Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    More Slow-Cooker Favorites

    Top Slow-Cooker Dishes

    Top Slow-Cooker Dishes

    52 Low-and-Slow Meals
    You Can Slow Cook That?!

    You Can Slow Cook That?!

    Try Potatoes, Pizza or Cake
    Slow-Cooker Desserts

    Slow-Cooker Desserts

    Effortless One-Pot Treats
    You are in: Home / Recipes / Steel Cut Oatmeal for the Crock Pot Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Steel Cut Oatmeal for the Crock Pot

    Average Rating:

    98 Total Reviews

    Showing 81-98 of 98

    Sort by:

    • on January 05, 2007

      Sorry, this didn't work for us at all. It turned into a glue-y mess we had to throw out. I'd much rather get up a little early and make the real thing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 18, 2006

      Great easy instructions, correct cook time and perfect results. Very good recipe that I will make often. Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 18, 2006

      Of my goodness! I have eaten oatmeal several different ways for some time and this is now my all-time fav. Very good texture. Thanks papergoddess ;)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 08, 2006

      This is a perfect way to prepare steel cut oats. They are just the right texture for me, and the preparation couldn't be easier. The stove top method isn't for me as I tend to walk away which usually results in a mess.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 09, 2006

      I used Brummel & Brown instead of butter, and it was still pretty good. Not as good as it would be with butter, of course, but since I was eating oatmeal to try to be healthier, I didn't want to defeat the purpose. I also served it with Splenda and vanilla extract - next time I'll try maple. The texture of this dish was really nice, and it was great to have such a warm, comforting breakfast already made when I woke up this morning!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 10, 2006

      great oats! I also halved the recipe and put it in my mini crock. left out the fruit, but next time I'll use dried blueberries. It was a little salty for me, so next time I'll cut the salt to just a pinch. I used the 9 grain hot cereal blend from Henry's - has the texture of steel cut. After 8 hrs on low, turned it off, took off the lid, stirred and scraped, and let it sit. It's better after about 10 min or so when it has congealed. Was great just plain, no sugar or honey! thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 16, 2006

      Thanks for sharing this. The kids and I woke up to perfect oatmeal this morning. I added 1/2 cup chopped pecans and 1/4 cup brown sugar, then drizzled each serving with maple syrup. Maple Pecan Brown Sugar Oatmeal! YUM! Thanks. The 4.5 cups of water was perfect.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 23, 2006

      LOVE this. I'm on a diet and need a healthy breakfast in the morning, and this is AWESOME Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 05, 2006

      Made the simplest version using just oatmeal, water and salt. Everybody loved it and they want a repeat tomorrow.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 21, 2005

      I have a happy tummy! I added cardamom powder to the finished product. MmmMM!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 03, 2005

      It was delicious. I followed the recipe exactly and it turned out great. I'll definitely be making it again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 04, 2005

      I loved this! Got up and breakfast was ready. I cut the recipe down to serve 2 and cooked it in my crockette. Right before serving, I stired in 1/4 cup of powdered milk, covered and allowed it to stand for a few minutes. I will be using this again and again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 13, 2005

      It was so nice to have breakfast ready when we woke up this morning. I actually cooked it on high for 3 hours, and it turned out great. I didn't necessarily like the taste as much as regular oatmeal, but I liked it nonetheless. I added a few chocolate chips...yum!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 22, 2005

      This didn't work well for me. I didn't care for the gluey texture of the oatmeal. I like mine to be a bit coarser with some substance to it. I hesitated when adding the full 4.5 cups of water, and should have reduced it. This cooked on low in my crockpot from 2am until 6:30am and was overdone to my taste. I am sorry, but I will stick with more traditional oatmeal prep.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 04, 2005

      This is the first time that I have had Steel Cut Oatmeal. I omitted the salt and butter. Serving it, I addded my fruit mixture, some plain yogurt and some flax powder. Very filling and it stays with you for a long time.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 25, 2005

      i love oatmeal in the morning but hate making it so this recipe was a great find. i keep it in the crockpot for 6 hours, omit the butter, and replace 1/2 cup of water with either half-and-half or soy milk (Silk brand). I also put the dried fruit in at the end of cooking or afterwards so the fruit isn't too soggy. Thanks for an easy and convenient recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 18, 2005

      My DH eats oatmeal at least 5 days a week. Make this as is and you will have the best. I used dried apples, golden raisens. Sprinkled w/brown sugar & cinnamon. DH did real maple syrup. Enough for tomorow too! Thanks Mysterygirl!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 12, 2005

      I've tried a couple of crockpot oatmeal recipes but this one really works the best of those I've tried. The oatmeal is creamy with chewy bits in it. I used dates in it but I think that next time I may try dried apples as I have a ton of dried apple slices.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    1 2 3 4 5 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Steel Cut Oatmeal for the Crock Pot

    Serving Size: 1 (340 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 3

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 270.1
     
    Calories from Fat 101
    37%
    Total Fat 11.2 g
    17%
    Saturated Fat 5.5 g
    27%
    Cholesterol 20.3 mg
    6%
    Sodium 466.8 mg
    19%
    Total Carbohydrate 34.4 g
    11%
    Dietary Fiber 5.5 g
    22%
    Sugars 0.0 g
    0%
    Protein 8.8 g
    17%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes