10 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I followed some of the advice from other reviewers and added onion, carrots and garlic at the mushroom step. I added one cup of beef broth and let the beef/vegetables stew for about an hour. I then placed the meat and veggies in the pie dish and set the liquid aside, made the roux and added the liquid along with a good dash of red wine to make the gravy. I added puff pasty on the top - this turned out not so great, and next time I will make with bisquits. I baked at 370F for 1 hour and it was delish and tender. Served with mashed potatoes. Made for ZWT

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Deantini August 19, 2012

I made this for a sick relative today and it got really good reviews. I made a second pan for my own family, and the kids really liked the meaty portion. I added additional broth/gravy, carrots, and onion but feel that is needs a little something else...not sure what. Loved the crescent rolls on top!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Cook4_6 August 27, 2010

Made as directed except I seasoned the beef with salt & pepper before browning. I also marinated it in red wine. Per another review, I used pie crust for the top but will use biscuits the next time. This was quite good but the beef wasn't quite as tender as I would've liked (and I used filet). Thanks for sharing - it was a nice change.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
VA March 22, 2010

Goodness, this is delicious! my whole family loved it, the steak was so tender and moist and the flavors blend so well!! Thank you for sharing this recipe !

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Blue Lilies March 17, 2010

I made a lot of changes and it turned out great.I seassend the beef with garlick salt and pepper I added halfed new potatoes baby carrots witch i boilled first and I used pie crust to give it that flakey texture. I also added beef broth to the wine mixture to make gravy. it is my husbands new favroit.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mouthofthesouthgal November 16, 2006

This was wonderful! I added a can of golden mushroon soup and added the cooking sherry to make gravy. Will add two cans next time because my husband took most of the gravy! Only had biscuits but will use crescents next time. Thanks so much!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
texasjenny September 18, 2006

When I saw this, I knew that we would enjoy it. I followed Rita's example and added some onion as well as a sliced carrot. I did not have fresh mushrooms but did have a can of sliced. This makes a tasty meal served with a side salad.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
PaulaG September 11, 2006

I served these for a late weekend lunch over biscuits, I used sirloin cubes that I browned first, I also added in an onion and fresh garlic that I sauteed in the oil and butter, I made a couple of other adjustments to the recipe also, all in all it was really good! thanks for sharing Chef PotPie!...Kitten:)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kittencal@recipezazz August 13, 2006

Very good, used top round steak.Like Rita we added onions,carrots and garlic.Cut back on amount of oil, and made gravy but still didn't have enough.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Ed&Theresa July 02, 2006

Very good!I made this with 2 pounds of stew meat that I seasoned with my Flavored Seasoned Salt #8217. Browned it then added onions, carrots, and garlic to the mushrooms. To make a complete one dish meal! I used only 1 tablespoon oil not the 6 that`s called for. Added 1 cup of water to make the gravy. Sprinkled a pinch of red pepper flakes. Covered & Slow cooked in the oven at 325 for 90 minutes. Then topped with the biscuits and baked at 350 for 15 more minutes. The meat was fall apart tender. The gravy sweet from the onions and carrots.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Rita~ March 27, 2006
Steak and Mushroom Pie