22 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Excellent easy recipe. I made my own onion soup: 1/4 onion carmelized, 2 oz. red wine, 4 oz. chicken broth, 5 oz. beef broth, cook 15 min. Then proceed with recipe. Incredibly tender!

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
beepajeep January 24, 2008

This recipe is so easy and really good! I used cream of chicken and cream of mushroom. This was a delicious way to use up a cut of meat I grabbed on a big mark down at the store. I served this atop egg noodles for a rich stroganoff.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Radish4ever April 11, 2012

Since I didn't have condensed French onion soup, I substituted 10 oz beef broth (fat-free and low sodium) plus an envelope of dried french onion soup mix. I used reduced-fat cream of mushroom soup. For the meat I used some older NY strip and sirloin steak from my freezer. I trimmed it well off all visible fat. Baked as directed and served over rice. It smelled wonderful all afternoon. The meat was very tender and delicious. It got 2 thumbs up from DH and DS16. I did not find it too salty and DS added more salt to his. Thanks for posting. Made for Fall PAC 2011.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
GibbyLou October 03, 2011

I did double this because I have a large family. We were not impressed with this at all and I will not be making it again. There was a lot of grease in this from the stew meat, even though it was very tender.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
5hungrykids January 06, 2011

Thought this was very good, just added 2 cloves of minced fresh garlic and used sirloin tips because they were on sale, hense, not greasy at all. Served with garlic mashers, carotts and copycat Hawaiian Rolls #198480. Yummy but will opt for Low Sodium soups next time. Thak you Harried Mom for a great easy recip.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CABarbieQue October 17, 2010

This was, by far, the easiest recipe I've ever made -- especially considering the YUM factor! The only reason I'm not giving this recipe five stars is that it was far too salty for us. I will have to figure out a way to make it less salty or it isn't going to work for us. However, I'm going to find a way because it's SO GOOD. And easy. I made the no fail homemade noodles to go with this and it was a great combo!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jilly 07 September 17, 2008

You really should give this receipe a gourmet name. This was the easiest and best recipe I have ever made. My meat was frozen, and I did not have french onion soup, so I used the dry french onion soup and added a can of water. It cooked all day while I was at work. I served it on bread with mashed potatoes and a vegetable on the side. WOW! It reminded me of hot beef sandwiches I used to eat as a kid. Thank you for sharing.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Skater Mom August 24, 2008

Terrific and oh-so-easy. Dump into crock pot and go! Serve with rice, exactly as recommended. Thanks!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Rotties Rule July 06, 2008

This dish was amazing! It did wonders for an otherwise unnappealing cut of meat! I would highly reccomend it.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
hollieo1 July 02, 2008

This was really good and easy to make. I made this into a dump recipe and doubled the meat and added two cans of each of the soups. I placed it all into a freezer bag and froze. The night before cooking, I pulled and thawed. It wasn't all thawed by morning but I dumped it all into the crock pot and cooked on low for 8 hours. This was so good. I made noodles and placed everything on top. Everyone ate it up. Will be making again.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
bmcnichol April 03, 2008
Stew Meat