Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Steamed Broccoli Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Steamed Broccoli

    Average Rating:

    23 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 23

    Sort by:

    • on March 09, 2012

      Wow, this is really good! I wondered about the lemon, but it really added a punch of fresh flavor. I really enjoyed it. Will definitely do this again! Thanks cooking_geek

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 04, 2010

      I made this last night when my mother-in-law came over for dinner. It was the first time I've ever cooked for her so I was really glad she enjoyed it! The lemon really makes a difference. I found myself snacking while waiting for the rest of the dinner to cook. Thanks cooking_geek for sharing such a simple yet delicious recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 25, 2009

      What a great way to cook broccoli! Even my broccoli hating b/f enjoyed this recipe. I loved the addition of fresh lemon juice. Thanks for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 29, 2009

      Very good way of making broccoli. Easy and yummy. Used spray butter and seasoned with salt/pepper and crushed red peppers. Very good!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 25, 2009

      My aunt gave me a similar recipe at Christmas and I won't prepare my broccoli any other way! I'll sometimes add a flavored butter to give it a little extra flavor, but this is an easy way to prepare one of my favorite veggies. And you are right, the lemon is what really adds to the flavor. :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 06, 2009

      Excellent!! Made few changes, though. Since I was only using the flowrettes I only used about 1/2 pound for two people. I steamed it about 5 minutes and I adjusted the butter to 2tbsp and just used a quick 'squish' of bottled lemon juice. I can imagine fresh would be better, though. Thanks for the great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 24, 2008

      Great steamed broccoli!! This is just the right seasoning for broccoli!! Perfect amount of lemon juice and perfect amount of butter!! Thanks!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 10, 2008

      Great recipe. Used extra virgin olive oil instead off butter it came out great.Very easy to make. Served it with french fries and pork chopes. Family loved it.Thanks alot.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 10, 2008

      Hey Jude, this is one of our favorite ways to have broccoli. I usually add some Mrs. Dash for flavor, zest from the lemon, and cook in those wonderful microwave steam bags. Thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 04, 2008

      I really don't care for broccoli, but this recipe makes it great. I used spray butter and bottled juice.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 11, 2007

      Simple yet delicious! I added 1/2 tsp garlic powder to a mixture of melted butter and lemon juice, and microwave "steamed" the brocoli instead of using the stove-top. Will make this frequently as we are huge broccoli fans--thanks for posting the recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 16, 2007

      Perfect. I frequently add vegetables as "Other items" to my menus to suggest complementary dishes to myself, knowing that I am going to do something with the ingredient other than simply cook it. Then I do a search to decide what I'm going to do. This is a wonderful treatment of broccoli. It is likely to become my "standard." Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 12, 2007

      Excellent! I wanted to liven up my broccoli for dinner tonight and this did just the trick! I had a small head of broccoli just for myself, so I just sprinkled on the lemon juice and added maybe 1/3 tablespoon of butter. It was the perfect addition to dinner!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 16, 2007

      This is a favorite of mine, because it's so easy, quick and tastes great. I usually melt the butter, but serve the lemons at the table so folks can add their own to taste.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 12, 2007

      Often the simple recipes are the best. The lemon juice really brings out the freshness of the broccoli. I did use a healthier butter alternative.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 13, 2006

      My family ate this broccoli with chicken and potatoes tonight. I prepared it as instruction in directions - no changes. I do prefer a little more flavor with broccoli, but the recipe was simple, quick and healthy. To get my preferred flavor would require increasing the fat and calorie content by adding a cheese sauce or other creamy sauce, thereby, reducing it's healthful benefits. For a healthy broccoli dish, it's very good.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 26, 2006

      I have been doing this for years....with maybe not as much butter as listed. The lemon/butter mixture has a nice clean taste and with a good shaking of fresh ground pepper, how can you go wrong!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 25, 2006

      Very good and it goes well with baked salmon!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 19, 2005

      This was a really nice side dish to our grilled chicken. I made it as written and it's quick and easy. Very nice recipe, thanks Virginia!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 01, 2005

      Lemon and butter who can resist? The recipe is simple, fast, and great side dish for dinner. Thanks for the keeper.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Steamed Broccoli

    Serving Size: 1 (187 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 135.5
     
    Calories from Fat 83
    61%
    Total Fat 9.2 g
    14%
    Saturated Fat 5.5 g
    27%
    Cholesterol 22.9 mg
    7%
    Sodium 132.2 mg
    5%
    Total Carbohydrate 11.7 g
    3%
    Dietary Fiber 4.4 g
    17%
    Sugars 3.0 g
    12%
    Protein 4.9 g
    9%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites