24 Reviews

This recipe is awesome! I add 1 Tablespoon grated orange peel, candied orange peel, dark and golden raisins, toasted pine nuts, 1 teaspoon vanilla and 1 teaspoon orange extract. The flavors of these additions is extraordinary. Thanks for this bread machine recipe. It makes fabulous French toast.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
vsnyder54 October 10, 2009

This is wonderful! I literally threw this into the bread maker, hoping for the best but not expecting it to be as good as it was. I followed catwhispers recommendation and substituted some oil for butter, with a wonderful buttery flavour as a result. I did not have any candied fruit but figured that I often buy the plain panettone anyway so went for it without. I found the texture a little heavier than a bought one but overall it really had the kind of flavour and 'dryness' that I love. Thank you so much for taking the time to write this recipe Steve I am really pleased to be adding this to my growing collection of bread maker recipes!

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
fairywishes wish May 30, 2007

After trying a number of bread machine panettone recipes, I was very glad to find this one. It was excellent and became my keeper. I also will substitute all or some of the oil for butter as another reviewer has mentioned.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Charmed November 11, 2008

Hmmmmm......the first time I made this one as directed I had a few "glitches." The second time I made it I used the fruit and nut setting on my machine and that turned out much better. (I have a Breadman Ultimate.) Makes a huge loaf and does need a little extra time to finish baking in the middle IMO. I followed Steve's directives and purchased candied citron, orange and lemon separately and that was good advice. I threw in some dried cranberries for color and used lemon extract instead of almond as that's what I had. This is a pretty solid rendition of panettone. If you're looking for the real thing buy it but if you don't mind a close substitute, make this!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
saraquarius January 19, 2008

This was absolutely wonderful. The only change I made was to use 3 tablespoons butter and 3 tablespoons oil instead of all oil, since panettone should be traditionally buttery, but the oil probably gives it some of its good texture. Even though I am an almond fanatic, I think this smaller amount of extract works, perhaps because I added the butter. The flavor was nice and subtle, and all blended well together. Thanks for a great recipe.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Catwhispers February 23, 2007

Yummy! yummy!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
cuppycakes January 01, 2009

This was fantastic! I added more fruit as Steve suggested for a denser more fruity bread. I used a combination of candied citrus, dried apricots, dried cranberries and dried cherries. This recipe is a Christmas keeper. Thanks so much Steve.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef Regina V. Smith December 14, 2008

I am new to bread machines and this was my first cake. I replacd the water with milk and half the oil with butter. The panettone was just great. The texture is very good and so is the taste. I shall opt for a lighter crust next time, as it seems a little too dark on medium, but that may be just in my machine. Thank you for an easy and doable recipe.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
gilanei October 09, 2008

Made this yesterday. It turned out great, the whole family loved it. I used butter instead of oil, citron, pineapple & candied cherries. Thank you for the recipe.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Margie #7 December 08, 2007

Great recipe! Tall and light. I used 1 tsp of almond extract as suggested by other reviewers. Very tasty. I used 1 tablespoon of yeast which I think is about one package. This one is a keeper.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
joankind December 07, 2006
Steve's Panettone for Bread Machine