Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Steak Balmoral Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Steak Balmoral

    Average Rating:

    27 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 27

    Sort by:

    • on April 23, 2002

      If you want to splurge on the cals and treat your steak to a wonderful sauce, then this is the recipe for you. I could go on all night, but 'nuff said! I must tell you though, that I cooked the mushrooms in a big pan alongside the steak, because I like my mushrooms well done, and I used light cream which worked just fine.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 22, 2006

      HOLY COW. This was wonderful stuff. Hubby and I both loved it - and a guest who came over before we were quite done eating it sniffed and asked "What is that wonderful smell?" (Plus, I made hubby light it, and he stood there entranced by the beautiful flames flickering over the surface of the pan...) Two thumbs (and one nose) up.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 13, 2003

      After seven tries to light the whiskey it evaporated on me. What a waste of good Scotch. I was anticipating this huge whiskey explosion and was timidly trying to light the stuff. Then I had to have a dram myself which steadied my nerves; poured more in the pan and it lit the first time! The only thing I did differently was BBQ the steaks in the freezing cold with snow all about. Absolutely wonderful recipe. I think next time I'll ditch the steaks and just make a huge pot o' sauce and pretend it's soup!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 08, 2002

      Absolutely scrumptious! I used fillet steak, added the mustard with the cream etc (doesnt say when too in recipe)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 15, 2003

      Very nice. Next time I'll deepen the flavour with some better whiskey, and aim for a slightly thicker sauce. The dish was quite handy for timimg; once fried the steaks keep well for quite a long time in the sauce.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 06, 2002

      One word: Excellent! Be forewarned about flaming the Scotch -- STAND BACK -- I didn't expect such a LARGE flame-up.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 17, 2002

      Truly mouth-watering steaks. I used homemade beef broth, just to keep the sodium down. We ate at the Witchery during a trip to Edinburgh many years ago. Thanks for the memories. And for the fabulous recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 29, 2002

      Fabulous recipe! I always fancied going to the Witchery, but it's MUCH too pricey for my budget. This one definitely goes into my "Dinner Party" book and it will be served the next time we have guests.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 12, 2003

      This dish is absolutely delicious. We followed the recipe but used nice filets. It shocked the kids when we lit the pan on fire (it was quite spectacular), but the house is still standing and we had the most wonderful meal. The mushrooms pulled in the flavor of the sauce, which was incredibly creamy...a great combination. I'd love to visit the Witchery, but in the meantime, I'm quite happy to pretend at home with this meal. Thanks for posting this!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 17, 2010

      This is a fabulous special occasion dish. I have made it three times, and I use filet mignons with great success. I do cook my mushrooms first and then add them back into the sauce as it helps get rid of some of the liquid the mushrooms release. I have been using this recipe from the Rampant Scotland website - didn't realize it was posted here - so glad you added it to the Zaar collection as it is spectacular.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 15, 2003

      Incredible!! My hubby and I were fortunate enough to have eaten at the Witchery when visiting Great Britain this summer, so I really wanted to try this recipe. It was unbelievable! My husband commented that it was like we were eating a $120.00 meal at home. The only change I would make would be to add even a few more mushrooms to the sauce. Thanks for sharing this beautiful recipe!! Dianne

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 13, 2003

      This was delicious and is a recipe I will keep and make often. I didn't use the mustard but that is just a preference. It turned out great and the sauce tastes good on mashed potatoes too!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 27, 2002

    • on March 22, 2002

      Absolutely delicious, sure makes a change from boring old steak! 3 out of 5 loved it!! Can't wait to try this again.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 17, 2011

      I have been cooking Steak Balmoral for over thirty years now. The recipe listed is very good but I caramelise onion (1/2 rings) just after I cook the steaks. This makes a nice difference to the dish.
      I have always used Eye Fillet in my recipe as it's a 'no fail' cut of meat.

      ash

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 16, 2010

      We liked this recipe. We made it with ribeye steaks. Be careful as the dish really flames when the whiskey is set on fire. Needed quite a bit of salt in my opinion, but all in all, it was nice. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 13, 2010

      YUM!!!. The sauce is FANTASTIC!! Love this recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 04, 2010

      I cannot overstate how fabulous this was. We made it for Christmas and it was perfect. Even after the sauce got a bit lukewarm (because I bit off more cooking than I could chew) several people said it was the best meat dish they ever had. Not too shabby, huh? Truly, a recipe to keep for a lifetime, and pass on.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 26, 2009

      This is the best meal I have ever made. If I could give it 10 stars I would. My family and I would love to thank you for a wonder meal experience. I followed the recipe exactly except I had to triple all the ingridients because there was a few people in the house. The only different thing I had to do was add a little cornstarch to get it thicker, but I think this happened because I had to go by my own measurements due to the ammount I made. Again Thank you!!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 26, 2009

      I have made this twice now, and my family LOVES it! Just delicious!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Steak Balmoral

    Serving Size: 1 (205 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 338.8
     
    Calories from Fat 289
    85%
    Total Fat 32.1 g
    49%
    Saturated Fat 20.0 g
    100%
    Cholesterol 112.3 mg
    37%
    Sodium 210.7 mg
    8%
    Total Carbohydrate 2.9 g
    0%
    Dietary Fiber 0.2 g
    1%
    Sugars 0.6 g
    2%
    Protein 2.7 g
    5%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    coarse grain mustard

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites