soggy. Also, I switched to making Bisquick dumplings (2C Bisquick, 2/3C milk). They just taste better. The dumplings in the recipe are too salty and I can taste the baking powder.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 28, 2011

      It tastes really good, but it should really be classed as a soup more than a stew.

      I made it in my crock pot with turkey legs, which I browned beforehand. I added peas and potatoes to the stew. I let the whole thing simmer on high for six hours and added the dumplings one hour before the end. It is delicious although it is more like a soup than a stew. I even added a fourth cup of flour to thicken it. It is still wonderful though.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 20, 2010

      Very good recipe! I like that the recipe allows for changes for personal taste with no consequences. I adjusted the recipe a little. First, I lightly floured my chicken and browned it. This is a trick I remember from my grandma to help thicken the stew. Then, I added the rest of the stew ingredients. I reduced to 4 cups of water and 2 tsp bouillon. Instead of regular poultry seasoning, I used a Cajun poultry seasoning. With the dumplings, I used garlic salt instead of regular salt. I also had to add a couple of extra tablespoons of flour to the dumpling mix because for some reason my initial mix was too creamy. With the adjustments to my taste, this recipe came out wonderful. We enjoyed this flavorful chicken stew with light, fluffy dumplings and a side of green peas. Thank you for the recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 27, 2010

      I used a crockpot and let it cook all day. If you do this don't put your cooked chicken in until the last 45 minutes or so. I used my grandmas feather dumpling recipe not this one. I pretty much followed the ingredients. I'd added more carrots and added a thickner. My husband loved it. His only complaint was it needed more dumplings!! Thanks for the receipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 03, 2010

      This was wonderful, thank you for posting it. My mother always made delicious C&D but she never wrote down the recipe. So, I started looking and when I saw it was your recipe I knew it would be good. I have never fixed anything of your that wasn't. Hubby says it was the best thing he's ever had. I used 2 chicken breast, added 2 Tablespoons of butter, 1 can cream of chicken soup, I didn't have bouillon on hand so I added 1 1/2 teaspoons of salt. As for the dumplings, I went the easy way out and used half of a 24 oz pkg of frozen Mary B's Dumplings. I prefer your type of dumplings but hubby likes the flat style. Thanks again for posting it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 13, 2009

      Tasted good but the texture of my dumplings was off (they were a little like paste). I don't know how I messed it up!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 31, 2009

      Magnifico! tender fluffy melt in your mouth dumplings! Thank U. this is even scrumptious if u only add a little carrot and a 1/4 onion if u don't have celery.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 31, 2009

      This was terrific! I cooked according to the recipe and I loved it! It was my first time to make chicken and dumplings. The only thing I did different was to de-bone the chicken. Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 26, 2009

      This was a great recipe, I made it by the recipe and it was fantastic the only thing I would change is to reduce the pepper a bit and that is solely because I have young kids who said it was spicy tasting. This was my first attempt at dumplings and I was so impressed with the ease of this recipe, it is definitely going to become a winter staple at this house. Thank you for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 13, 2009

      Just like the one I had been using for years except my dumpling recipe calls for eggs. We just found out our son is allergic to eggs so I decided to try yours. Glad I did! Turned out great! I didn't have any chicken bouillon cubes on hand so I used 2 cans of chicken stock and reduced the water to about 4 cups or so. Also used some cornstarch and water to help thicken. Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 04, 2009

      Incredibly easy to put together and amazing flavor! Like Blue Toile, I was looking for a recipe similar to the one my grandmother used to make. This recipe is a definite keeper!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 19, 2008

      Chicken and Dumplings were my favorite things to eat when I was a kid, so I looked everywhere trying to find something similar to my mom's recipe. This recipe was even better! I double the dumplings and add a can of cream of chicken soup to the broth. The poultry seasoning makes this dish amazing! Thanks for the recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 11, 2008

      I made this for my family last night, and it was sooo good. I never thought i would be able to make chicken and dumplings like my grandmother did. I'm only 23 and don't have very many years of cooking experience, but I followed this recipe and it came out great. I put in more dumplings than the recipe called for though. I needed to feed 5. My only tip is that i didn't use but about half of the milk called for. Use your judgment. Pour it in slowly to the flower mixture. Don't overwork it our it will turn out hard. Use just enough milk to make it turn to dough. Don't knead it. My dumplings were perfect!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 19, 2008

      This was so good! Just spicy enough! My dumplings didnt come out right...in fact, after I took the lid off the pot, I didnt have any dumplings left. So we had chicken soup for dinner. :) I wish I knew what I did wrong with the dumplings. I 'always' have this problem. :( Great recipe, so I will keep trying.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 04, 2008

      Great! I used chopped up raw chicken breast and boiled in for like 20 mins cause I didn't have the time to simmer but it was good. Still pretty tender. I also used bisquick but when I have more time, I will make the dumplings from scratch--they broke apart a little more than I would have liked. I will also add more garlic and pepper (I only had crank pepper and didn't put enough in). I used 2 cans chicken broth and the rest water because I had no cubes. FANTASTIC!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Stewed Chicken And Dumplings

    Serving Size: 1 (617 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 446.4
     
    Calories from Fat 201
    45%
    Total Fat 22.4 g
    34%
    Saturated Fat 7.8 g
    39%
    Cholesterol 98.8 mg
    32%
    Sodium 1882.1 mg
    78%
    Total Carbohydrate 32.8 g
    10%
    Dietary Fiber 2.3 g
    9%
    Sugars 3.0 g
    12%
    Protein 27.1 g
    54%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites