Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Steamed Rice Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Steamed Rice

    Average Rating:

    14 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-14 of 14

    Sort by:

    • on August 21, 2001

      I have been making rice in a 2 Qt. microwable casscrole dish for 20 years, but I use 1 1/2 cups of long grain rice ( Jasmine).Which is the second best. I do as you say rinse good, but I microwave it for 23 minutes without removing the cover. Also I have the water 1 inch above the rice. An old Vietnamese way of measuring is put your finger in the water to the rice when it is to the fisrt knuckle it si 1 inch. I learned this when I served over there Oh,let stand 5 to 10 minutes but I like to fluff my rice first than let stand.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 28, 2001

      What a clever little trick.I hated to cook regular rice,because it always turned out mushy and gummy.This way is perfect,the rice is firm and fluffy.Thank you!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 07, 2001

      Pure culinary magic. You will be hard pressed to find a more imaginative recipe. Bravo.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 22, 2012

      This technique worked PERFECT! I cooked mine in a 7 cup casserole on high for 5 mins.,then 8 mins. at 70%, and let it sit for 15 mins. Thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 06, 2010

      I must admit I did not think this would work out well. Boy was I wrong! This is the best rice I have ever made. It was not sticky at all and was just the perfect texture. I used Jasmine rice. My microwave took 9 1/2 minutes in the second stage to evaporate most of the liquid. Awesome recipe, and this is how I will make rice from now on. Thx so much V'nut!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 28, 2009

      Awesome! I love this cause you use the microwave and it's easy! Thanks for a great recipe/method!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 21, 2009

      I have not had much luck cooking rice in the microwave until now. The rice turned out perfect. The timing was on target and it required the full standing time of 10 minutes for the water to be absorbed. A technique I will use again. Thank you for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 13, 2009

      This is the perfect rice/water ratio, I do add a half teaspoon of salt. This makes a nice fluffy rice!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 25, 2007

    • on October 12, 2005

      this is the best little recipe and is so useful. No more stressing about making rice. thanks from the bottom of my heart. -heidi

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 18, 2005

      Great rice!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 11, 2005

      OK- lets face it. I have NEVER been able get along with rice. I have never been shown how to make it properly, and I would consider myself a pretty decent cook. I have tried over and over again on the stove top. I just plain can not get it right. This is THE BEST little recipe I have ever found. My family and friends THANK you for posting it.(Especially a thanks from us rice challenged people!) ;+)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 23, 2005

      Very easy rice recipe, and one dish simple!!! Thanks for posting, I tend to have rice issues, so this was super easy and foolproof!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 26, 2004

      Rice has more or less flour attached to it. Rinsing helps. One-inch water of water above the rice works for stovetop too. Don't disturb the rice when it is cooking.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Steamed Rice

    Serving Size: 1 (150 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 168.8
     
    Calories from Fat 2
    65%
    Total Fat 0.3 g
    0%
    Saturated Fat 0.0 g
    0%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 5.4 mg
    0%
    Total Carbohydrate 36.9 g
    12%
    Dietary Fiber 0.6 g
    2%
    Sugars 0.0 g
    0%
    Protein 3.3 g
    6%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites