214 Reviews

I tried this recipe today - making it for someone else - but absolutely had to take some home for myself!! It was not only "world famous" it is "out of this world famous!!" I cooked it a bit longer to really crisp it up - and changed it to two servings - but still used enough chicken to fill up an 8 x 10 baking pan. I think I used more sour cream than called for in my scaled down recipe too - but - really and truly it is "to die for!!!" He's not lyin!!

150 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Christina1 October 15, 2001

This was incredible!! So easy and delicious. I didn't have tarragon, so I used oregano, garlic salt and pepper. Wonderful. UPDATE: I made this again last night and cut WAY back on the butter (1 T total)....it was still very tasty and rich.

72 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mary Anne April 03, 2002

After seeing this as the number 1 recipe for some time, I had to see what the fuss was all about. I am still wondering. Not only was it incredible bland, but it is a heart attack waiting to happen. I suppose "To Die For" Sour Cream Chicken is an appropriate name. The only one in the family who enjoyed this lives outside and eats from a bowl.

57 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Amber Dawn March 13, 2002

This was really great. My family loved it !! The chicken was very moist and tender but I only used two rows of crackers and had some left over and reduced the butter by a 1/4. I will definately be making this again, and again and again. Thanks for sharing it.

55 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Cindy November 16, 2001

All those reviews. So many different opinions. I read them and decided on my game plan.I cut the chicken in strips as per the recipe. I cut the butter down to 1/2 cup. Half in the bottom of the pan, and half sprinkled over the chicken. I used the ritz crackers, but only 1-1/2 sleeves. I used the tarragon, because we really do like it, but here again I cut the amount in half. I added 1 t salt, 1/2 t pepper,1/2 t cayenne pepper and 1/2 t thyme to the crumbs. The baking time is pretty close, I baked it 50 minutes, and it was just right. We really liked this and will make it again.

46 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MizzNezz March 26, 2002

This could certainly be "to die for" considering the nutritional facts. Good grief. This is a slight adaptation of a dish I've been making for years and years. If anyone is keeping an eye on their caloric intake and/or cholesterol and saturated fats, by all means opt for reduced fat sour cream and much, much less butter/margarine (try coating the pan with cooking spray, then drizzle the melted butter on top). I use corn flake or Wheaties crumbs in my recipe and you can use just about any spice and herb that your in the mood for. All in all, the recipe is easy to make, but one could get hurt with all that saturated fat.

41 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kisstebah April 07, 2002

I was going to rate this a three, but then i read the nutritional facts. 109% of my daily fat intake, and 155% of my saturated fat intake. this is so unhealthy, no one should have that much fat just from one serving for dinner. Especially when it doesn't even taste that great. it wasn't horrible, it wasn't great. it was mediocre. (did i spell that right?) any how, hope this helps some one out. if not try it out for yourself and see. take care.

41 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Casie February 17, 2002

PERSONALLY, I did not enjoy this dish. The flavor of it did not thrill me, but I gave it two stars because it was the most tender chicken I have ever put in my mouth! Wow.

41 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lauren Clark November 12, 2001

I had to join the crowd and find out what all the fuss was about. This recipe was a disappointment. Easy to make, but very bland. No WOW factor at all.

40 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sharlene~W February 27, 2002

I prepared this dish last night for dinner. It was absolutely delicious! I reduced the amount of butter for us and it was great. The sour cream really keeps the chicken moist and the breading was just right to add good flavor.

40 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Brenda November 01, 2001
Steven's World Famous To-Die-For Sour Cream Chicken