27 Reviews

I used the onion soup mix and we all thought the flavor was very good. I marinaded it for about 8 hours. The main problem I had was it started a fire in my oven when I tried to broil it! Even though I had let it drain, I guess all that oil was splattering up on the element. After I got the fire out, I finished cooking it by frying it in an ungreased, hot pan. About 9 minutes on each side had it cooked to perfection for us. I'll use this recipe again, but I'll grill the London broil rather than broil it. :) Thanks for sharing!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Marg (CaymanDesigns) March 09, 2010

Ah, it was ok....flavor wasnt as I imagined, but the marinade did tenderize the top round well....will try it again tho!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
punkinpea July 07, 2008

I thought that this was a very good marinate. I used the french onion soup mix and broiled the London Broil.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
WhiteSnake February 15, 2012

This wasn't that good. Not a whole lot of flavor. I had it with steak sauce. This recipe is from the "Favorite Brand Name Classic Recipe Collection" book. They have a recipe for a dry rub London broil that I liked better. Very easy to put together, but I wouldn't make this again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Areinard September 29, 2009

Super simple - super tasty. Will do again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Clarity148 March 01, 2009

This was very good! I had a nice thick piece of london broil and marinated it for 24 hours. I substituted Lipton Onion Mushroom soup for the Knorr soup and also used balsamic instead of red wine vinegar. I will make it again. Great flavor! I used the leftovers to make a steak salad and it was delish!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Barbi Brown January 21, 2009

I used top round london broil, regular dry onion soup mix, added 2 cloves of garlic and marinated over night. Very good, will definatly make again. Thanks for posting!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Debilyn_Ks June 08, 2008

Wrote a review the other day which has not posted, but forgot to give the stars, so am writing again. Also need to mention that we did not have the Knorr seasoning but used Lipton onion soup mix and it was fantastic, easy and different from most marinades. We used on the chicken and grilled it, but it would be great on beef as well, which we can't wait to try.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mapaklenk April 21, 2008

Delicious! This was the second time I tried this recipe. I used the Knorr Garlic & Herb seasoning mix this time, and I revised the recipe a little...used only 1 Tbsp. olive oil (thought 1/3 cup might seem a bit oily for us), also scored meat diagonally about 1/4" and marinated overnight...it came out superb! The first time I tried this recipe, I used Knorr French Onion mix and only marinated about 2 hrs...it was okay, but nothing to brag about...I DO recommend the Garlic & Herb mix instead.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
sassy0326 April 05, 2008

This recipe was so easy, and it made the London Broil so full of flavor. Thanks

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Bittersweetened May 04, 2007
Steakhouse London Broil