11 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I love this recipe! I added extra banana (almost double), and used applesauce instead of butter. I used half whole wheat and half spelt. It turned out very moist, sweet and delicious! A new favorite!

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
arose December 30, 2008

After reading other reviews, I added a little extra stevia (1-1/2 tsp total). I also changed the order I prepared the cake: I beat the butter (I used oil), bananas (I didn't measure, I just used 3 medium-sized), vanilla, eggs & stevia until light and fluffy; then I added the flour (mixed w/ baking soda & salt), alternating with the milk. Oh, and I added extra nuts (probably double). Only required 50 minutes of baking.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Geniale Genie January 17, 2010

Bottom line: It is delicious.

Other things: Mine was done after 45 minutes, so try checking it early if you don't want it crispy. For the sweetener, the recipe calls for 1 tsp stevia, but different powders have different concentrations, so one tsp stevia could mean a bunch of different things. I added a tsp of "Spoonable Stevia" and two packets of Truvia. I also substituted almond meal for half of the flour, which worked great. I will definitely be making this again. It's wonderful that something so good for you can be so healthy.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jesusdragon737 January 10, 2013

Good recipe but its not sweet enough for me. It needed more stevia. It was super moist enough for me though. Could maybe use

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Saramill February 06, 2013

I haven't eaten sugar in more than 6 months so was intrigued to try a bit of baking withy kids that I could also try. I read reviews and decided, as some said, to try extra stevia. I now wish I had stuck with the original amount, as they are very sweet (I made the batter into muffins instead) and with the particular intensity that stevia carries, it is a bit more than I can handle. That said, I'm pretty desensitized to sweet, so it might not bother others....

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Heatherlow November 03, 2011

The bread is great. Sadly, I did not mash the bananas fully, but it still tastes scrumptious.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
matttm June 28, 2011

This is AMAZING!! I wasn't expecting much, but I'm really impressed!
Couple things:
1. I put in 1 1/2 tsp of Stevia. Don't let the batter sweetness fool you! It mellows a bit after baked.
2. I doubled the bananas.
3. I skipped the nuts and threw in jumbo raisins from Fresh & Easy.
4. I forgot the vanilla, but it worked fine anyway!
5. I used almond milk.
5. After 45 minutes of baking, it passed the toothpick test and was perfectly moist. Keep an eye on that. An hour or more of baking may be too much!
Whoever came up with this recipe should get a trophy!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
theOriginalDanzo June 24, 2011

I used Spelt flour instead of wheat and the results were lovely. The crumb and texture were great, but this will definitely not be as sweet as the Banana bread you are used to. I used three whole bananas and 1 teaspoon of stevia...maybe next time I will use more. It's weird because the batter was super sweet even thought the bread was not. This was my first time baking with stevia so maybe that is just how it goes.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ssfaris December 29, 2009

Tasty and healthy. I substituted milk for soy milk, butter for sweetened applesauce and added blueberries and walnuts.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
emily_rose_85 September 08, 2009

VERY YUMMY!!! I used applesause instead of oil, egg substitute instead of the eggs, skim milk for the milk. I used 3 packets of stevia pwd. Next time I will try 4 it needs to be a little sweeter, and use 3 bananas instead of the 2 I originally used. I also added raisins and cinnamon. Spread with a little honey butter. I will definately make this one again!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ribbonsmom June 27, 2007
Stevia Whole Wheat Banana Bread