33 Reviews

Yup this tasted exactly like steakhouse steak seasoning. Of course I dont own a steak house so I used 1 Tablespoons instead of each Lb and 1/2 Tablespoon for the nutmeg. Sprinkled this on Porterhouse steaks 2 hours before eating and broiled them.

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Tara May 12, 2003

I made this a long time ago and forgot to rate it. WE LOVE this seasoning and now if we make steak it goes on every time!! One piece of advice to all others...please make sure if you make this that you let it sit for at least a day. I first made it and made steaks that night and it was wayyyy to salty, but then had it again a few days later and LOVED it. So just remember its important to let it sit and let the flavors meld together.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
luveyduvey21 January 23, 2008

This steak seasoning is really good. I did as Tara did as far a measurements are concerned. I felt that there was enough salt in the recipe already so I used onion powder and celery seeds instead of the onion salt and celery salt. I added some of this to the flour I breaded my pork steak in and it came out so good. The porksteak was mosit, tender and juicy. I also put some on some fish and it was good on that too. Thanks for the recipe Darin. This is a definite keeper.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
AuntWoofieWoof September 29, 2003

This is by far the best steak spice recipe I've found. It's good on everything!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
p_hiscott August 24, 2010

Needed a good steak rub mix because DH has been begging me to recreate a steak he had in a restaurant a while back. I followed the last reviewer's guidelines for amounts with the following changes: I had to use garlic powder and onion salt (instead of the reverse) because that's what I had in the cupboard. I also didn't have any celery salt, so I used cumin instead (which was fine because there was already plenty of salt in the mix). I was pretty impressed, since I normally don't like meats that aren't marinaded, but this gave really good flavor. Next time I might add a bit of chipotle chili powder to it for some heat to complement the sugar and nutmeg.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Muffin Goddess June 22, 2003

I've tried a lot of steak season recipes and this one is by far the best I've ever tried. I made up a pretty large batch by converting down all the measurements and putting it into a shaker. I season liberally and it is absolutely amazing on ribeyes and filets. You won't be disappointed.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
William I. November 04, 2015

Had a friend over for some skirt steak and this seasoning was amazing! It tasted like it was professionally made and it was only my first time.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Operator 9. May 08, 2015

Simple and easy, this made a great rub for the tri tip I made last night. I didn't use any celery salt or nutmeg. 1 Tablespoon of everything else. The whole family enjoyed, thanks for sharing!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mojo mom March 21, 2010

I used teaspoons and did the same proportions - however left out the celery salt and garlic salt. I reduced the salt to 2 instead of 3. And this was SO SO salty (the flavor itself wasn't bad but tasted a lot like lawry's season salt). my husband had to scrape his off. having read some of the other comments, perhaps i should have let it marinade? however, since there are no instructions on the recipe, i have to give it a lower rating. not sure if we'll try it again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jswinks February 24, 2010

Very good, cut back on measurements like everyone else. Will use this again. Using teaspoons in stead of tablespoons, had almost exact right amount for 4 8 oz. ribeyes, fyi.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
tinajoebob September 26, 2009
Steak Seasoning for the Steak House