Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Steamed Fresh Mussels in a Creamy Broth Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Steamed Fresh Mussels in a Creamy Broth

    Average Rating:

    13 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-13 of 13

    Sort by:

    • on May 11, 2010

      This was very very good! I made this exactly as written, served it up with some Italian bread, and sat back and basked in the compliments. Thank you so much for posting.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 12, 2012

      Fantastic flavor! Made exactly as posted, except I use4d 1 cup chicken broth and 1cup Foster's Lager (which I needed to use up). The garlic really shone through, and the bread is mandatory for soaking. Made for ZWT8,

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 08, 2012

      This recipe is fabulous! I made half the amount for 2 of us, using New Zealand Kiwi green shell mussels. I made this as listed and used a slice of nice whole grain bread to sop up the delicious broth. Made for ZWT8. Thanks ~Leslie~! :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 27, 2011

      Awesome! Loved the cream broth and cooked and served as directed other than I was a little more generous with the garlic ;-). A really tasty & quick dish.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 20, 2011

      Wonderful. And extremely easy to make, not a huge time commitment for this one. I added a bunch of fresh thyme sprigs at the same time as adding the broth and mussels to the onions; and they turned out almost identical to the fabulous mussels I get at a local restaurant. Served with matchstick fries and frites sauce, and crusty bread, it was an amazing accompaniment to the football game this afternoon. :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 22, 2011

      this was soo good, served over angel ahir pasta and added some red pepper flakes for a little heat

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 13, 2010

      Just made this and it was fantastic. Had no sour cream so used greek yoghurt instead. THe best mussels I have ever eaten. Thank you so much for this recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 13, 2010

      I have been looking sooooo long for a mussel recipe that does not have white wine in it.. & I have found it in this recipe!! It taste just like the ones I get @ my Favourite restuarant! I did read a couple of the revies & saw that salt was an issue so I only used 1 cube of stock & it was perfect not salty @ all.. I also did not have any celery on hand, used only mussel meat but did follow the rest of the recipe to the T.... I will never make mussels any other way but this! I JUST LOVE THEM!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 03, 2009

      I made this with clams and shrimp and it turned out very tasty. It was a bit salty for my taste, but perhaps I reduced the broth too much. Made for ZWT5.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 01, 2009

      I love mussels and these are great! I had to use creme fraiche instead of sour cream and I thought it was delicious! Served it sliced baguette to soak up the wonderful broth. Made for ZWT 5.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 05, 2007

      I love Canadians. You guys know how to eat! The manbeast doesn't like mussels (idiot) but he still was able to share this meal with me. He loved the broth so much we poured some over angel hair pasta and with some fresh parsley and a side salad he was a happy hick. I will double the broth next time so he can have his pasta and I can have a bowl of broth for dipping bread in. I'm a little embarrassed to admit that I ate all the mussels in one sitting and I am typing this review in my underwear because I can't fasten the waist of my trousers.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 28, 2006

      Terrific bivalves!!! I made them for a little appetizer on DH's birthday. The BIL and family stopped over. We all loved them and BIL (a lobsterman who knows his seafood)can be picky and he loved them. Thanks Leslie!! They were very easy to make and I used Prince Edward Island Mussels.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 26, 2005

      A really tasty and easy recipe, try adding mushrooms

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Steamed Fresh Mussels in a Creamy Broth

    Serving Size: 1 (617 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 2

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 563.3
     
    Calories from Fat 225
    40%
    Total Fat 25.0 g
    38%
    Saturated Fat 6.9 g
    34%
    Cholesterol 147.2 mg
    49%
    Sodium 1363.6 mg
    56%
    Total Carbohydrate 25.6 g
    8%
    Dietary Fiber 2.1 g
    8%
    Sugars 4.2 g
    17%
    Protein 56.4 g
    112%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    vegetable stock

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites