99 Reviews

I cooked the oats in the pressure cooker. They were ready in 3 minutes. Next time, I will put more butter. The taste reminded me of CORN GRITS.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Ozlem June 04, 2010

I thought this was yummy! Now, granted, I have never made (nor eaten) steel cut oatmeal, before, so I don't know what it's "supposed" to come out like, but this was very easy and delicious. I only cooked mine for about 6 1/2 hours, and I didn't want to be up all night, waiting to plug it in, or feeling like I had to be up, super early (it's the weekend!), to turn it off, so I put it on a timer...simple enough! I also halved the recipe, and cooked in my Crockette. Used previous rater's suggestion, and added vanilla and cinnamon, before cooking. I added brown sugar and Craisins, about 1/2 hour before serving. I'll definitely make this a lot; so much better, and better for me, than the microwave packets! :-P

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Belinda in Austin, TX December 06, 2009

Re: Chef #1230701's review on April 8th, 2009, perhaps your crock pot runs excessively hot which will no doubt give you an undesirable product. I have made this recipe multiple times since discovering this and also shared it with a number of friends who have made it with INCREDIBLE results, as did I. I feel the time is very forgiving as it has cooked anywhere from 5 hours to 8 hrs. with excellent results. I have added some chopped pecans, a few packets of Splenda, a few shakes of cinnamon, and a splash of vanilla prior to cooking--wonderful. Have also tried it with craisins, Splenda, and a splash of vanilla, again, prior to cooking. The craisins kept their shape and did not disintegrate. The oats are not mushy and gooey like regular oatmeal. They even reheat well in the microwave. I don't think you will be disappointed with this recipe.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
cookingfor6 October 30, 2009

This was very good to wake up to. I madet his without the dried fruit. However, when I got up I threw some blueberries in the crock. Added some milk when I served it. Made for the best of 2008 recipes tag game.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
seesko February 02, 2009

I really like this recipe a lot! I have made it twice and have some cooking as I type. I do Core with Weight Watchers and it fits pefectly in line with that if you omit the butter. I double the recipe for my 6qt crock pot and use just 1 T of butter. I reheat it every morning for breakfast till it is gone. I serve mine with splenda and ff milk. Thanks for this keeper!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jak3g5 March 18, 2008

I threw in some frozen wild blueberries before I hit the shower and then served it with 1/2 cup low fat cottage cheese per bowl for a protein packed meal that keeps me satified right up until lunch time! I refrigerate the leftovers and rewarm a bowl in the microwave each morning.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
SusannaR January 16, 2008

Oh boy! My husband and I loved this. I sprayed my slow cooker with non-stick spray, used 1/2 cup raisins, cut the water to 4 cups, left out the salt and only added 1T butter. I adore steel cut oatmeal and this resulted in a superb, creamy version with a bit of chewiness. Mine cooked 8 hrs. Thanks for the brilliant idea!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
rockylass January 15, 2008

Very good recipe. This is the only oatmeal we eat in my house. Just a tip for others-I don't add fruit or sugar until after as "stir ins". The fruit tastes better and does not get mushy. I also add my sugar right before I am about to eat it. My fave combo: dried cranberries, brown sugar, crushed pecans and a little bit of orange rind(the spice). Thanks for a great recipe!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
gingersnap January 12, 2008

The flavor was really, really good! Steel cut oats are the only kind of oatmeal I'll eat, so I was extremely happy with it. We made it as per the recipe and when we got up, there was a layer of water & butter floating on top. I turned it off, stirred it and let it sit for a few minutes before serving and that seemed to help. It's still thinner than when I make it in a pot, but the flavor more than makes up for it. I added maple syrup & raisins; one son added honey; another ate it plain. There were no complaints! Next time I'll reduce the liquid by half a cup.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
D. Duckie May 02, 2015

Made for Christmas morning -- yummy! Added a couple tablespoons of brown sugar at the end. Perfect start to the day.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
toedte December 25, 2014
Steel Cut Oatmeal for the Crock Pot