15 Reviews

I had never had pork riblets, but my husband said they were good, so I tried this recipe. They came tender and the baste was good (I just did them in the crock pot). I just don't think I like pork riblets, they were really fatty. My husband liked them, fat and all.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Haley K November 14, 2009

I too cooked mine in the crock pot for 8 hours on low and they were so tender, literally fell off the bones. My trouble with the recipe is I couldn't get past the excessive soy saucey flavor - it was too much for me. DH loved it though. I think next time I may just try subbing the soy sauce in the marinade with BBQ sauce and only using the soy sauce in the baste.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
piranhabriana March 22, 2009

This was just OK for us. I did follow other reviewers and cook this in the crockpot. There was something in the taste that was not to our liking. Not sure put think it may have been the mustard in the mixture. My oldest was the only one who ate these.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
bmcnichol February 22, 2009

Pretty good stuff. I didn't use soy sauce in the baste and I'm glad because it was still a bit soy saucy for my tastes. I think I'll try the crockpot method next time. I too got my riblets from a church ministry. : ) I might use a bit more brown sugar next time as well. Thanks for the recipe, I had no idea what I was going to do with my riblets.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Climbnyak January 27, 2009

This is really yummy! Easy and cheap to make, thank you for this recipe! I marinated for 8 hours, perfect! I did put about 1/2 the soy sauce in the marinade (hubby is watching salt intake) and it was great!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Red Hook January 19, 2009

These were yummy! I didn't have any Italian dressing so I used Olive Oil and Vinegar dressing instead. Dee-lish! Also, I only marinated for 3 hours and it was still very flavorful. It was my first time trying these (also got them as a church package!) but I will be buying them regularly! Thanks for a tasty recipe!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
atlantamom July 15, 2008

Sorry, Steph - I followed your instructions to the letter, but neither DH or I could eat them. We found them far too salty and bitter. The recipe as posted sounded great, but I think I'll stick with my homemade bbq or sweet & sour sauce. Thanks, anyway - it was certainly worth a try.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Gwen35 November 24, 2008

Delicious! As with a few others, this was my first time making riblets (we also got some as part of a church discount grocery package). We're not big fans of fatty meat on bones, so we tend to steer clear of ribs. I did what another reviewer did and threw them in the crookpot with the marinade and baste combined. The meat fell off the bones and the fat was easily removed as well. And the flavor was phenomenal! However you came up with this combination of ingredients, it really works! And it was so easy too. We will be using this recipe again the next time we have riblets. Thanks so much!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ajboyer222 July 09, 2008

This is my first time at riblets. The only negative I have about this dish is, that they aren't exactly easy to eat, but whenever I did pick some of the meat off of a riblet, it was very tasty. :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lori Mama March 28, 2008

This was a delicious recipe. I noticed another review about their church giving them the riblets. The same thing happened to me. I tried to fix half of them a while back and ended up throwing them all away. These were absolutely delicious. We grilled ours and they were tender and very flavorful. Thanks for a great recipe

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jojess4 January 08, 2008
Steph's Pork Riblets