Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Steel Cut Oatmeal Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Steel Cut Oatmeal

    Average Rating:

    13 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-13 of 13

    Sort by:

    • on January 09, 2014

      Worked very well. I wasn't too sure about the buttermilk, and could detect that buttermilk twang even though I didn't add buttermilk to individual servings. Rich and creamy but not mushy goo. Next time I'll probably use all milk to test the difference. Thanks for sharing the recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 06, 2010

      I bought steel cut oats about six months ago and they have been sitting in my cupboard. I decided to make this for my son and I for dinner. Since I never made steel cut oats before I followed the recipe exactly as written other then I used 2% milk and I didn't have buttermilk so just used all milk. I but the sugar and cinnamon in the saucepan when I added the milk as I hadn't read all the directions. I also used Splenda brown sugar blend as that is all I buy. We really enjoyed this. We do have some left over for tomorrow morning. Very good and easy to make.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 07, 2009

      delish!! made this several times now. love the taste and the texture!! i add about 1/4 tsp. of salt and sometimes a splash of lower calorie maple syrup. pecan pieces are great on top of this too! thanks for posting! will be making this often.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 26, 2009

      Yes, very delicious and very healthy. I will keep this handy for those cold mornings coming up soon. Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 15, 2009

      Excellent oatmeal! I didn't have buttermilk, so I used 3/4 cup vanilla soy milk with a dash of cider vinegar for all the milk. While the oatmeal cooked, I also diced up two apples, added a splash of water and cooked in the microwave (I used the 1 cup fresh vegetable setting). When cooked, but still somewhat firm, I drained most of the liquid, and added brown sugar, cinnamon and maple syrup to taste, so that it was like a baked apple. This was yummy on top of the oatmeal!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 12, 2009

      Wow! I was skeptical about buttermilk in oatmeal. I thought it would taste weird but the flavor is wonderful. I highly recommend this recipe. It takes longer than regular oatmeal but it's worth it if you have the time.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 12, 2008

      This was my first time to cook steel cut oats and they turned out perfectly! Thank you for a great recipe! :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 07, 2007

      You changed my life! I had never eaten cooked oats anyway that I liked. I actually liked these oats. I made this recipe as directed, but since it made a lot, I added the brown sugar to the warm mixture. Leftovers store very well in the refrigerator. All I have to do is zap it in the micro. I know my doctor is going to love me for eating oats. Thank you so much for sharing this recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 03, 2007

      I did everything as stated except I cut the recipe down to one serving, added 1/2 a small mashed banana when I aded the milk and buttermilk, and I used honey instead of brown sugar. This is definitely worth making again and I much prefer the texture of the steel cut oats to the texture of rolled oats (which is what I have always used). Thanks for posting this recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 01, 2007

      Using steel cut oats is a new taste treat for our family...we really enjoyed the chewy texture. I first toasted the oats in the butter in an 8 cup pyrex measure in the microwave for about one minute, stirring several times to prevent burning. I imagine the length of time would depend on the wattage of your m.o. I then added the boiling water and cooked on high power for 6 minutes, stirring after 3 minutes. After 6 minutes, my porridge was thickened, so at this point I added some dried cranberries and a sprinkle of Baking Spice Blend Mix, and let the mixture stand, covered for another minute. Instead of buttermilk, we topped our cereal with low fat vanilla yogurt, toasted pumpkin seeds, and toasted sunflower seeds. This will be served regularly during our cold Canadian winters.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 15, 2007

      We really like the flavor and texture of steel cut oats, too. I followed the first 4 steps, omitted the buttermilk and cinnamon (I don't like either), and added the milk and brown sugar onto the oats at the table. I like the nutty flavor the toasting with butter gives the steel cut oats. This step I added to how I normally fix them. It made them even more a treat to eat. Thank you so much.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 14, 2006

      I love steel cut oats, but this recipe is the best. Kudos to AB! I followed the recipe exactly and it was dead on! I did not, however add more buttermilk at the table.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 23, 2005

      I picked up some steel cut oats at my local health food store and was glad to have found this recipe posted. Now this is what oatmeal is meant to be! After trying this, you'll never again want to eat common store-bought oatmeal; what a difference!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Steel Cut Oatmeal

    Serving Size: 1 (288 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 222.6
     
    Calories from Fat 61
    27%
    Total Fat 6.8 g
    10%
    Saturated Fat 3.0 g
    15%
    Cholesterol 12.0 mg
    4%
    Sodium 74.5 mg
    3%
    Total Carbohydrate 32.3 g
    10%
    Dietary Fiber 4.2 g
    16%
    Sugars 6.5 g
    26%
    Protein 8.7 g
    17%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes