54 Reviews

Keri, this was terrific! You were right regarding the garlic...don't be afraid of it! My husband and I had a delicious dinner last night after I had marinated the steaks for about 2 hours. My hubby uses a simlar recipe for steaks on the grill, but adds honey to the recipe. Thanx a bunch for this one; we enjoyed it immensely!

11 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Babyoil September 09, 2002

This marinade needs a cup of dry wine .... The steake come out "+10"

6 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
af99 September 09, 2002

At first the smell caught me off guard but when I pan fryed one of my steaks in butter it was great!

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Ang11002 December 02, 2002

So sorry about the low rating. I followed the instructions to the max, but it was just too salty for us. Lots of flavor, but too salty.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
BABYBOP February 11, 2011

I tried this last night. I tweaked the recipe by adding more garlic than stated, and used Yellow Tail - Cabernet Savignon! I let it marinade for about 30 minutes. It was Excellent!!!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ladyg731 April 16, 2010

Very good marinade! I was only able to marinate about 10 minutes, but the flavor was there. Would be even better to let it sit in the marinade longer. I will definitely do this one again.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef Jodi Town October 18, 2009

Made rhis last night, I was in a pinch for time and this was perfect and the steaks tasted great! Thank you!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
agaj1583 April 28, 2016

We loved this. I used two large, thick rib eye steaks. I didn't have onion powder so I left it out and added a good splash of red wine since I had a bottle open. I marinated for about 8 hours. These steaks were grass fed and turned out so tender and delicious - DH says we may never be able to enjoy dinner out again, lol. I seared in my cast iron skillet over medium heat for about 3 minutes per side, then I put them in the oven (still in the skillet) at 425 for 10-15 minutes. They came out nicely medium rare, which is how we like it. For those complaining of too salty, check your soy sauce and use a reduced sodium version if you must. But our opinion is that this recipe was lovely and perfect as written. I even added salt and pepper prior to the sear. ;)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Nevdiliel November 13, 2015

This marinade was amazing. Used more fresh garlic than called for, but everything else the same. Will never use another marinade again. Will always use this one.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Barbara B. September 30, 2015

This was simply awful. My fiance still ate it and said it was okay, but I thought it was wayy to salty! Will not be trying this again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Henley L. July 04, 2015
Steak Marinade, Quick and Easy