Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Steve's Panettone for Bread Machine Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Steve's Panettone for Bread Machine

    Average Rating:

    24 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 24

    Sort by:

    • on October 10, 2009

      This recipe is awesome! I add 1 Tablespoon grated orange peel, candied orange peel, dark and golden raisins, toasted pine nuts, 1 teaspoon vanilla and 1 teaspoon orange extract. The flavors of these additions is extraordinary. Thanks for this bread machine recipe. It makes fabulous French toast.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 30, 2007

      This is wonderful! I literally threw this into the bread maker, hoping for the best but not expecting it to be as good as it was. I followed catwhispers recommendation and substituted some oil for butter, with a wonderful buttery flavour as a result. I did not have any candied fruit but figured that I often buy the plain panettone anyway so went for it without. I found the texture a little heavier than a bought one but overall it really had the kind of flavour and 'dryness' that I love. Thank you so much for taking the time to write this recipe Steve I am really pleased to be adding this to my growing collection of bread maker recipes!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 19, 2008

      Hmmmmm......the first time I made this one as directed I had a few "glitches." The second time I made it I used the fruit and nut setting on my machine and that turned out much better. (I have a Breadman Ultimate.) Makes a huge loaf and does need a little extra time to finish baking in the middle IMO. I followed Steve's directives and purchased candied citron, orange and lemon separately and that was good advice. I threw in some dried cranberries for color and used lemon extract instead of almond as that's what I had. This is a pretty solid rendition of panettone. If you're looking for the real thing buy it but if you don't mind a close substitute, make this!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 23, 2007

      This was absolutely wonderful. The only change I made was to use 3 tablespoons butter and 3 tablespoons oil instead of all oil, since panettone should be traditionally buttery, but the oil probably gives it some of its good texture. Even though I am an almond fanatic, I think this smaller amount of extract works, perhaps because I added the butter. The flavor was nice and subtle, and all blended well together. Thanks for a great recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 01, 2009

      Yummy! yummy!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 14, 2008

      This was fantastic! I added more fruit as Steve suggested for a denser more fruity bread. I used a combination of candied citrus, dried apricots, dried cranberries and dried cherries. This recipe is a Christmas keeper. Thanks so much Steve.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 11, 2008

      After trying a number of bread machine panettone recipes, I was very glad to find this one. It was excellent and became my keeper. I also will substitute all or some of the oil for butter as another reviewer has mentioned.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 09, 2008

      I am new to bread machines and this was my first cake. I replacd the water with milk and half the oil with butter. The panettone was just great. The texture is very good and so is the taste. I shall opt for a lighter crust next time, as it seems a little too dark on medium, but that may be just in my machine. Thank you for an easy and doable recipe.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 08, 2007

      Made this yesterday. It turned out great, the whole family loved it. I used butter instead of oil, citron, pineapple & candied cherries. Thank you for the recipe.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 07, 2006

      Great recipe! Tall and light. I used 1 tsp of almond extract as suggested by other reviewers. Very tasty. I used 1 tablespoon of yeast which I think is about one package. This one is a keeper.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 18, 2006

      I keep making this fabulous bread because as soon as we near the end of a loaf, my husband says, "Please be sure and make more of this bread before we run out!" Excellent toasted for breakfast, it is flavorful but not overpowering, with a nice moist texture. The only changes I make to the recipe are increasing the candied fruit to 3/4 cup and the almond extract to 1 tsp. Thank you Steve for a GREAT addition to my bread recipe collection.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 26, 2005

      This was a big hit on our Christmas table! I used candied lemon peel, dried apricots, dried cranberries, raisins and dried cherries but omitted the almonds, so added 1/2 tsp more almond extract. So good and so easy. Thanks for this wonderful recipe.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 04, 2005

      Wow - this was delicious! My first try worked very well. It did appear quite wet during mixing phase, but I ignored that as suggested and it rose into a lovely high bread with a light yet moist texture. I made mine with a half a cup of raisins(soaked briefly in hot water to make them juicy) and about 1/2 the grated rinds each from a lemon and a orange. I used the fresh rinds because I am a student on a budget and it is a bit hard to find candied fruits where I live. I also threw in a little cardamom(3/4 tsp)to try and give it some depth since I don't have almond essence. I have a feeling this recipe is going to be a regular at our house. Thanks!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 10, 2005

      Excellent, I did not know how much yeast was in a package, so I guesed I tbsp. The next time I will try 1-1-2 tsp!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 09, 2005

      Thanks for a great bread recipe!I have made this twice now,we love it.Linda

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 07, 2005

      I made this bread and thought it was superb. Good texture and color. I served it to friends for brunch and it was a hit.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 20, 2004

      In our supermarket brochures they were advertising Panettone and I thought wonder if zaar has a recipe? So straight to the computer and load and behold there are recipes for it. So before tea I put everything in the bread maker the mixture looked wet I thought maybe next time have to add more flour but at the end of cooking was a lovely loaf and the smell was define. The loaf was light. I had no citrus peel so added lemon essence to the loaf still had a wonderful tasting loaf. Will be making another loaf just the day before Christmas and any other day I fell like this loaf. Thanks for sharing.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 20, 2004

      Great tasting bread. I made it yesterday (using bread flour)and sliced it this morning.. popped it in the toaster oven and then slathered some butter on it. While watching it in the bread machine I was afraid that it wouldn't turn out. It looked very wet. But lo and behold, I came home to a wonderful fragrant loaf of Panettone. The only change I would make next time is to add more almond extract. Thanks for an easy recipe.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 20, 2004

      I made this bread yesterday and it turned out lovely. I took your advice and made my own fruit mix, chopping my own candied peel etc. I have a raisin dispenser on my breadmaker so there is no problem with adding in things, although I did put the candied peel and nuts in with the flour and the raisins in the dispenser. It is not quite as light in texture as the store bought pannettone, but overall a very good bread nonetheless! Thanks for the recipe!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 27, 2014

      Metric list of ingredients is awful! How 709 gm of flour combined with 177 gm of water and 80 gm of oil supposed to produce WET dough? My breadmaker chocked 10 min into the mix cycle.<br/>Very disappointed, from the bread pan straight into garbage can.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Steve's Panettone for Bread Machine

    Serving Size: 1 (84 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 8

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 340.8
     
    Calories from Fat 134
    39%
    Total Fat 14.9 g
    22%
    Saturated Fat 2.0 g
    10%
    Cholesterol 46.5 mg
    15%
    Sodium 475.3 mg
    19%
    Total Carbohydrate 43.7 g
    14%
    Dietary Fiber 2.1 g
    8%
    Sugars 6.7 g
    27%
    Protein 7.9 g
    15%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    candied fruit

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes