52 Reviews

I omitted the salt and replaced it with lemon pepper, and I used Port wine instead of red wine because I think it has a heartier flavour. I marinated a couple of cheap steaks for about 16 hours, broiled them today, and they were delicious. First class marinade, Art - thanks for posting!

36 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mille® February 25, 2002

This was simply wonderful. I think next time I make it I will marinate overnight, because the flavor is so wonderful I want it to really soak into the meat. The flavors blend together so well; its just perfect and so simple to throw together. Thanks so much Art!

26 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
diamonds4heather June 03, 2002

Good marinade. I discovered a lack of balsamic vinegar in my pantry so substituted with red wine vinegar and it was still very good. Thanks!

26 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
dale! May 22, 2002

This seemed so simple, but it really added a wonderful flavor to the steaks! Have to confess I used two cloves of garlic since we love it, but followed the recipe faithfully other than that. I like that the flavor didn't overpower the steaks, just enchanced their own flavor. This is a keeper for the "make it again" file!

26 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
SuzieQue April 27, 2002

i like the fact that this is a marinade that was made up of ingrediants i will almost always have on hand. steaks had a very flavorful, but not overpowering taste. i added some extra garlic too. and didn't have cumin, so i used some of Emeril's Bayou Blast. i marinated my steaks for about 15 hrs....they were really, really good.

21 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
bratty May 13, 2002

This marinade was easy and added a very delicious flavor to the steaks I had yesterday. Since I live in Florida, I was able to fire up the outdoor grill. And the marinade certainly made the steaks flavorful. I highly recommend this recipe. Five Stars. Mark

21 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mark O. February 01, 2002

Maine-iac, we really enjoyed our steaks last night! I usually grill them straight out of the package, so your recipe was a special treat. I made exactly as directed and marinated the steaks for 5 hours and served with Charlotte J's Grilled Garlic Bread Grilled Garlic Bread and Lee Lee's Cabbage Relish Mother's Cabbage Relish. Will definiately make again!

16 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Bev September 09, 2002

This was terrific. I really liked the way it subtly flavored the steak without overpowering it. DH loved it too. Thanks for posting the recipe - I'll be hanging on to this one.

16 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mysterygirl May 27, 2002

Excellent marinade Maine-iac. I followed the recipe exactly and we had the most delicious and tender steaks. I agree with some of the other reviewers, that this marinade does not cover up the wonderful flavor of the beef, just enhances it. My husband and I highly recommend this for all steak-lovers to try.

15 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ratherbeswimmin' October 28, 2002

We also loved the flavor this gave our rib eyes. But I'm with D4H I want to marinade my next steaks overnight. I might even pierce the steak some to get more flavor into the meat. Thanks for a great marinade!!!

15 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Charlotte J June 17, 2002
Steak Wine Marinade