Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Steak Seasoning for the Steak House Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Steak Seasoning for the Steak House

    Average Rating:

    31 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 31

    Sort by:

    • on May 12, 2003

      Yup this tasted exactly like steakhouse steak seasoning. Of course I dont own a steak house so I used 1 Tablespoons instead of each Lb and 1/2 Tablespoon for the nutmeg. Sprinkled this on Porterhouse steaks 2 hours before eating and broiled them.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 23, 2008

      I made this a long time ago and forgot to rate it. WE LOVE this seasoning and now if we make steak it goes on every time!! One piece of advice to all others...please make sure if you make this that you let it sit for at least a day. I first made it and made steaks that night and it was wayyyy to salty, but then had it again a few days later and LOVED it. So just remember its important to let it sit and let the flavors meld together.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 29, 2003

      This steak seasoning is really good. I did as Tara did as far a measurements are concerned. I felt that there was enough salt in the recipe already so I used onion powder and celery seeds instead of the onion salt and celery salt. I added some of this to the flour I breaded my pork steak in and it came out so good. The porksteak was mosit, tender and juicy. I also put some on some fish and it was good on that too. Thanks for the recipe Darin. This is a definite keeper.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 24, 2010

      This is by far the best steak spice recipe I've found. It's good on everything!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 22, 2003

      Needed a good steak rub mix because DH has been begging me to recreate a steak he had in a restaurant a while back. I followed the last reviewer's guidelines for amounts with the following changes: I had to use garlic powder and onion salt (instead of the reverse) because that's what I had in the cupboard. I also didn't have any celery salt, so I used cumin instead (which was fine because there was already plenty of salt in the mix). I was pretty impressed, since I normally don't like meats that aren't marinaded, but this gave really good flavor. Next time I might add a bit of chipotle chili powder to it for some heat to complement the sugar and nutmeg.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 21, 2010

      Simple and easy, this made a great rub for the tri tip I made last night. I didn't use any celery salt or nutmeg. 1 Tablespoon of everything else. The whole family enjoyed, thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 24, 2010

      I used teaspoons and did the same proportions - however left out the celery salt and garlic salt. I reduced the salt to 2 instead of 3. And this was SO SO salty (the flavor itself wasn't bad but tasted a lot like lawry's season salt). my husband had to scrape his off. having read some of the other comments, perhaps i should have let it marinade? however, since there are no instructions on the recipe, i have to give it a lower rating. not sure if we'll try it again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 26, 2009

      Very good, cut back on measurements like everyone else. Will use this again. Using teaspoons in stead of tablespoons, had almost exact right amount for 4 8 oz. ribeyes, fyi.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 21, 2009

      I used this on our steaks for supper last night. I did as others suggested and used Tablespoon for lb. and 1/2 tablespoon for 1/2 lb. I only used 1 1/2 tablespoon of salt and will definitely be cutting that down next time maybe to 1/2 tablespoon. I also used garlic powder and celery seed since that is what I had on hand. Even with those changes, it was still very good on our steak. I will definitely be making this again. Thanks for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 05, 2009

      WOW! I decreased my amounts significantly; I used the same numbers, but subbed teaspoons instead of pounds to use on our pork chops. (instead of 3 lbs, I did 3 tsp, instead of 1 lb, I used 1 tsp) It came out FABULOUS.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 07, 2009

      I have used this seasoning about 20 times. I have used it to do 2 steaks and also 25 steaks. I have found it works best to use 1" NY Strips and put it on 24 or more earlier than grilling. The kosher salt draws the blood from the center of the meat so don't need to cook them very long. Sometime I add worst sauce or something similar a couple of hours before cooking. Sometimes I am missing 1 ingredient but it still tastes good. Great Seasoning

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 18, 2009

    • on July 16, 2009

      I measured this out by tablespoons and cut the kosher salt by one tsp. And added a little more pepper to it. Outstanding this is a keeper for sure. Enjoy

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 29, 2009

      I followed Tara's amounts to make a smaller batch, and this seasoning is excellent! We have used it a few times now and love it each time we do!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 13, 2009

      The kids and I really enjoyed our steaks using this seasoning! Delicious and juicy too!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 27, 2009

      I love this!! Thank-you, thank-you, thank-you!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 25, 2009

      OMG. This is sooo good. A perfect balance of spices. I'll be hard pressed to find a rub that out-does this. I want steak everyday now! I did go a little shy on the nutmeg - personal preference.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 20, 2008

      Not sure how thick your supose to apply it? instead of garlic salt and celery salt I just used finly minced garlic and celery. I don't think it needs that much salt, but I haven't tried it the other way so I could be wrong but it is just as good without all the salt. Very good and easy to make when you change 1 lb to 1 tbs :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 01, 2008

      This is outstanding! The only seasoning I will ever use for grilled steaks from now on! I just watched a Food Network 'steak' Challenge show and ran out for ribeyes.. I used this seasoning (except.. lol.. I used garlic powder instead of the garlic salt, and added an additional 1 TBS sugar) and our steaks came out better than I have ever made before. Thanks for this posting this!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 14, 2007

      I made this with one cup of normal salt ( Im not sure we have kosher salt in Australia) and then 1/3rd cup of everything else and then the commesurate amount of nutmeg.This made enough for about 5 meals This rub is awesome!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Steak Seasoning for the Steak House

    Serving Size: 1 (3895 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 2126.6
     
    Calories from Fat 369
    17%
    Total Fat 41.0 g
    63%
    Saturated Fat 19.3 g
    96%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 132233.0 mg
    5509%
    Total Carbohydrate 453.5 g
    151%
    Dietary Fiber 109.7 g
    438%
    Sugars 151.9 g
    607%
    Protein 62.6 g
    125%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    celery salt

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites