16 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

The guy I am dating is a seafood junkie. When we go out to dinner, we always order the mussle appitizer and share it. So the other night I made this for dinner as our appitizer. Was he impressed! This was even better than our usual. I took one reviewers suggestion and did use clam stock instead of veggie broth. I've tried a few others test but this will be our keeper. thx so much for sharing!

6 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Tamingtheshrew August 21, 2010

I've steamed both clams and mussels many times over the years. The base I use is pretty much this recipe, without the basil. This first time I added itto the mix. It really didn't work for us. Granted, I couldn't find fresh basil, so used the dry. I might do this again if I can get fresh basil, although it doesn't seem pressing.

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
OliveLover February 10, 2011

We made this last night using live clams, fresh garlic, fresh basil, Chardonnay and some nice bread for dipping. Followed the recipe pretty much as is except I added a little extra garlic. The wife and I thought the flavors were fantastic, and we thoroughly enjoyed every last bite. This dish is a keeper, and we look forward to preparing it again!! Thanks for sharing!

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Desert Mojo February 26, 2010

I made this with clams last night. My husband raved about how it tasted just like the clams at our fav restaurant! We won't be eating out as much when we can make this at home!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mulligan December 05, 2007

Very nice recipe. The broth was a little off color. Not sure if it was from the vegetable broth or the clams? But did have a really nice flavor. Thanks for sharing.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Ruby15 January 24, 2010

Made a few personal changes to this recipe because I had a couple more lbs of clams than the recipe called for. I added 3 more garlic cloves, (1) 15 oZcan of vegetalbe broth and 1 cup white wine. Get this part... we had left over mussels so I pulled out the mussels and put them in a container with the broth. The next day I added 1 cup of half and half and 1 more can of vegetalbe broth, let it simmer for a bit and it made the most amazing mussel stew!!!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Rhonda Renae February 21, 2009

Thank you so much for this recipe! I just made it last night for a dinner party using 15 lbs of clams and it worked perfectly. The clams were perfectly cooked, the broth was delicious, my guests raved, and I couldn't believe how easy it was. Absolutely restaurant quality.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
aakemon August 15, 2007

I just told my Prohibitionist-leaning parents that there was wine in the mussels I made tonight; rather than complain, they asked for seconds. Like Hey Jude, I used fish stock instead of vegetable broth. The mussels were very tender and flavorful than my previous attempts at steaming them. Very easy to make, too!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
kzemmel December 21, 2006
Steamed Clams or Mussels