Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    More Slow-Cooker Favorites

    Top Slow-Cooker Dishes

    Top Slow-Cooker Dishes

    52 Low-and-Slow Meals
    You Can Slow Cook That?!

    You Can Slow Cook That?!

    Try Potatoes, Pizza or Cake
    Slow-Cooker Desserts

    Slow-Cooker Desserts

    Effortless One-Pot Treats
    You are in: Home / Recipes / Steel Cut Oatmeal for the Crock Pot Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Steel Cut Oatmeal for the Crock Pot

    Average Rating:

    98 Total Reviews

    Showing 21-40 of 98

    Sort by:

    • on August 27, 2013

      This was so easy and so good. I doubled the recipe and added vanilla, cinnamon, and fresh cut apples. We served it with sugar and milk and my kids ate two bowls each! This is definitely a keeper!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 21, 2013

      This such a great way to cook oatmeal for a crowd. Remember to use the steel cut oatmeal and you wont have gummy oatmeal.<br/><br/>I use the large crockpot and put in a water bath (3 inches) make a ring of aluminum foil to rest the bowl in. In the bowl I put a cup of oatmeal, 4 cups of water and a pinch of salt. 8 hours in the crockpot. Before I go to bed I take out the bowls and jars of different nuts , raisins, cranraisins, brown sugar, you name it and the grandkids are ready to head to the ski slopes.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 08, 2013

    • on June 17, 2013

      This is certainly different than other oatmeals, but we liked it a lot. The texture is different, but appealing and it cooked perfectly. I served it with some stewed peaches. Delicious. Thank you for sharing this amazing breakfast with us.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 24, 2012

      This was FABULOUS! I have a 2 quart crock pot but mine has setting 1-6. I put it on 2 because I always feel that 1 does nothing. In the morning it was really stuck to the bottom and I almost threw it away, but I stirred it and scraped the bottom and it all came together - not burned. Next time I'll try 1.5 setting maybe. Great idea!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 26, 2012

      Sorry, but this just didn't work for us. I followed the recipe exactly as far as I can tell and we got a gloppy, slimy mess. It didn't have that bite like steel oats normally do. Perhaps my slow cooker is warmer than others...? We opted for cold cereal instead.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 05, 2012

      I doubled this recipe - cut the fluid by a bit (used 8 c. water rather than 9) and it worked in my 6 qt. oblong West Bend slow cooker. Came out great. I did leave out the dried fruit, which we added at the table (as desired). Plenty left for servings as the week goes on. Thanks for this recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 05, 2012

      Runny with a slimy texture. Only one of my kids ate it, so I wouldn't feel bad. It'll probably work well if I add a bit to bread dough.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 11, 2012

      I think some slow cookers are hotter than others and mine is. It was definitely overcooked. What I did was put it in the slow cooker the night before using boiling water and I cooked it on high for an hour and turn it off. Then when I woke up it was pretty much cooked and I turned it back on high to heat it up. Perfect.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 02, 2012

      Turned out fantastic! My kids ate two full bowls!! After reading a number of reviews I chose to do 4c. steel-cut with 8c. water and 1tsp. salt. It went in after midnight and we ate at 8am. I had sprayed my crockpot, but next time I might actually try one of the slow-cooker liners (finally). This is going into regular rotation!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 11, 2012

      DELICIOUS!! I halved the recipe (1/2 cup oats, 2 1/2 C. water), and omitted the salt and butter and made it in my crockette. When I woke in the morning (8 1/2 hrs cook time), I mixed the pot and added 1/2 of a freshly chopped Granny Smith apple, and a handful of craisins, a dash of ginger, a few shakes of cinnamon, and a sprinkle of nutmeg. I mixed it again, and put the lid back on (with the pot turned off) for another half hour to let the fruit soften and the flavors mingle. After I scooped the oatmeal into bowls, I topped with brown sugar and whole organic milk. YUMMY! It was perfect! Not runny or slimey. like some of the other raters said. I found it perfectly smooth and creamy yet slightly lumpy (because of the scrapings from the sides and bottom of the pot). Exactly the way we like it!!
      My daughters each gave this recipe 5 stars, and my youngest (almost 4 yrs old) asked if I could make it again for bedtime snack! We will definitely be making this again and again. Thank you! :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 22, 2012

      So I *love* my "real" oatmeal but this was really watery, somewhat mushy, and stuck (though not burned) really badly to my crock-pot around the bottom/sides.

      It was alright, but I agree with previous reviews, I'll get up early or save it for the weekends when i can cook it properly.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 27, 2011

      First, let me say that I had about 3/4 cups of steel cut oats left, so I reduced my H2O to 4 cups. For my personal taste, too much water, but not by much. I think if there's a significant difference in density from top to bottom, there's too much water for the oats. Should be easy to flex--I agree with bmxmama, that I would add the fruit, maybe the last hour--so if I put this in before bedtime, add the fruit when I get up, and let it plump up for an hour or so until breakfast.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 07, 2011

      I am sorry but this recipe is not tasty at all. Slimy, gooey, overcooked... plus the butter is completely unneeded and adds to the sliminess... I wasted good ingredients and had to throw the whole thing in the garbage...

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 30, 2010

      this was very good. i subbed out 1 cup apple juice for some of the water and used raisins and cinnamon. i think next time i'll make it plain - all water, no cinnamon, no raisins, and add some fresh fruit after cooking. def a keeper

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 08, 2009

      The only redeeming quality of this oatmeal is that you don't have to stand and stir. Otherwise, it's not worth making. If you really like the texture of properly cooked steel-cut oats this recipe will only disappoint you. It is mushy and flaccid, not chewy. If you put the fruit in at the beginning it disintegrates into the oatmeal. I'd much rather take the time in the morning to make proper steel-cut oats on the stovetop - or cook them the night before and warm them in the microwave. I won't ever be making this again. Yuck.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 24, 2009

      ***This is part of Book#237470. Originally posted on Jan. 9, 2008.***This is what we had this morning, but b/c we are so conscious of sodium I do not even put in the salt or butter. I am sure it is better though with it. I also use a slow cooker liner so clean up is easy. I also have used a timer (like you use for turning on/off lamps when you are not around) and have cooked it a shorter time frame and works fine.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 04, 2009

      I found it to be a bit thin with just water, so the next time I made it with half milk. Otherwise, great recipe. Easy, warm food on a cold winter morning!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 25, 2008

      This is the 1st time i have tried steel cut oatmeal and always shied away from it...this was easy. I like the idea of waking up to the scent of hearty oatmeal aroma in the house. I omitted the butter, as I didn't want extra calories and still wonderful

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 01, 2008

      Very creamy and tasty. I made it overnight and it cooked a bit longer than recommended but the result did not suffer for it. I only used 4 cups of water. I reheated the leftovers with some milk and added peanut butter and jam for flavor and protein.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Steel Cut Oatmeal for the Crock Pot

    Serving Size: 1 (340 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 3

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 270.1
     
    Calories from Fat 101
    37%
    Total Fat 11.2 g
    17%
    Saturated Fat 5.5 g
    27%
    Cholesterol 20.3 mg
    6%
    Sodium 466.8 mg
    19%
    Total Carbohydrate 34.4 g
    11%
    Dietary Fiber 5.5 g
    22%
    Sugars 0.0 g
    0%
    Protein 8.8 g
    17%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes