Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    More Seafood Recipes >

    15 Easy Seafood Dinners

    15 Easy Seafood Dinners

    Recipes With Reel Flavor
    Tuna Noodle Casserole

    Tuna Noodle Casserole

    Get Ready to Go Fish
    Everything Seafood

    Everything Seafood

    Shrimp, Salmon, Tuna & More
    You are in: Home / Recipes / Steamed Clams or Mussels Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Steamed Clams or Mussels

    Average Rating:

    16 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-16 of 16

    Sort by:

    • on August 21, 2010

      The guy I am dating is a seafood junkie. When we go out to dinner, we always order the mussle appitizer and share it. So the other night I made this for dinner as our appitizer. Was he impressed! This was even better than our usual. I took one reviewers suggestion and did use clam stock instead of veggie broth. I've tried a few others test but this will be our keeper. thx so much for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 10, 2011

      I've steamed both clams and mussels many times over the years. The base I use is pretty much this recipe, without the basil. This first time I added itto the mix. It really didn't work for us. Granted, I couldn't find fresh basil, so used the dry. I might do this again if I can get fresh basil, although it doesn't seem pressing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 26, 2010

      We made this last night using live clams, fresh garlic, fresh basil, Chardonnay and some nice bread for dipping. Followed the recipe pretty much as is except I added a little extra garlic. The wife and I thought the flavors were fantastic, and we thoroughly enjoyed every last bite. This dish is a keeper, and we look forward to preparing it again!! Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 05, 2007

      I made this with clams last night. My husband raved about how it tasted just like the clams at our fav restaurant! We won't be eating out as much when we can make this at home!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 21, 2010

    • on April 19, 2010

    • on January 24, 2010

      Very nice recipe. The broth was a little off color. Not sure if it was from the vegetable broth or the clams? But did have a really nice flavor. Thanks for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 21, 2009

      Made a few personal changes to this recipe because I had a couple more lbs of clams than the recipe called for. I added 3 more garlic cloves, (1) 15 oZcan of vegetalbe broth and 1 cup white wine. Get this part... we had left over mussels so I pulled out the mussels and put them in a container with the broth. The next day I added 1 cup of half and half and 1 more can of vegetalbe broth, let it simmer for a bit and it made the most amazing mussel stew!!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 15, 2007

      Thank you so much for this recipe! I just made it last night for a dinner party using 15 lbs of clams and it worked perfectly. The clams were perfectly cooked, the broth was delicious, my guests raved, and I couldn't believe how easy it was. Absolutely restaurant quality.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 21, 2006

      I just told my Prohibitionist-leaning parents that there was wine in the mussels I made tonight; rather than complain, they asked for seconds. Like Hey Jude, I used fish stock instead of vegetable broth. The mussels were very tender and flavorful than my previous attempts at steaming them. Very easy to make, too!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 26, 2006

      This was my very first attempt at cooking live clams. I was petrified that I would go to all this work and none would open! But they all opened within about 8 minutes! Delicious, just like a restaurant. I did add some fresh parsley to this recipe, and sprinkled some asiago cheese over each bowl....Thanks so much for sharing! --Marla

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 24, 2005

      Oops, just realized I forgot to review this. Last summer when my brother and sister-in-law were visiting, my sister and I made this with clams. We loved it, and both I and my sister-in-law (who is a fiend for steamers) decided this is going to be our go-to recipe for steamed clams from now on. Terrific recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 16, 2005

      just had this for a great dinner along with a salad and bread. i added about 1/2 of a vidalia onion along with the garlic. it was very easy. my husband loves mussels and often order when out to dinner, he put this right up there with some of the" best ever".

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 13, 2005

      This was a wonderful recipe! Going to make it again very soon. It was very easy to make,and those who ate with me said it was better than the restaurants!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 18, 2004

      We had quite a treat for dinner tonight with this recipe. I halved the recipe for just my husband and myself, used fish stock instead of vegetable, added a bit more butter and sprinkled the end result with fresh, finely grated, Parmesan cheese. It was delicious with fresh Italian bread and a salad. Good directions...my husband said they were the best he'd ever had (and he's been around for a while!) Thanks L4C for a lovely recipe that we'll be making again around here.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 24, 2004

      Just had this for lunch and it was delicious. I halved the recipe and used mussels and the wine I used was chardonnay and vegetable broth was done with water and vegita granules. We had a loaf of marvelous Italian bread for dipping into the juices.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Steamed Clams or Mussels

    Serving Size: 1 (487 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 488.9
     
    Calories from Fat 121
    24%
    Total Fat 13.5 g
    20%
    Saturated Fat 4.9 g
    24%
    Cholesterol 151.4 mg
    50%
    Sodium 2730.8 mg
    113%
    Total Carbohydrate 17.7 g
    5%
    Dietary Fiber 0.1 g
    0%
    Sugars 0.1 g
    0%
    Protein 67.0 g
    134%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    vegetable broth

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites