38 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I just want to marry this. I will be spending the rest of my life with this marinade. Amen, I mean, I do.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Prayztwice May 18, 2012

Every since I discovered this recipe, this is the only way we fix our steaks and pork steaks too. Great taste and speedy to fix. A great time saver in the evenings. Thank you for posting it.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
yennipher January 11, 2011

I have been using this rub for several months now and have been meaning to write a review. This is the ONLY way I cook my steaks now - I follow the ingredients EXACTLY and it's perfect everytime! Thank you for posting!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Nizz November 24, 2010

WOW!!!! This is amazing! This was my first time running the grill for steaks, and I can't believe how tasty it was!! I goofed and didn't read the directions carefully and mixed everything together. I put the sauce on the steaks and let them sit in the fridge for the afternoon. About half an hour before grilling, I set them out and went to work. Wow!! Love this recipe! Would give it 10 stars if I could. Will be my "go to" recipe for steaks from now on. Thanks so much for sharing!! :O)

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
SPrins July 27, 2010

This was AMAZING. The best marinade I ever tried! After covering my ribeyes with the seasonings and worcestershire, I refrigerated them in a Ziploc bag for an hour or so. I pan-seared them and popped them in the broiler to end up with amazing, restaurant-style, medium-rare steaks. I'm definitely keeping this recipe for the rest of my life.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ringokei February 08, 2010

Great rub/marinade! It doesn't overpower the meat at all. The meat just has a nice, light flavor. None of the flavors dominate, but rather blend together nicely. i would definitely suggest using this on higher quality meats. Thanks for the rub recipe!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Pink Kitchenaid Lover August 12, 2009

I ran out of a key ingredient for my favorite marinade, so I wound up trying this instead, and I'm so glad I did! I applied the rub and sauce to sirloin steaks an hour before grilling and they were delicious. True to other reviews, this simply enhanced the flavor of the meat and tenderized it without overpowering it. I really appreciate the short marinating time compared to most others. Really nice for those days when I'm short on time.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mary Christmas June 06, 2014

I used it on Porterhouse steaks; could use a stronger flavor

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Shasha February 16, 2014

I was really happy with this steak rub. As others have said, the ginger is not a dominant flavour at all and admittedly, it had me worried. I wouldn't change anything about this, it was perfect!<br/>I really love that you don't have to marinate the meat and the ingredients are things that the average cook would have on hand. Thanks for sharing your Dad's recipe with us!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mums the word September 15, 2013

The best grilled steak I've ever tasted! Like another person, I threw it all into a bag, along with the steaks & cap full of olive oil & marinated for about 2 hours. I did not have seasoning salt so I made my own from Judi's salt seasoning on this site & did not add the optional salt. Exceptional flavor. Thanks for the recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
k8bug September 14, 2013
Steak Rub/Marinade