Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Steamed Chicken and Coconut Shumai (Dim Sum) Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Steamed Chicken and Coconut Shumai (Dim Sum)

    Average Rating:

    8 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-8 of 8

    Sort by:

    • on January 30, 2014

      Wow! I treated myself to a food steamer during the holidays and the most I've done in it is tilapia and vegetables. This was my first attempt at anything like this. Since I do very little measuring, only I am to blame for what may or may not turn out well. My patience sometimes fails me and any opportunity to use my Ninja........well, it saves the day. It reduced the chopped carrot to a fine, fine mince along with the ginger and shallot. The rest I incorporated by hand. Sans thai chili and fresh basil, I threw in a generous couple of pinches of dried basil to impart that particular flavor. The coconut milk REALLY does the job. The filling was perfect. Also when the author states to not crowd them in the steamer, they **mean** it. Otherwise you'll end up with a tasty quilt of dumplings ;o) Since I have an aversion to too much heat, I decided to forego the hot sauce and instead drizzled the dumplings with the leftover coconut milk. Make these.............you will not be disappointed!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 27, 2010

      Truly unique filling!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 26, 2009

      Yum - delicious. First let me say - do NOT take a short cut and place the Shumai's in the steamer without lettuce leaves. They stick to the bottom and you will need to scrape them out. So - next time I will certainly not omit that step! The flavour was great, the coconut really makes the dish. I will be making these again - that's for sure. Made for Went to the Market tag

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 09, 2009

      We had some friends over for a mini-Dim Sum dinner and chose this as one of the dishes. My husband wasn't too thrilled with the idea of coconut milk but I went ahead and made them. BOY WERE WE GLAD. These were EXCELLENT and the first to go. I ended up making them with Thai ginger because I couldn't find the regular. Next time we'll be trying with regular.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 04, 2008

    • on February 25, 2008

      I was at first skeptical about trying this since it said it has coconut in it and fish sauce. But I'm glad I tried it. The flavors incorporated in here just jived and I could hardly taste the coconut either and neither was it too salty. Used these Wonton Wrappers, sugar substitute and had it with soy sauce w/ lemon. Very delicious! MMMMmmm. Thank you once again for a delicious recipe, MarraMamba!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 09, 2007

      Great combination of flavours and very quick to put together!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 02, 2007

      Fantastic! So easy to make and the results are superb. We had them with a touch of Chinese spicy mustard on top. Keeper, keeper, keeper. Thank you MarraMamba!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Steamed Chicken and Coconut Shumai (Dim Sum)

    Serving Size: 1 (1096 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 45.8
     
    Calories from Fat 8
    17%
    Total Fat 0.9 g
    1%
    Saturated Fat 0.4 g
    2%
    Cholesterol 13.9 mg
    4%
    Sodium 148.4 mg
    6%
    Total Carbohydrate 5.7 g
    1%
    Dietary Fiber 0.2 g
    0%
    Sugars 0.8 g
    3%
    Protein 3.5 g
    7%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites