Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Steven's World Famous To-Die-For Sour Cream Chicken Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Steven's World Famous To-Die-For Sour Cream Chicken

    Average Rating:

    214 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 214

    Sort by:

    • on October 15, 2001

      I tried this recipe today - making it for someone else - but absolutely had to take some home for myself!! It was not only "world famous" it is "out of this world famous!!" I cooked it a bit longer to really crisp it up - and changed it to two servings - but still used enough chicken to fill up an 8 x 10 baking pan. I think I used more sour cream than called for in my scaled down recipe too - but - really and truly it is "to die for!!!" He's not lyin!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 03, 2002

      This was incredible!! So easy and delicious. I didn't have tarragon, so I used oregano, garlic salt and pepper. Wonderful. UPDATE: I made this again last night and cut WAY back on the butter (1 T total)....it was still very tasty and rich.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 13, 2002

      After seeing this as the number 1 recipe for some time, I had to see what the fuss was all about. I am still wondering. Not only was it incredible bland, but it is a heart attack waiting to happen. I suppose "To Die For" Sour Cream Chicken is an appropriate name. The only one in the family who enjoyed this lives outside and eats from a bowl.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 16, 2001

      This was really great. My family loved it !! The chicken was very moist and tender but I only used two rows of crackers and had some left over and reduced the butter by a 1/4. I will definately be making this again, and again and again. Thanks for sharing it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 26, 2002

      All those reviews. So many different opinions. I read them and decided on my game plan.I cut the chicken in strips as per the recipe. I cut the butter down to 1/2 cup. Half in the bottom of the pan, and half sprinkled over the chicken. I used the ritz crackers, but only 1-1/2 sleeves. I used the tarragon, because we really do like it, but here again I cut the amount in half. I added 1 t salt, 1/2 t pepper,1/2 t cayenne pepper and 1/2 t thyme to the crumbs. The baking time is pretty close, I baked it 50 minutes, and it was just right. We really liked this and will make it again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 07, 2002

      This could certainly be "to die for" considering the nutritional facts. Good grief. This is a slight adaptation of a dish I've been making for years and years. If anyone is keeping an eye on their caloric intake and/or cholesterol and saturated fats, by all means opt for reduced fat sour cream and much, much less butter/margarine (try coating the pan with cooking spray, then drizzle the melted butter on top). I use corn flake or Wheaties crumbs in my recipe and you can use just about any spice and herb that your in the mood for. All in all, the recipe is easy to make, but one could get hurt with all that saturated fat.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 17, 2002

      I was going to rate this a three, but then i read the nutritional facts. 109% of my daily fat intake, and 155% of my saturated fat intake. this is so unhealthy, no one should have that much fat just from one serving for dinner. Especially when it doesn't even taste that great. it wasn't horrible, it wasn't great. it was mediocre. (did i spell that right?) any how, hope this helps some one out. if not try it out for yourself and see. take care.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 12, 2001

      PERSONALLY, I did not enjoy this dish. The flavor of it did not thrill me, but I gave it two stars because it was the most tender chicken I have ever put in my mouth! Wow.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 27, 2002

      I had to join the crowd and find out what all the fuss was about. This recipe was a disappointment. Easy to make, but very bland. No WOW factor at all.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 01, 2001

      I prepared this dish last night for dinner. It was absolutely delicious! I reduced the amount of butter for us and it was great. The sour cream really keeps the chicken moist and the breading was just right to add good flavor.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 13, 2001

      This was Very good. I used sour cream and Chicken in a Biskit crackers. I also left my chicken breast whole in error but all turned out very good! I did not care for this chicken reheated however. The crackers got a bit soggy when microwaved for leftovers. So be sure to eat it all up the first time because it is SCRUMPTIOUS!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 28, 2001

      Wonderful Recipe,I,ve made this twice the second time I added about 1/2 cup finely chopped pecans to the cracker mix ,it made a nice variation.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 08, 2002

      My gosh. Look at those nutritional facts. No wonder we're such a fat nation. This recipe is just a bad idea.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 31, 2001

      Recipe was easy to make but my husband and I did not like the flavour and found it to be too rich. Would not make it again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 13, 2002

      This recipe was very dissapointing. I thought it was way too buttery and greasy. My husband and I took one bite and threw the rest away. PB&J never tasted so good.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 25, 2002

      I was so excited to try this after all the ratings, even talked my sour-cream-hating husband into trying it. both of us were unimpressed. I was dissapointed. I think it was better cold. it wasn't the best. It wasn't the worst, It was O.K.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 27, 2002

      After reading the first 5 comments, I had to try this recipe. My fiance' and I were disappointed. It was soggy and greasy and too much tarragon. I gave it 2 stars because it gave me a start to my own recipe. Next time I will use bread crumbs (Ritz were too sweet) and maybe garlic salt or Emeril's Essence, freshly ground black pepper and the parmesan cheese. I would coat the pan first with a little veg. oil..this way it would be crispy. We can all experiment ! :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 21, 2002

      am i the only one who thinks this recipe is too greasy?? Maybey if the chix strips were cooked on a rack so the butter fat drips off... my husband loved the flavor of the ''top'' but both agreed the bottom ruined it. the butter made it way too greasy.. i think this recipe needs less butter, cooked on a rack or deep fried. anyone else agree?

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 26, 2002

      I tried this recipe due to all of the overwhelming good response. I cooked this chicken exactly as instructed (I used half of the required crackers) and I must say that it was the worst chicken I have ever eaten. The crust was sweet and breaded. I had to peel off the crust to halfway enjoy the actual meat. I will never cook it nor recommend it to anyone.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 05, 2002

      I'm sorry to say that I didn't like this recipe. Sorry, Steven. I followed the recipe exactly and it came out bland and greasy. The chicken was moist but you can achieve moist chicken in many other ways that taste better and are a lot healthier for you. This isn't one I'll be making again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3 4 5 6 ... 11

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Steven's World Famous To-Die-For Sour Cream Chicken

    Serving Size: 1 (195 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 927.0
     
    Calories from Fat 607
    65%
    Total Fat 67.5 g
    103%
    Saturated Fat 32.1 g
    160%
    Cholesterol 171.2 mg
    57%
    Sodium 892.1 mg
    37%
    Total Carbohydrate 50.3 g
    16%
    Dietary Fiber 1.8 g
    7%
    Sugars 7.6 g
    30%
    Protein 30.3 g
    60%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites